I Wish Money Didn't Exist

in #life6 years ago

bad-19907_640.jpg

Don't worry, am not broke neither am I one to ask for assistance so this is not an SOS rant.

It is just that lately all my thoughts seem largely imbalanced, ranging from emotional, spiritual to financial. What bothers me is that everything seems to spin around the web of 'more' which usually signals more money, like the mind programs itself to believe money can solve everything.

I do not consider myself poor by any status, but the amount of cash at my disposal runs out too quickly too often, despite my relatively minimalist lifestyle (I even cut my lending rate).

I just think about the way we all chase after the next paycheck sometimes like it is all that matters, often at the cost of living quality lives or staying true to ourselves.

Then there is the constant heartache of constantly having to worry about footing the bills, paying the rent and what not. Don't get me wrong, I love working to earn a living and I believe it gives me extra purpose and meaning, but having to scrape and grind everyday while the future remains largely uncertain is just exhausting.

Sorry about the Sunday rant guys, maybe I do need that vacation (oops, can't afford that too) or marry a rich man...lol.

Sort:  

"Money" was invested as a store of value and a medium of exchange. It was supposed to be something that could represent stored work. Otherwise, you'd have to barter fish for eggs, or milk for a necklace. Money bridged that gap.

The problem has been that countries that use central banks have "currency" in circulation, not money. Currency isn't a store of value because they can always print more currency. When they do, the value of the currency goes down, and so does our buying power. Inflation is slowly robbing all of us and giving that profit to the central banks. If we used a system that didn't have inflation, it'd be much easier to store wealth and transfer it from generation to generation.

I do get what you mean though. If we didn't have to worry about how we were going to continue surviving the next week/month, life would be less stressful.

Before money the solution was physical power. If you could take it, it was yours.

Another solution is "First come First Serve" which sets up situations like Black Friday in the USA, where people will kill for a TV.

Money is just a tool, it can be hard sometimes to remember that though.

Money is just a tool, it can be hard sometimes to remember that though.

Really really hard

Me too!

"like the mind programs itself to believe money can solve everything"

The money can solve almost everything. That, who say, is not true, have never starved.

This is one of the primary foundament what "hold" our civilization. Doesnt matter its bad or good, right now, this is the situation, we must adapt to this.

I agree. I just don't like it

I think, the normal people doesnt like it at all. I dont like it. But the laws of nature, the laws of psichics, and the laws of civilization forced the normal people too, to adapt.
And since Darwin, we know, not the strong survive. The better adaptation survive.

Congratulations @empress-eremmy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @empress-eremmy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.742 which ranks you at #4976 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 4978).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

howdy empress! I'd go for the rich man option! I mean if you find a good man and fall in love then there's nothing wrong with that! Rich men need good wives too. I'd start doing a little scheming and see what happens. lol.

Looool Janton. Well we'll see what I've got up my sleeves

good. keep us up to date, might be some great posting material! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80