Ketogenic Diet- What I ate Day #2 & Which Supplements I Take for My Immune System!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone! Hope you are all having a perfect day and still going strong on your new years goals!

14906951_163787554083509_1699513151109084166_n.jpg

As you may already know, I decided to transition to a ketogenic diet for the new year :) My fiance has been on this diet for a while, and it made sense for me to switch over, especially considering all of the benefits to eating this way! Check out my page for some other articles on Keto that detail out some of these many applications for the diet!

DAY 2 : WHAT I ATE

BREAKFAST
For breakfast on day two, we had the green smoothie per usual, but this time we used two avocados. This did increase the serving size, as well as the fat and nutrition content of the smoothie. Again, this recipe makes two servings, so if you are making it for just yourself, cut the ingredients in half :) We topped the smoothies with some mint sprigs for aesthetics :)

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 1.47.44 AM.png

These smoothies were a great source of vitamin C , Vitamin A , folate, fiber, and potassium. The extra avocado made them a bit larger than usual, meaning they were more filling and made for a satisfying breakfast :)

shakes.jpg

We also took a few supplements before our shake, including Vitamin D, liposomal vitamin C, and liposomal glutathione. The vitamin D helps regulate the absorption of calcium, as well as development of bones and teeth, and improved resistance against certain diseases.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.11.27 AM.png

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.17.29 AM.png

The liposomal vitamin c is a version of vitamin c that is encapsulated and protected by microscopic liposomes, meaning it is able to pass through the stomach completely intact, move through the intestinal wall into the bloodstream on its own, reach your cells quickly, and readily passing through cell membranes. Essentially, this form of vitamin c is much better absorbed into the body, and more effective than other forms , including naturally occurring vitamin c. Most of your daily intake of water soluble vitamin c is actually destroyed by the chemicals used to digest in the stomach.

vitamins.jpg

Glutathione is the major naturally occurring antioxidant present in our cells. Other antioxidants consumed through our diet such a vitamin c and e depend on it for their function. It plays a key role in detoxifying.

This molecule can fight against heavy metals, insecticides, exhaust pollution, and many by products of cigarette smoke. It also is able to address oxidation caused by stress. Insufficient amounts of glutathione is known to cause issues in the immune system, and regular infections are a sign that you may be low in glutathione. While glutatione can be naturally produced by he liver be eating the correct foods, however most people do not eat enough of these foods.

More Info on LypoSpheric Vitamin C: https://www.livonlabs.com/cgi-bin/start.cgi/liposome-encapsulated/what-is-lypo-spheric-vitamin-c.html

More Info on Glutathione: https://www.abundanceandhealth.co.uk/en/blog/39-benefits-of-liposomal-glutathione-lypo-spheric-glutathione

LUNCH:

For lunch, my fiance prepared a sliced cucumber salad with a spicy pickle and creamy garlic parmesan dressing. He also prepared 2 bratwurst sausages for lunch, with broccoli, onion, and zucchini pan fried in butter. I also had two string cheeses. It was very tasty , and i ate it before i went to work :)

DINNER

For dinner, i had my leftover taco salad from the previous day, as well as 3 more string cheeses. I got home from work late, and wasn't very hungry, so this was plenty for me today.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.23.45 AM.png

SUMMARY

For Day 2 my fat intake was 74%, my protein was 16% and my carb intake was 10%. Because my Cronometer account has not been modified for keto targets, the carb intake reflects high, as the tracker is counting carbs from fiber, whereas in a traditional keto diet you would not count those. Cronometer does have a keto macro nutrient tracker setting, which i may change over to once i research and compare it more.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.26.20 AM.png

My overall nutrition for the day looks pretty decent, with 84% of nutrition targets being met. Aside from being a little low in iron and fiber, these primary numbers look excellent :)

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.37.42 AM.png

This day i was a little bit low in water intake, coming in at 60 fl ounces, as well as a little bit low in fiber. I think it is pretty crazy that i only had 14g of sugar for the entire day!! I have always had such a sweet tooth that this diet has been really tricky for me! Obviously the fats on this chart show that they are high because i still have the tracker setting on a standard diet, and not set to keto.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.36.20 AM.png

Vitamin levels were a little bit lower than they were in Day #1 , most likely simply because I ate less this day. However, I believe that by the end of the week these numbers will balance out, and though they are a little low, none of them seem to be too low, with the exception of vitamin e, which we were also low in for Day #1 . This is something that i will be watching, and if it is a trend, we will be looking into solutions to increase our vitamin e intake.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.43.17 AM.png

Minerals are looking much better on Day 2 than on Day 1, but still need some work. We do have a trace minerals supplement, but it does not give specific nutrition information for entering into the system. I may look for a different mineral supplement going forward for more precise mineral tracking.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.49.14 AM.png

Protein levels are very high this day, which is great since levels on Day 1 were a little low :)

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 3.53.30 AM.png

CONCLUSION:
Day two 's menu left me feeling full and satisfied. I felt pretty energized throughout my double-split shift at work as a waitress. It was a little challenging to avoid sugars and carbs, but i felt consistently energized throughout the day. The best part about keto is that after serving cheesy Mexican food all day and craving cheese, i was able to come home and munch on as much cheese as i wanted :)

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave them below. I look forward continuing to share my keto nutrition journey with you all!

14572175 163795604082704 2671019352835033026 n

Brightest Blessings!
SO MUCH LOVE!!
Evening Star

Sort:  

What's the easiest way for you to track your water intake? I find this to be one of the harder things to keep track of.

I drink water at my house out of mason jars, so it makes it easy to know how many ounces i have had :)

Usually a quart sized mason jar, specifically, so when i finish one of those, that is 32 ounces :)

That sounds pretty easy! thanks for the tip!

Sounds yummy, stick with it girl!

Thanks for all of your loving support <3

I consume entirely too much sugar. I don't think one could get much lower than 14g intake in a day, I think that is pretty awesome!

I was surprised that I managed to get my sugar intake down so low ! Sugar has been my nemesis for the better part of my life. Surprisingly, i don't miss the sugar that much !

Yeah it's really bad stuff. I need to reduce my intake. Granulated cancer. Nice work though, good luck staying on track!

Yeah i used to eat sooooo much sugar. It totally blows my mind that i was able to keep the sugar numbers so low so easily on this diet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61