You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Do you pray for the dead?" ~ Ruminations on God's Sovereignty Over Time

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I am no Baptist
but I don't pray for the dead either
for the same reason that you stated

they've walked their mile
I can no longer help extend that

someone who upped my post resteemed this
and am glad he did
edit : it's @jlufer :D

it's not often that someone braves to spit out such pepper-cussed matter
specially when it could lead to arguements

Sort:  

Hello, @englishtchrivy!

How nice to hear from you!

Yes, this post has brought some old names/faces out of the woodwork that I haven't heard from in a long time.

So, I've never heard the term "pepper-cussed," that is a new one for me. ;)
I'd appreciate it if you could explain the meaning of that saying? :D

I'm really not looking for arguments, but I'm not afraid of them either because my goal is to align my thinking with what the bible has to say about things.

Thanks again for your visit, and take care! :D

:) thank you

I believe that you're not looking for any arguments though :)
you're one of the most amicable users I bumped into here

as for pepper-cussed it's normally used to people who's always cursing
it's hard to listen nor pay attention and accept whatever any person who always opens his mouth and go cursing right
somehow, the biblical based phrase you wrote about not praying for the dead could have the same impact - it's hard to accept specially for people from the continent I came from cause some of us have that as traditions and worse - they even bend their knees to the dead and my country is no exception

if people would just read their bibles and not just have them for displays on their coffee table they may wake up to the fact that many of the religious practices were actually against Christ's teachings and the worst part many of the religions in my country ask for money to offer prayers for and to the dead - sighs and more sighs

oh well, it's their right, we'll have to respect that I just don't like the pretending to be preachers - actually extortionists who teach them wrong rituals and practices like this and make the people spend a lot of money that only goes to their own pockets spent in buying expensive toys for the boys and to fatten their greedy stomach! I pity those who fall victims to those crocodiles !

anyway, have a great summer
and keep living!
you, too TC!

Thank you for explaining "pepper-cussed," that's interesting.

I feel the same about any so-called church leaders who extort money or use guilt on parishioners in this matter... :( Very sad, actually despicable.

I also find it sad that people pray without some knowledge of the bible.

I always encourage people to read and think about the book that John the apostle wrote, known as "John's Gospel." I think it has the most clear presentation of Jesus and who he really is, and that if only people would read that book, they would be saved from a lot of misunderstandings and foolish practices.

Thanks again for writing, it's very nice to hear from you again.

😄😇😄

@creatr

you're really very kind to just use despicable - for I find those insulent and abominable
for how could they treat the teachings of Christ as if it's not enough
to make their very own to satisfy their hunger for mow-ney ~~~

have a great week ahead !
in case you reply and I won't be able to response
please don't feel ignored
that means am offline - steemnow says my VI will need at least 91 hours to recover and get back to 100%
in order for me to do that
I'll have to keep myself from looking at my account
or get tempted to post again :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57