WHY MEDITATION?

in #life7 years ago

Someone asked me if I could give a person one piece of advice that would be?
I sat with it for a moment, and then I responded with, to begin the practice of meditation.

Some people might ask, why do we meditate?

Meditation helps us to reflect all of our internally experiences, every single thought and emotion.
These experiences, thoughts and emotions are attached to and connected to and reflected by our rhythm of breathing.
For example, when you are angry, you have a certain kind of breath, your countenance might change, you might turn red. If you are joyful, you might smile, your breath will be at ease and slow down.

Another way that you can also impose and invite these internal state of being is through direct relationship to your breath.
Naturally, what happen as you become more tuned to your breathing through the process of meditation, you start to build this specific kind of relationship with certain states of being.
When you sit with yourself in meditation, it gives you time tune out the world and external stimulation and to tune into what is happening inside completely.

So many people who’s begin the practice of meditation, sometimes they come to me and say “I don’t know what I am doing. I can’t meditate”.

Meditation is not a cerbral process. This part of you that is constantly saying " I am doing good" or "I am doing bad" is the part of you that will eventually disolve.

Meditation is an existential process. It is a process of coming into direct experience with what is.

It may not be blissful at that moment when you sit down and close your eyes.

In my experience, when I first began to practice, If sat down for ten minutes, it was quite challenging. I was like, this is what is really going on inside me all the time? It was chaos.

After many years of practicing daily, it is very different. This is the case with everything, overtime our relationship to activities change and improve as long as we continue to practice.

If we remain present and peaceful in the midst of the challenge and choas, eventually the peace will remain.

Meditation, changes the relationship you have with your being. This is fundemental to your existance. Considering that you will bring the quality that you exist in whereever you go and into whatever you do.

Sort:  

I just watched your video @thankful.andrew (and read your post, to make sure I got everything) and had not been aware of the breathing aspect of meditation. I've wondered if meditation and intuition are two sides of the same coin... @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thankful.andrew to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Meditation in my experience might increase your senisitivy to your intuition,...yes. So the process has a relationship to support listening to all aspects of ourselves, the inuition being part of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42