You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Habits In Our Community: Using Daily Life to Build a More Supportive World for All

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have my own garden, and when I say garden its sounds small but its actually two pieces of land in total of 2.22 acres. As a vegan and someone who pursues freedom and independence I am vary proud of eating only my own plants and vegetables. Last season I had everything from greens, beans, veges to spices like oregano and basil. Its located by the lake, and we have our lake house that needs to be finished soon. Its a fantastic feeling when you eat your own labour in a sense, but also knowing what you eat. I'll probably do a post on it, with a video walk-through in the next couple of days.

Sort:  

2.22 acres is a sizable garden indeed! Food freedom is an incredible accomplishment. There is a much more intimate connection with food when you raise it yourself. How many people do you have in your space?

Wow that is a mighty achievement!
Congratulations and THANK YOU!

Thank you all! I didn't know that Steemit has such an enthusiasm toward gardening. In Serbia where I come from, due to the economic situation many people are getting back on the country side and practicing self-sustainability. Everyone was a land on the country side, but many still stay in the cities looking for a job, and leaving the rat race. I don't see the point of leaving in a large city where you work your ass off just to live like a mouse. I wrote an article about this topic a couple of days ago - not being able to escape from the obligations of everyday life. The answer to the question that I ask in the end is simple - self-sustainability. Check it out of you are interested:
https://steemit.com/anarchy/@drumsta/the-great-alienation
@gardenofeden I didn't understand you question fully, but our smaller garden is for our needs, we are a family of 4. And the other bigger one is for sale. This season my father planted flowers more then vegetables, because of the higher retail price and we use all that money to further invest in our property.

Ok I promise to do at least a walk around video in the next couple of days, and I'll post the link here.
Cheers!

Woohoo @drumsta!!! Way to better yourself and the world. Thank you!

you perfectly summed up my goals in life so thank you!

Hahaha---now that I've read your profile bio I see why you say that!!! AWESOME! You're doing it!

I'm really glad that you found the @gardenofeden. Life here is truly a blessing like no other I have ever known.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89