The Ithaca Beer Company (An outing with Mama Dreemit)

in #life7 years ago


If you ever make a trip to Upstate NY you will be missing out spectacularly if you do not include Ithaca in your travel plans. It's most well known as the home of Cornell University, but that's just the tip of the iceberg as far as what it has to offer. Gorges, scenic trails and waterfalls, dozens of independently own shops, natural food stores, trendy bars and restaurants...and one magnificent brewery.


ithacabrewery.jpeg

And in addition to their delicious beer selection, their tap room offers an equally delicious food selection. And the best part? They grow most of their own vegetables on site, raise their own free range chickens for meat and eggs, and everything else they serve comes from local, organic farms.


ithacabrewery2.jpeg


ithacabrewery3.jpeg
(Mama dreemit and Ethan giving me the 'hurry up' stare)



ithacabrewery4.jpeg




After this day, the only bottled beer of theirs I've yet to try is the Creeker.

ithacabrewery5.jpeg



ithacabrewery6.jpeg



ithacabrewery7.jpeg



ithacabrewery8.jpeg



ithacabrewery9.jpeg




Fortunately there are still a few beers on tap I've also yet to try, giving me something to look forward to. I was going to say 'reasons to return', but I hardly need to have untried beers for that, the food and the atmosphere will always bring me back.

ithacabrewery10.jpeg



ithacabrewery11.jpeg



ithacabrewery12.jpeg



Aren't my kids gorgeous?

ithacabrewery13.jpeg



ithacabrewery14.jpeg



ithacabrewery15.jpeg



ithacabrewery16.jpeg



Mouthwatering Cheddar Ale soup, which I fortunately took a picture of since I completely forgot to take any of the main course- Wood fired pizza done right, one with a homemade tomato basil red sauce and fresh mozzarella, the other with a white garlic sauce, mozzarella and ricotta.

ithacabrewery17.jpeg


And of course the brews- both mom and I went with the Super Stout on this occasion- what sold us on it was learning they use coffee beans from another one of our favorite Ithaca haunts- Gimme! Coffee, and the promise of a chocolaty after taste. A promise it most definitely delivered on, and with an ABV of 4.9% it also means you don't have to stop at one.

ithacabrewery18.jpeg



ithacabrewery19.jpeg



While mom waited for the check (her treat this time) I took the opportunity to take some pics of their setup outdoors.

ithacabrewery20.jpeg



ithacabrewery21.jpeg



ithacabrewery22.jpeg



ithacabrewery23.jpeg



ithacabrewery24.jpeg



ithacabrewery25.jpeg

Oh, if you do happen to make it to Ithaca and don't have a particular fondness for beer, they also make their own root beer which is amazing- and I am not generally a root beer fan.



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire


Have you filled your witness votes?
Vote for these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank and @dragosroua; https://steemit.com/~witnesses

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

Duuude, that beer bottle chandelier is badass!

Heyyyy, how are you, love?? So great to hear from you! Yes, the chandelier is definitely badass!!

Doing great, friend! Just working around life to find some time here on Steemit! haha Hope all is well with you and your lovely children! (and momma Dreemit, of course! hehe)

I definitely hear you on that one, life's been super busy, hectic actually. Getting our winter business going, hopefully it settles down some-well at least for me, hubby's got months of hectic ahead) so I can surf around more again!

Same here! We are right in the middle of getting something started, plus a new little one slows things a bit. haha


interesting article about beer. cheers!

Nice poster, thanks!

you r welcome!

A great story about beer - amazing work tip! 01

Hey thanks!

You are welcome

Oh I love a coffee stout!! This has put me right in the mood for a beefy hearty beer at the weekend. One with big leathery chewy balls!!

Great day out!!

Leathery chewy balls, mm, mm, that just sounds delicious!!

Rack em up in liquid form and guzzle city!! :0D

I'm not sure I'll ever get the chance to visit Ithaca and I'm not really a big drinker but it looks like a lovely place to enjoy a nice wee smoke. :)

Mama Dreemit looks like she enjoyed herself. :)

Ithaca in general is a lovely place to enjoy a nice wee smoke, and I have, many times haha! If you ever get a chance to get to the states, you have a free place to stay and a tour guide for NY so keep that in mind love!

She definitely did :)

It would be great to visit the U.S of A and an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family @dreemit. Though, in truth, I am pretty introverted and happy to be so, your family look like the down to earth kind of folk that I would enjoy being around and from the little I know and have seen, I have no doubt that I would feel more comfortable with you and your family than most others I have met in my time. You look like the kind of family we should all be striving to be. :)

Glad to see that you and the family are well and enjoying life. :) You need to let me know the name of your brothers account if he did end up joining so I can follow him. :)

Looks like a lovely place to just hang out for a couple of hours. I love the beer bottle chandelier!

It is a lovely place to hang out :) I know, I thought that was really cool too.

Great of you and Mama Dreemit to let the kids tag along. Breweries there looks so much fun. Always a great atmosphere every time. I really wish places like that existed here as well.

Do you know what I wish? I wish you and your lady love would come to the states for your honeymoon--then after a few days of, er, mooning? lol, you could stay with us and we could give you the whole NY experience, from the Hamptons on Long Island (near where my cousins live), a train ride into the Big Apple, then of course lots and lots of awesome all around where I live. Mama dreemit would love you two :)

Haha! You know, it's being discussed! The US is a possible destination mainly because the fiancee's US visa is expiring and she wants to use it. Also, her cousin works as a doctor in New York, so that makes it even better in terms of the destination. Two huge problems though: I don't have a Visa and my chances are pretty slim because I have no employment, and the financial coffers are really low haha!

I didn't bring it up before because I don't want hopes to soar but yeah, it has been discussed before haha! I wanted to surprise you if and when it would be reality. I'm keeping my fingers crossed though!!

Looks like a great place to visit. Pity I'm in the wrong country, but who knows what the future holds? Loved the photos, and reading through your descriptions of food and tasty beverages.

Absolutely, steem is going to rise and we'll all be able to afford trips to other countries ;) Plus, my friends on steemit would have a free place to stay and a tour guide for NY ;)

nice captions and nice blog friend @dreemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41