You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LetsTalk—Can We Be Brutally Honest Without Hurting People?

in #life7 years ago

Great post @firepower!!!! I love this topic so much I wrote about it myself just yesterday!!!

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@everlove/lies-lies-lies-what-s-up-with-all-those-lies

I think it is really tough to be honest with most people. I've been "nice" most of my life, and have found that I also sugar coated things -- first because I didn't want to hurt anyone else's feelings, and second, because I didn't want mine hurt either! I've also recognized all the truths I did not tell in order not to hurt someone else's feelings just stayed bottled up inside and eventually just ended up hurting myself (and sometimes the relationship) anyway. I have also found that telling the truth actually diffuses my own frustrations almost immediately and can clear the air so judgments and grudges don't have to build up.

Of course not everyone wants to hear the truth and as you say may retaliate or the relationship will be ruined forever. It is great, however, to build friendships based on truth and to have friendships where you can be yourself, work through things, and know you can count on what is being said is real.

Learning how to address the truth with others is definitely a skill and one we could all benefit from giving and receiving. I love that we are talking about these subjects as we have new opportunities to evolve ourselves and strengthen our love for ourselves and others.

Thanks for keeping it real @fireower. I really appreciate having met you at Steemfest--you are truly one of my favorites as you feel like such a genuine soul. Blessings to you dear friend.

Sort:  

The truth only hurts for a little while but lies hurt forever!

Awesome comment @monaco1. Lies do really carry on and on and on. Thanks for your presence here.

Thank you so much!

Truth is sometimes difficult to digest and harder even to bottle up. Best to let it out in regular doses to avoid hurting ourselves!

Thanks for keeping it real @fireower. I really appreciate having met you at Steemfest--you are truly one of my favorites as you feel like such a genuine soul. Blessings to you dear friend.

I feel humbled with a tinge of blush! hahahaha Thank you!

Agreed!! Long-term and short-term discomfort are definitely worth consideration. Regular doses are generally much less intense as well.

And you're welcome @firepower. I'm grateful to reconnect with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73