Teacher, I'm stupid, am I? (Part 1)

in #life7 years ago

I was staying back one day to help a student with homework. The student was ten and half way through the student looked up and asked, "Teacher, I'm stupid, am I?"

I was taken aback and responded by asking, why would you say that? The student began to narrate how she was new to the school and had moved over from a previously different education system. Due to the new environment and her lack of familiarity to the subjects, her grades began to drop.

6147804597_1581070177_z.jpg
Image taken from https://flic.kr/p/ang77Z

Due to the poor grades, her parents started pointing out her flaws, blaming her lack of good grades to her not being 'intelligent' enough. I sat down beside the student and pointed out three things about her that I valued.

Working hard
As a teacher, I value effort. You can be smart due to a genetic fluke or upbringing, but not everyone has the same opportunity. Also, being good at something doesn't mean that you will be good at it forever. However, being hardworking is a habit and will continue to stay with your through school and through the rest of one's life.

14059656980_441be72406_z.jpg
Image taken from https://flic.kr/p/nqpqbY

I told her that she was the most hardworking person I've seen. Her relentless pursuit towards perfecting her work and she spending countless hours completing extra homework is commendable and should be emulated by the whole class.

She smiled.

I was not done yet. I told her the second thing of why I thought she was not stupid, but in fact a great student.

Questioning everything
I told her that I loved her endless questioning on a particular topic or lesson. Coming from an Asian culture, we are taught not to question in certain schools. Sit down, listen and do you work. However, because of her questioning I think she has learnt more in her new school and her new curriculum than others who have been there a long time.

4210436131_4404a69445_z.jpg
Image taken from https://flic.kr/p/7q4zYp

I told her I valued that and anyone who questions shall not be labelled as stupid. She replied by asking if I was annoyed with her questions, and I said I did not mind at all.

It is pretty lonely standing in front of a class of 40 students, or awkward. As such, I welcomed questions.

We are all unique
I continued by telling her that we all have very different sets of strengths and weaknesses. I told her that I for one am absolutely horrible with Maths but I was good with history and languages. Being bad at a particular subject is by no means a measure of your weakness but a measure of what you need to do to be better.


Image taken from https://imgur.com/gallery/B5TgS

I continued by joking that I would miss having her in class if she scored too well. This was because with those results, she would be in secondary school.

She looked at me confused and I made a mental note that I need better jokes.

5434947251_7cd7d364e2_z.jpg
Image taken from https://flic.kr/p/9hgwt6

We ended that day with her going home feeling a little happier than when she started the lesson. But it got me thinking of how we as a society measure success. It got me thinking of my life as an educator and how I was measured as a student growing up (more on that in part 2 of this post).

However, I'm thankful that I was given an opportunity to speak into the life of that girl. Hopefully I get to see her grow into a confident and intelligent individual. But even if I do not get that opportunity, I'd like to think that I've planted a seed in her heart that will one day grow into something awesome!

Sort:  

She probably still remembers you and the conversation too. Upvkted and followed.

She does, I'm still her teacher for now. It's rewarding to see her growth =)

She reminds me of a girl I went to nursing school with who was from Nepal. She was so intelligent yet had a difficult time expressing in the typical American fashion of education boundaries. I studied with her a lot and she was very very thankful which is nice, when someone appreciates the time your spending helping them.

You've done well! Thank you for your service.

After all the bad rep we get in the media, I reckon some positive things should be said about teaching.

I know of a friend who is the founder of chumbaka. You can go check them out. He also passionately teaches his students the courses. Making sure he gets to know the student on a deeper level, rather than just 'as a teacher'

Tech, robotics and coding, right? It's good, thanks for the suggestion

yes yes! Extra curricular courses.

Always help those in need! Upvoted and followed!

Thanks ! Appreciate it

It's sad though. I personally feel that some students just learn differently and sometimes academics may not be their strong suit. Unfortunately society in general equates high grades with intelligence.

That's true, and its quite sad because the tool that is used to assess intelligence is just not as reliable.

There should more avenues to gauge intelligence. It's sad to see people especially children feel like they've failed society and feel stupid when in fact their strengths lie elsewhere.

I have no doubt she'll remember and recall this conversation whenever she needs a boost. That you for being such an exceptional educator! Upvoted and followed 😁.

Thank you! Brings me satisfaction too seeing their lives change for the better

Awesome stuff!! I couldn't agree with you more :):) My son also struggles in school with certain criteria however what's important to us is that he always tries. He can however teach others a lot about animals, tsunamis etc. as well as humility :):) Being a good person is more important to us than being top of the class :)

That's right and and at the end of the day, good grades in school is not a guarantee for success in life. It helps, but there are other things that are more important.

Welcome to the platform! I love your positive attitude and dedication to going out of your way to make kids feel valued! I am part of the steemiteducation project. The world (and steemiteducation) needs more teachers like you! Can't wait to see more of your posts and thoughtful/helpful/positive/encouraging comments!

Thank you so much, happy to be part of steemit education. Will continue to write more of such posts and to help other teachers to continue to see the joys of teaching!

My eldest daughter asked me the same question a few months back... Well more likely she made a statement of her feeling she is stupid... She did pretty bad in her first semester final exam... (She is primary 2 this year)... And because of this, she was the last in her class.. I went through her papers and results with her... It's not that she dunno how to do... it's just because she is too careless... and was not well prepared... and because of being last in class, maybe her friends and (not sure whether some of her teachers) told her or implied to her that she is stupid... she came back to me and made that statement... I look at her and tell her... "You are very clever and smart, you didn't study much and prepare properly for your exam, and yet you can get this results, imagine if you really put effort and time into preparing yourself, you will get a great result"...
and when I was teaching back then, during my practical time, I was being assigned to those classes which had been labeled as slow and not good academic... but I love teaching those classes... the students are creative and talented.... just not good in certain subjects....

Totally agree, at the end of the day, the system should be revamped to take into consideration talents that are non-academic. We are missing a lot of singers, artists, e-sport athletes (yes, them too), creators and entrepreneurs. If we are to remain competitive, something should be done soon or we risk losing all these great talents.

Parents need to be "educated" too... coz many parents are kiasu and force children to "study"

We actually tried, about 7 years ago. But the education was not enough or at least convincing enough. If only it succeeded, we may have less exams now.

well... because of the education system... even I am not that kiasu also have to have my girls study... =_=...
if I can afford, maybe I would have my girls going to international school... but then it's not happening....

You are a good teacher. Some teacher wouldn't bother to answer her and tell her to hush.

I grew up with teachers like that, vowed that I would try my best not to be like that. Good to break the cycle =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47