Midsummer Love Spells

in #photography7 years ago

juhannus1.jpg

According to old Finnish belief, if a maiden girl collects seven flowers from seven fields, and puts them under her pillow at midsummer night, she'll see her future husband in her dreams.

juhannus2.jpg

Midsummer has always been an important event in Finland, it's the longest day of the year, and in the northern parts the sun doesn't set at all. There are a lot of traditions in our culture, ones that derive from the old Finnish mythology and pagan faith, even though the majority of Finnish people belong to the Evangelical Lutheran Church. Sadly, we are loosing touch with our native faith, which is closely rooted to the yearly cycle of nature. I myself, try to learn and connect more with nature, as it is the one who gives, and takes.

juhannus3.jpg

juhannus4.jpg

Side note: The weather is fantastically gloomy with a temperature of 12°C, and tiny bloodsucking black flies are attacking me like crazy. Welcome to Finnish summer. Photography and modeling is such fun. I hope you enjoy the results :D

Sort:  

I almost didn't recognize you with your clothes on.

Don't you worry babe, I'll be on my bad behavior soon enough.

Nice! I love your story and the pictures! Are you taking the pictures by yourself?
I am working in Ios right now and here mid summer is a reason for Swedish people followed by Irish, Australians and Canadians to get totally wasted :D
You have a new follower of course :D

Thank you! Yes, I take most of my pictures myself, credit is given where credit is due. Haha, midsummer in Finland is also a drinking fest for most nowadays :D

Hope this comment shows up, the last one disappeared :/

Go damn so hot

(The summer :P)

Oh yeah, I think connecting with nature is what we lost touch to and we should really do. Connect to the nature around us and to our bodies and we will all be fucking happy loving each other, feeling energetic, connected, cuddly etc.

Pagan tradition seem great. I didn't look into that too much yet, especially as in my country it's not that strong (We're as small as Finland). Though I do look into how our ancestors used to live and try to learn from their wisdom as much as possible.

I also love your flat full of flowers actually. That's pretty damn epic :).

Yes, cuddly! I think learning skills from our ancestors is key to developing ourself in this vastly moving world. And thank you, I like my flat full of green too :D

Thanks, that's the upside of having shitty weather :D Oh and thank you for resteeming!

NP:) Yes bad weather is awesome for photography as long as you don't get your camera wet!

I was just going to go out to shoot something but as it happens, the rain they had been promising just rolled in. So, Steemit it is then..

Beautiful post! The pictures are stunning and the text is poignant. It is sad to witness so many traditions and myths disappear under the clutter of a fast-paced lifestyle. Thank you for bringing a slice of your history. It made me pause...

Oh thank you very much :) I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this.

Quite beautiful there. Love the quiet open meadows.

I love this countryside too :)

This is like Finnish tooth fairy :D

We are working on launching a steemit developed, designed and marketed lingerie brand, would love to see you as the face of it. Since you love photography and modeling this could be fun :D

Please check @superona

Lol. That is all I can say to this.

Yes I thought you would want to be uncovered. It sounded like a good idea to me for some reason.

What is Midsummer? I have only heard of it from Shakespeare's work 'A Midsummer Nights Dream' ..... (PS you look great)

Literally the middle point of summer 😄

ahhh I see... Summer just started 2 days ago over here!

Nice photos and not very hot summer)

Thanks, yeah not so sunny yet, maybe next month :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56