Happy Mondays?!. Really???

in #life7 years ago (edited)

01 IMG_8162.jpg

“Everybody hates Mondays!”

I couldn’t help but reply: “I am joyful on Mondays!”

To which she quickly answered, “Yeah, but it’s because you’re Eric!”


“Happy Monday Everybody!”

"Is that a tanker ship adrift in the swell, like the Russian freighter that ran out of power on the West Coast of Haida Gwaii??? Hum... No. It looks anchored. We're safe, for the moment..."

IMG_8138.jpg


...Waking up this morning, after a very short four and a half hour sleep, maybe, I bolted out of bed to help out my dear sweetheart get ready to go to work, prepare her a quick brekky smoothie of mango juice mixed with strawberry kefir, a touch of cinnamon and a bunch of polyphenols packed dried fruit powder! A real breakfast of champion!

Both her and I rushed downstairs one after another and jumped in the car and drove away in a frenzy as we were cutting short on the punctuality line… As I ran out, I grabbed on to two of her bags, thinking she'd be grabbing the last one on her way out as she’d be seeing the last without the two I had taken. After all, she had placed her three bags there herself. I would have assumed she would have seen the last one on her way out as she would be looking for the bags on her way out.

Discussing her daughter comment on Mondays the day before, we laughed and couldn’t help myself but suggest that maybe, here on steemit.com, we should start a humorist column on Mondays and see who could come up with the funniest and craziest, strangest stories, just to perk us all up on this infamous day. Not to jinks ourselves, we cut short the very thought of sharing nasty ones…

Arriving by the first intersection, I see a tennis ball sitting there on the pavement, all by itself, no running golden retrievers insight anywhere. I suddenly break in with a “Could you imagine if humans were link our human’s best friends and just follow our instincts as we’d be seeing this ball right now?!?” Can you imagine the commotion?

Ten minutes later, we kiss each other goodbye, wishing each other a good day. She steps out closes the passenger’s door and open the back door where she fetches her 2 bags… “Where's my other bag?”, she says to me puzzled. In a lightning speed sharing of the results of my thinking process to her, we start laughing and decide it is no big deal. Nothing too important or necessary for today in there anyway, apparently… But, as one knows, surprises occur out of the blue and more often than otherwise hide synchronous reasons beyond our own awareness.

I suddenly realize why: We needed to go get some cash at the bank machine to be able to pay for the carpet cleaners. (Oups, as I write this I just now realized I have forgotten her son’s day out money… Darn!) O.k., back to writing now that plan B is in action for her son. Where were we? Oh, yeah, synchronicity hits us with the realization of why she had forgotten her bag at home. So, I leave her work place and upon arriving at the same intersection where I saw the tennis ball, an accident had happen. Two ladies talking to each other are seemingly arranging for civilized new location to relocate to as the traffic is quickly building behind them...

Arriving at home, the outside door is wide open! I'm thinking we must have just left to much in a hurry and the door, not fully latched, opened with the wind or something. I walk in, pick up her now famous third bag which contains the magic plastic debit card and run back up the steep moss and pine needle covered driveway. Within a few minutes from departing, I decide to drive right back home: I'm thinking I should bring my camera and take a few shots of the area's beauty and eventually share on steemit.com as well, while I have to be driving around anyway. I really don't like using fossil fuel inconsiderately so I maximize my movements and energies, as well as gas. A quick turn around up the hill brings me back to square one in a matter of 5 minutes.

02 IMG_8133.JPG

Taking the familiarly known "Scenic View Road", I find the spot to take my very first shot from this location. About 70 meters from ocean level and having a fantastic wide open view on the Georgia Straight offer a magnificent opportunity, especially on sunset and sunrise times. I can't wait to come back for a good one to share with you all soon when the time is ripe. In the distance, there's a boat that looks like a military boat! After hearing the French CBC News about Vegas today, I wondered if I had missed something even more tragic before! After observing the vessel from a distance with the power of my potent 65X zoom view finder camera, I took a few shots. No one seemed in anymore of a rush than usual as the local, almost private, morning rush hour was building a foot or two behind me. No war here yet. Good, let's keep going.

After this pit-stop, I wanted to go to Taissia's school to drop off her "quasi-necessities". As I turn the corner of the street where her work is, there's an emergency banner across the entrance and a police officer assisted by a civilian blocking any vehicles from coming in. I park a few feet away and quickly realize that it must be Terry Fox Run for their school today and, judging by the music blasting out of the speakers, there's going to be a serious show happening here this morning. All the students and staff were outside, even daycare! My dear Lyubimaya, beloved in Russian, was out there carrying a little three year old and skirted by at least three more of them, impatient to get a piece of the action. The fire trucks with the complete fire crew was out there too, as if the police wasn't enough.

03 IMG_8136.jpg

As I walked back to the car, I stop by the civilian and the police officer and they let me know that a full convoy is on its way. Not even two seconds later, sirens pop up and the show is on! Time to get out of there and deal with business. So, I drive back to this spot I wanted to take a picture of for weeks before heading out to Piper's Park, a beautiful little sea shore walk nearby where live now.

05 IMG_8139.jpg

A short walk in the brisk air won't hurt and will surely do its job in managing to wake me up again, at least perk me up some more. As most of you, hopefully all of you, know, spending a lot of time behind the screen of a computer is a bit taxing on our eyes and body. A healthy schedule of low-impact sports such as walking in nature resets our body clock. Not that a good swim wouldn't do, but in temperatures surrounding 14 degrees, the Pacific Ocean is not as welcoming as a month ago where the water's surface must have reached passed the 80 degrees Fahrenheit!

Shoulder strapped on, the camera was almost vibrating, trying to get out there before my eye. The northwesterly 30 km/h winds made the first few hundred meters a bit of a chilly stroll. But, after crossing a dog on leach with its pedestrian curious about my camera bag and camera. Of course, a quick note about Steemit tossed into the conversation couldn't hurt. A few paces further, I see a tree Taissia told me, just corroborated by Miss Rhee as well a few moments ago, where the children used to run to and play for hours in this tree fort that stands as a castle in the literature of their family history. Wouldn't you like to play in there on a warm afternoon travelling back and forth between the ocean or its lagoon swimming in its waters or mudflats? Wow!

06 IMG_8146.jpg

Another few hundred steps forward and I an called by one of the most iconic tree in the area, an arbutus, one of the gnarliest piece of vegetation around! I've always loved their presence, safe to climb silky smooth hardwood where its orange bark peels like paper off a wasp nest.

07 IMG_8148.jpg

08 IMG_8151.jpg

The area has more in terms of gnarly too, not to mention the fierce winds coming in during winter storms, the oak trees quite common to the area are a treasure to behold as well as to climb. A rather picturesque shoot is coming up with Taissia here. the very first time we came walking here, she sat on one of the branches reminiscing about old times when both her and I, in our respective countries, played in the fall leaves of oak trees, making piles of them and jumping in. Since I was a very young boy, about four years old, I remember the soft almond scent of oak. It carries me back to a very happy childhood playing with my little two years old sister, and our parents at the Aquarium of Quebec City, right beside the two big bridges, and overlooks the mighty St. Lawrence River.

09 IMG_8152.jpg

Straying off to my right and away from the gravelly beaten path, a small rocky hill rises giving me a respite from an unfriendly breeze. Venturing up its flanks, stepping up edgy vertical granite protrusions and bending through a large leafy branch semi-tunnel, I quickly arrive at a rest point. Filled of foreign memories, a very appealing bench sits there, warm and welcoming in the morning light.

10 IMG_8154.jpg

Not answering its call, I keep on going. Attracted by the heights and exquisite calm that radiates out of a little alcove found a few steps away, I notice a flying leaf, dead, dancing, twirling spiralling in the warm up swelling wind coming from the miniature bay 20 meters down where logs and seaweed squeeze themselves against the pebbles and crags for a new season of gatherings.

11 IMG_8157.jpg

As I am about to do the crossing over to the main outcropping island, a delicate movement and iridescent green dot twinges on the corner of my eyes: A Female Rufus Hummingbird! Taking a breather or digesting her insectivorous breakfast maybe, she observed me for a few seconds before realizing that my camera was actually "looking" at her! In a classic whizzing descent, she flew off her perch and flew out of sight.

12 IMG_8164.jpg

As seen on the picture found below, a few meters away on the other side of the arm of earth, a very peculiar community flourishes... The locals have to canoe, kayak or swim across the waters when the tides are too high or simply stay home. If the weather gets too nasty, one might be poised to anchor down for the time being. As soon as the tides are low enough, they can simply walk over to the mainland of Nanaimo. Would you dare living in such a place, so exposed to the elements and potential tidal waves? Risky business some would say! But they are trading their freedom of securities so rarely worried about that it leaves them probably emotionally almost impervious to the odds.

13 IMG_8170.jpg

As I was on my way back to the vehicle, I took a little shot of the path I came from, before walking over the dried mudflats all the way back. This caricature was drawn on the foregrounds, I couldn't help myself: Rugged aged granite on which lichen has been growing for centuries persisting in the face of time carries the eye to the stark bundle of oak trees plunging into the reflecting light of meandering salt waters and shinny pebbles. In the background, bordered by the trees in the foreground and the ones in the background, the walkway back to the parking lot cuts thought inviting the eye to the ferry terminal.

14 IMG_8168.jpg


As I was writing this episode, new rebounds form this Monday morning came knocking at our doors: "Tom Petty just past away 15 minutes ago.", the carpet cleaning lady shares with me... She continued the story by telling how she had the occasion of seeing him live and how struck she was by his soulful presence as an artist. He connected with her, in spite of her not knowing him at all before seeing him then. He had obviously carved his way into her heart.

I sincerely hope you all had a decent Monday, I sure look forward to reading something out of the ordinary, right out of strangeness, letters to bringing light out of darkness in the Humorist Monday Columns, under #happymondays, in our near future!

I would also appeal to you all by asking you if you have special requests as to subjects or writing styles you'd like to see me tackle in the next future. there are a few more tributes needed to be done relating to Salmon Glacier and @teresa-robinson, one about my mother's second passage to British Columbia with her partner André, as well as the beginning of a series about wild animals encounter, especially birds.

Stay tuned, thanks for reading and, till then, keep on smiling and taking good care, namaste :)

Sort:  

Thank you for this relatively "bucolic" photo essay in the middle of what currently seems like an ocean of tragedy and mishaps. The world feels like it is a little out of sorts, these days.

Your post is a refreshing reminder that "life goes on," no matter what is going on in the greater world. Tragedies happen, and yet there are lots of little things to be grateful for-- loved ones, hummingbirds in trees, beautiful views...

Thank you.

I would say you definitely caught the drift of my thought in the last lines where "letters to bringing light out of darkness" are purely a choice non-dependent on circumstances but on our own conscious decision, a wilful act of rebellion and decision to be happy in the face of fear, hatred, and so on. Because life goes on, what would one rather do? I choose to keep an eye out, or two, for beauty, as one thing, light as another.

Your comment touches my heart and makes me even more grateful for having taken the time to share these thoughts. Thank you. Namaste :)

I just appreciated you putting it out there... it came along at exactly the right time. I "know" you mostly as one of our community's great commenters and curators, so it was a double good-feeling moment to see an original blog post from you.

Timing is everything and I'm glad that synchronicity gracefully brought us to this ripened time. Thanks a lot for the very kind words, they are appreciated, namaste :)

He 'smashed the story at us' bomb style

I am in absolute agreement with you, infact its the little things that matter most, because they serve as a reminder that life is worth living, not forgetting they were given FREE

Monday's can be really stressful, considering all the fun you had in the weekend, going to work or continuing your daily business on Monday seems boring.
But all the same I Love Monday's.

Awesome, welcome to the club! ;)

Namaste :)

“Yeah, but it’s because you’re Eric!” Haha, and man, you are a happy explorer! Amazing post, I love the curiosity towards life! Can more people be like Eric?

Such kindness in your words... Thanks I really appreciate, namaste :)

Hello my dear friend))) Sometimes we are consumed by everyday life and we forget about schia. I wish you every day was better than the last!))) Life is beautiful regardless of anything))))

I hear you and a big thank you for the kind words. I feel like I am extremely blessed, graces come flowing my way all the time and simply can't count them because there are well, too many! I rarely have days where I am not happy... Actually, I can't recall the last one, which in itself is a very good sign, though I can recall at least a few in my life... ;)

Namaste :)

Honestly, I used to be annoyed with people who are all "Happy Monday!" and stuff as they talk about how beautiful life is and and how they love hustling ya da ya da ya da.

But that was just me being a cynical ass.

Mondays can be great. It's just a choice I guess. I say... change your morning routine. I try to drag myself out of my bed by playing a super cool Bboy video on my phone to get pumped, then get out of bed.

Good post @eric-boucher and nice pics.

Really cool comment! thanks for the reply. I think you have a solid point there too: I also wake up earlier to pump myself into gear as well as to take good care of myself through eating a good breakfast without rushing and, as I leave for work, listen to the news (as bad ass it might be), it sets me back into societal modes again. I live a very different life, very chill and as non-incumbered as possible.

Thanks a lot for the kind words too! Namaste :)

Thanks for the words too. I try to live a chill life myself.

Meditation and yoga don't work much for me though haha.

First, settling the mind by settling the body is a very powerful method and system to works one's way toward the within. I used to do extreme sports and then deal with motionless meditation... There's a path to deeper and deeper meditation, it is a matter of finding the way. Luckily, many have walked the path before and can help in this matter. ;) May the force be with you and us all! Namaste :)

I like that, "settling the mind by settling the body"

Any tips on how I can start? I'm a Bboy myself. As much as I love movement combined with music, I have to admit that sometimes my mind wanders into the realm of anger and I feel extremely distracted.

I'd love something to do in the morning, but I find it so tiring. Of late, I have been waking up and feeling weighted down.

I would start by having a good hardcore session of breakdancing with music that isn't violent but definitely upbeat and pumping, so not to call in the demons closer than they need to be.

Next, anytime anger comes by, its direct observance will set you free, no pushing, no pulling, just observing it like gale force winds coming over the ocean. If the blinding is too much to take or the winds overpowering and choking you, sink deeper into yourself but still observe its fierce power to disturb the water on the surface of your soul... Like waves over the surface of the water, the winds have tremendous powers to move the water but it doesn't move you anymore just like if you actually were at the bottom of a pool looking up toward the light and, therefore, the surface, you remain unmoved and could easily go back and forth to the surface to breathe over and over till it has passed.

In relation to the tiredness in the morning, it might simply relate to a lack of healthy sleep which in itself, can be caused by tons of different reasons, possibly compounded together and leaving you sluggish in the morning... A few pointers I tend to obey and have stayed away from help me have deeper and deeper sleeps: No heavy dinner including (Meat and fatty foods, garlic and onions, etc.) or heavy snack before going to sleep. I never eat within three hours from going to bed, otherwise your stomach still works on digesting while your body wants and needs to actually rest. I stay away from sugars as well as processed ones, such as white sugar (8 times more addictive than cocaine!) and booze.

Same goes with drugs/booze as they first seem to be relaxing us, but on the other hands wake up the nervous system and keep it runnnning faster and faster as you indulge more and more and more becoming more and more subject to tensions in the entire body, even when you sleep. There are many different kinds of breathing techniques to help relax and sleep too, including the famous five long breaths of 5 seconds inhaling and 5 seconds breathing out. I'd stay away from music that turns the mind towards hanger and hatred, both with the harmonics used in the music as well as the thoughts, words and rhythms, that can only help sustain the subject in one's mind. Anger is the only enemy that will work on you 24/7/365 days a year, and it never sleeps! we are our own worse enemy that way, if we let it be so...

A quick note on proper oxygenation: An open window, lots of plants in the room can help a great deal too! If you suffer from snoring, try to sleep on your right hand side or belly, if necessary, and tilt your head up passed the point where, when you fall asleep, your tongue gets slowly down into your throat and makes you feel like your are choking. Having your head tilted upwards solves this problem.

I hope some of it might help you and, if you have any questions, shoot it my way. Hopefully, I'll be able to help in one way or another. Take good care brother, thrive on as the whole of humanity and the world needs your light too!

Namaste :)

"Next, anytime anger comes by, its direct observance will set you free, no pushing, no pulling, just observing it like gale force winds coming over the ocean. If the blinding is too much to take or the winds overpowering and choking you, sink deeper into yourself but still observe its fierce power to disturb the water on the surface of your soul... Like waves over the surface of the water, the winds have tremendous powers to move the water but it doesn't move you anymore just like if you actually were at the bottom of a pool looking up toward the light and, therefore, the surface, you remain unmoved and could easily go back and forth to the surface to breathe over and over till it has passed."

Thanks. That's all very deep.

The paragraph above... I appreciate where you're coming from, but all I can is... it's just a lot harder than it is. At least for me. I've fought anger since forever.

I have more or less given up, but in the act of giving up, I let go.

But I won't deny I still shitty, a lot.

The letting it be is a first step toward empowering yourself forever! As soon as it is you can focus on other things, other thoughts.

Good courage to you! Namaste :)

I enjoyed reading this. I will be looking forward to reading more from you!

Thank you so very much for your fellowship and I'm glad you enjoyed the read too. There's more, much more to come...

Namaste :)

I loved this story, it gave me pleasure knowing I am not the only one running around in a mad rush sometimes. It seems to be the way of it this summer, do you find? So good to connect with you here, I'm thinking I should visit more often.

Sin taaji gii 'laa @stephanypryce! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, that was only the first half of the day! ;) Luckily, the rest of it only got slower and, by now, I am very tired and equally mellow. Morpheus Arms are calling, talk to you soon.

I hear you in relation to the "summer rush"! this summer has been the madness and by far the fastest in years for me! Mind you, it is the first time I am living with a family, we are 4 here, and have extra members around as well as friends... A busy time, it is o.k. for the moment, as long as it doesn't last!?.

Namaste :)

Past, present. future.........I agree they are all choices. See "present" beauty, I will do my best. This is a promise I can keep <3

Tragedy happens, every single day, from parents who lost their child, wars all around us, both civillian and military actions. So much dram in our life; which in my opinion is already so short. So good to start up every day with a smile and be thankful we are here, and it is up to us to make the best from it.
Indeed we are influenced by information (tv / newspaper / internet / radio aso) but it never should take away our faith in the best things which life brings us. Our family, our friends, and as seen on your todays pictures NATURE!. There we Always could find some peace and rest to overthink how to continue! Thanks for your post, and keep smiling; every single day!

Glad to read someone else is also having gratitude to the fullest for every moment, every day, maybe even as much as I do! Thanks for sharing your thoughtful comment, once again.

Keep on smiling and thriving, Steem on and namaste :)

No, there is evident 'notch in the throat' urgency and despair in your narration. I can feel it. Sorry about #happymondays. It was hectic for you. Do not mind about the phrase. It is my own coinage. You gripped me to the end buddy. Was it a vivid narration!

It is all good, I love Mondays like any other days, even with this one being so hectic, and it kept on going afterwards too... I' so glad to read you had a blast going through the lines all the way to the last drop. Awesome, it is in itself a great compliment. Thank you!

Have a great one, namaste :)

Namaste my friend. Take care. It is great to know you.

Thanks a bunch, same to you! Namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61