Who? (INFP-T)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I want to post today, but I'm stuck. But I thought of something I read not long ago.

“Whenever we owls have a problem,” said the Owl King, “we ask ourselves the One Question. We believe if we have the answer to the One Question, we will be able to solve any problem which faces us.”

“What is the One Question?” asked Dr. Pipt.

“Who,” said the owl.

“Who?”

“Who.”

These wise words come from this fun little story by @tcpolymath, which I enjoyed very much. The owls are his invention too, which is great. But this post isn't about this story (do give that a read).

It did lead me, however, to my question of the day, which is one I love to hide from as much as possible.

Who am I?

I'm sure I'm not getting to the bottom of this in one post, but at least I can start by taking one very specific aspect.

What is my personality type?

I've seen the four character designations flying around, and I thought for once I'll just try it. I suppose at the very least with this designation as well as knowledge that I took this particular test you'll roughly know a bit about how I think.

INFP-T

What does this mean? INFP-T? According to the next parts, the summary of each part taken from the same site:

  • I - Introverted (61%) vs Extroverted. How I interact with the environment.
  • N - Intuitive (58%) vs Observant. Where I direct my mental energy.
  • F - Feeling (54%) vs Thinking. How I make decisions and cope with emotions.
  • P - Prospecting (81%) vs Judging. Approach to work, planning, and decision-making.
  • T - Turbulent (83%) vs Assertive. How confident we are in our abilities and decisions.

I suppose that you may know how to interact with me now? Let's see what else there is...

Paraphrasing, it says that mediator personalities like me are "true idealists, always looking for the hint of good in even the worst of people and events, searching for ways to make things better. While they may be perceived as calm, reserved, or even shy, Mediators have an inner flame and passion that can truly shine." Apparently we're just 4% of the population, too, wow. I'm a snowflake.

But getting back to the quoted section, it definitely resonates with me. I will dig deeper for underlying motives and will look beyond certain propaganda (usually, not always). And inner flame? Sure, at least for now hah!

I don't want to go in too deep, but highlight a few more as I'm reading more about this bucket:

  • "Mediators are led by the purity of their intent, not rewards and punishments. People who share the Mediator personality type are proud of this quality, and rightly so, but not everyone understands the drive behind these feelings, and it can lead to isolation". I got a bit of tingly senses from reading this section though, as I've thought about my own behavior here on the Steemit platform.
  • "communicate deeply with others, easily speaking in metaphors and parables"... I can see that, though I haven't done this lately. I had ideas for taking complicated parts of Steem and injecting them into such fantasies but they never fully formed yet. Oh! Looking back, I tried this once here, which references the previous post as well.
  • "Mediators will focus their attention on just a few people, a single worthy cause -- spread too thinly, they'll run out of energy, and even become dejected and overwhelmed by all the bad in the world they can't fix." This is an interesting section that I've not sure I've observed. Yet I can start to feel what they might say when there's just so much bad that needs fixing. I am still positive for the time being though.

I love how I'm immediately just thinking in terms of Steem as I've thumbed through the various properties, but hey, why not! That's what you, my dear readers, know and can observe.

One thing that stands out is that it seems to suggest that I am not so reliant on logic, which surprises me. I suppose that's not to mean that I don't use it, but that I am guided more by other traits like principles and intuition than I am by carefully analysis. Which is probably true. I can do analysis, but I prefer to try things out first or rely on intuition.

The other thing is that stands out is that it suggests that I am frequently in my own little world, getting lost in thought. As my friends who know me in real life can attest to, if I'm focused on something and you're calling out my name or trying to get my attention, I actually will not have registered that I am being called upon until much later. "Huh? Did you just ask me something?" Yeah that annoys people a lot. Sorry!

Anyway, I am curious if any of you are familiar with these tests and what you think, at least knowing how I've been bumbling around here. And feel free to tell me that the test I took is pretty lousy and I should probably take a more comprehensive one. I suppose it's good just for a quick snapshot though? And hey, maybe you can give it a spin if you are bored.

Who are you?

Sort:  

I am the guy who lets the dogs out. I thought you were too. Poor Opal.

I am the guy who
Lets the dogs out. I thought you
Were too. Poor Opal.

                 - sultnpapper


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

What you detected was me farting, like that smell?

Ohhh opal gets out. She a free range (within apartment) kind of dog. And occasionally running free in the park.... yup!

When ever you get stuck with no topic just talk to Opal she has got plenty of stories waiting to be told and she is damn good at it.

love this E! and thank you for sharing, this is a fun test and one worth taking at least for fun. the stuck part kind of matches up with the bear reading and doesnt have to be “spiritual”. loved this! hugs

bear is waking up haha

I am familiar with these test, and anyone should be very cautious about them in a work environment where you have a supervisor doing evaluations of your work:

Mr. @eonwarped has a tendency to want to do things his way and a disregard for his fellow employees ignoring them on many occasions and having to be "pulled" back into the work world.
Kind of a negative report.

Mr. @eonwarped is a highly motivated employee when he is focused on his work it takes an effort on the part of his co-workers to remind him it is lunch time.
Kind of a nice report.

Both of which fit an IN personality.

So if you do have these "test" at work, do not let your supervisor be aware of the results, you also should not share them with co-workers because it makes it easier for them to find what buttons to push.

Oh I have heard of these types of concerned before. I will be a little cautious of this, though I suspect discerning types might be able to figure the characteristics out by observation?

Though I would also be curious to know if there are horror stories concerning this kind of behavior. I probably just have to google for those huh....

Thanks for your thoughts!

there are so many thoughts re these tests and its obvious you are a success in all you do. youre amazingly kind, generous and what i love most about you and seen firsthand is your non judgment. you accept all and look at the good. i can go on and on about how amazing you are that any of the possible negatives are minute compared to the constructive, creative and positive sides to your personality. did i mention brilliant and genius? hehe see i can not say good enough things about E!

Ohh! I missed this! You are so kind :)

According to cryptotwitter I am cryptoracist! :P
So the idea came from this:

I not a maximalists, just hate alot of altcoins bc they are shit lol
*the tweet was not to me but after this tweet the word cryptoracism became more prevalent

Crypto Racism? I can't even..... SMDH

The articles in your post are very qualityful.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 234 (8/22/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13