You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teacher, I'm stupid, am I? (Part 1)

in #life7 years ago

My eldest daughter asked me the same question a few months back... Well more likely she made a statement of her feeling she is stupid... She did pretty bad in her first semester final exam... (She is primary 2 this year)... And because of this, she was the last in her class.. I went through her papers and results with her... It's not that she dunno how to do... it's just because she is too careless... and was not well prepared... and because of being last in class, maybe her friends and (not sure whether some of her teachers) told her or implied to her that she is stupid... she came back to me and made that statement... I look at her and tell her... "You are very clever and smart, you didn't study much and prepare properly for your exam, and yet you can get this results, imagine if you really put effort and time into preparing yourself, you will get a great result"...
and when I was teaching back then, during my practical time, I was being assigned to those classes which had been labeled as slow and not good academic... but I love teaching those classes... the students are creative and talented.... just not good in certain subjects....

Sort:  

Totally agree, at the end of the day, the system should be revamped to take into consideration talents that are non-academic. We are missing a lot of singers, artists, e-sport athletes (yes, them too), creators and entrepreneurs. If we are to remain competitive, something should be done soon or we risk losing all these great talents.

Parents need to be "educated" too... coz many parents are kiasu and force children to "study"

We actually tried, about 7 years ago. But the education was not enough or at least convincing enough. If only it succeeded, we may have less exams now.

well... because of the education system... even I am not that kiasu also have to have my girls study... =_=...
if I can afford, maybe I would have my girls going to international school... but then it's not happening....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45