I LIKE TO WATCH #2 - "Won't You Be My Neighbor?"

in #life6 years ago

My school offered free tickets to the Fred Rogers documentary: Won't You Be My Neighbor? A quick check over at movie review site Rotten Tomatoes revealed an astounding 99% Tomatometer score and 97% audience score, I had to go see what all the fuss was about. Stepping into the theatre I was surprised to find it packed with people of every age, race and political disposition. This movie would finally give us a peek into the life of the much-beloved Mister Rogers.

Was Mister Rogers for real?

When watching old reruns of the series, I'd always wondered if Fred Rogers was playing a character or being his authentic self. Without giving away too much I can say this movie answers that question. We also find out that he was much more politically aware and socially astute than anyone ever thought possible. Using his influence to help ease tensions and promote understanding during trying times. In short, Fred Rogers was deep, we just didn't realize it.

Let's go back to the neighborhood...

In this era of political division after the election of Donald Trump, this film is a gentle reminder of the common decency we all share as a people. I was reminded of the message Mister Rogers included in each episode. We learn of the political affiliation of this kind man who hails from my home State, Pennsylvania.

Here was a kind and generous man who cared about every single one of us, like many an empath I've come across. You know the kind of person that's always helping others and you begin to wonder: who helps them out? That was Mister Rogers. So do yourself a favor, make your way to the nearest movie theatre and see Won't You Be My Neighbor? Let's take a trip back to the neighborhood one more time. Oh, and bring tissue. You're going to need it... :)

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1
Video credit: 1

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

I loved this movie and yes people were audibly crying at the end of this movie! Yes, kleenex is necessary! I went to it with my 24 year old daughter. I admire Fred Rogers even more now that I went to this documentary!

He was a wonderful human being and the film was a great reminder that there are still some truly good people left in the world. Tom Hanks will star in the version of Fred Rogers life titled You Are My Friend coming out in 2019. Shooting starts this fall in Pittsburgh. :)

I just heard about that! I'll be going to that movie as well!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87