Part Two: Well Earned Trip to Brewery after Manual Labor; and a Beautiful Tribute to Chris Cornell

in #life7 years ago


If you missed my post from this morning, the start of this day was of a great deal of work to get my parents driveway back in order after a flash flood washed away layers of stone and gravel.

To view pictures of the ordeal and see everyone hard at work- click on this

It was an absolutely gorgeous day, and once the shovels and rakes were put away the eldest and younger among us were famished, while my brother, his wife, myself and my hubby had worked up a great thirst.

In order to bring satisfaction to the entire group we settled on ordering Wood-fired pizza from the Scalehouse Brewery, a place mom and I have frequented on a few occasions now. But before the call was made the four of us who were thirsty decided to first check out a new brewery just down the road from our destination called:


drbrewery.jpeg
A barn and two-story house recently converted into a brewery, bar and restaurant.

My bro and his lovely wife are first time parents with a seven month old baby girl, so having Grandma watch the bundle of joy while they grabbed a couple of hours of freedom and beer seemed a fair trade for their morning efforts with shovels and rakes.


We really had no idea what to expect from this place,

drbrewery1.jpeg



which made the reality of it all the more charming.

drbrewery2.jpeg

Yup, those are dogs...


drbrewery3.jpeg



drbrewery4.jpeg

...and that is a cat.



drbrewery5.jpeg



drbrewery6.jpeg



The coal black beer in front of Mary is their Milk Stout, while my brother and husband decided to go hoppy with the Falcon Punch IPA.

drbrewery7.jpeg



I, however, could not make up my mind. Which is what flights are so excellent for.

drbrewery8.jpeg

From left to right we have The Falcon Punch IPA, the Blonde Moment, The Millenial Falcon (Double IPA), and the Milk Stout.

We decided to take our selections to the backyard,


drbrewery10.jpeg

which was a bit crowded so we picked a spot in the grass.


drbrewery9.jpeg



It turns out a house converted into a bar is a lot like what you'd think.

drbrewery11.jpeg

With picnic tables and plenty of lawn, dogs and children, it was a bit like crashing someone's family gathering.



drbrewery15.jpeg



About twenty minutes later a group of people took their leave and we were able to snag a table.

drbrewery12.jpeg

As for my flight- the blonde moment was my favorite, it was the first time I'd tasted hints of coffee in a light ale and for me it was delightful. I also enjoyed the milk stout, though I tend to prefer dark beers in colder weather. As for the IPA's...I went through a period where I was drinking quite a lot of them and I overdid it. Now I'm a little tired of the hoppy, flowery, and often bitter taste, so I handed them off to those who would appreciate it, and went to get myself a full glass of the blonde.



drbrewery13.jpeg

I love my bro :)



A phone call from my daughter pulled us out of our lovely picnic like moment.

"Pizza!" I believe she shouted in my ear, followed by "Hungry!"

drbrewery14.jpeg



drbrewery16.jpeg
We took this sign to heart and did not leave the fantastic little homey brewery empty handed. A crowler for each of us...


...and one for Mama Dreemit :)

drbrewery18.jpeg



drbrewery20.jpeg

The London Gentleman is an ESB, which stands for Extra Special Bitter. I remember the first time I'd heard of this, my nose had automatically wrinkled. But as it turns out it is an English style beer that is much like the American pale ale, and often not bitter at all.

Such was the case with this one, was quite a tasty beer that I would definitely have again.

After pizza was eaten and while beer was still being consumed, we did what we always do toward the end of a family gathering...we clamored for my brother to get out his guitar.

Now, a few of you have seen this video and I know I said I wasn't going to post it. But honestly I feel this particular blog would not be complete without it.

My brother is a beautiful vocalist and a gifted guitarist, but what really makes him shine is his lyrical brilliance. In this case his words were meant as a tribute to the late Chris Cornell, and I know if Chris could hear it he would be humbled.

I should also mention that because we were all buzzing pretty good, not least of all my brother, he wasn't entirely keen on being videoed. He does not feel this is anything close to his best performance...

Okay it's been mentioned, now I'll say that for me it only adds to his magnificence, that even in what he considers his worst form he kicks utter arse. Also, the family all around, the giggly wife and happy baby in the forefront, this all adds something quite special.

I hope you enjoyed 'spending the day with me and mine'!



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Even when she's curling her lip at you, your niece is exceptionally cute :-)

And Ed is, as always, so enjoyable to listen to. Have you talked him into joining yet?

Oh! Yes, he signed up and is now waiting for come kind of confirmation, I forget how it was worded, nothing we had to go through when we joined.

Actually, a friend of mine on here circumvented that for him and made an account the way people do when they buy one for anonymity. Alas my brother is feeling uncomfortable about it. So it looks like it will be available as an alternate account for us someday, who knows, we might use it. I do feel bad that the friend went through the trouble...nothing I can do about it though.

Sorry your parents had to go through that but so nice that you all pulled together to help them fix it and got to have some nice bonding time. :D

You tell your brother that he did a lovely job singing and his playing is wonderful. I hope that someday in the not-too-distant future I can play my new ukulele with that much skill. :D

Your niece has the sweetest face and those eyes...your brother better have a shotgun because the boys are going to be coming for her. I love how she's trying to tap in tune to the music like her mommy. :D So adorable. :D

Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful post and lovely family time with us all. :D You made me smile. :D
Have an awesome day! :D

I will definitely tell him :) The ukulele is a cool instrument, a good friend of ours plays his well and I love it when he and my brother play together.

I know she does, and haha, he's got some time yet. I on the other hand do not since my daughter is turning seventeen...yikes.

I'm glad I made you smile, ditto to your awesome :)

This is what I want to read many times))) Thanks for the story))) I follow you to not miss your interesting stories)))

Aw, thank you very much, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

very nice post! :)

this is my 1st day on steemit

Thank you @razat and welcome to a truly awesome place! Awhile back I made a post containing links to articles by all different bloggers that are really useful for new people, so if you get some time, check out the links under the pics in this:
https://steemit.com/photography/@dreemit/a-nature-photography-post-with-links-to-steemit-guides-loving-tips-new-features-and-a-rant-by-an-angry-dolph-whale

Interesting, now I'm thinking what happens if you get lucky flirting with the bartender? Do they just take you upstairs to their room? :P

And I'm wondering if you're checking out this particular bartender, lol!

I do have a thing for beautiful women. I tend to be more drawn to the ones that can swim in the deep end.

Despite the disastrous morning it seems like everything is back to normal in the @dreemt household. I wish that is how everyone could work in life. In times of despair and distress, are still able to jump right back on to their feet and be optimistic.

It is always great to see your brother strumming away at the guitar with his blissful charming voice almost serenading everyone haha

Great to see everyone was having so much fun and you were able to have a well earned beer

Exceptional Photographs @dreemit :)

Laughter and cold beer seems to be my family's general response to any sort of crisis :)

Getting a little behind in post reading and curating, hopefully will be catching up tonight, I look forward to reading what I've missed from you :)

Another lovely summery post, honey! So nice!
Funny somehow that I animated people to have pizza an beer in my Friday's post, haha! Great minds think alike, hihi

Btw that view from the balcony above looks stunning, the cat absoultely knows where to stay.
What an amazing place! Can I get a "Blonde Moment" please? Haha!

Seeing your brother again (congratulations on the little one!): did he finally make it to steemit? Have you managed to open the account?

Wishing you a wonderful weekend sweetheart, but I see that you're already having it!!! 😍
Big hugsss

Hi doll! Yes, great minds definitely think alike :) He has decided to wait until it's approved, but he's ready to put up his introduction as soon as it he gets the confirmation :)

Hectic weekend, lol, we had birthdays to celebrate too! I have a couple of your articles bookmarked, something to look forward to!

Can't wait to read that introduction :-)

"Hectic" in that context means: fulfilled - right? Hehe
I will have one of these weekens, too. Will jump over to another island tomorrow and see my best friend an her family again, as well as my mom and her friends and the dog and... yeah! I love these kind of family time, it's always so heart-warming.

Big hugs sweetie and we keep in touch!

Such a busy day and very enjoyable one too :)

@dreemit

We missed the story from you. This is a convincing story. How do I know the life of a truly great man from our country.

The shop was too crowded, so not enough. Someone should drink while standing, or sit on a beautiful grass. But cool ..
Thank you for sharing your story

Thank you @peradabandunia, I'm glad you liked it :)

This post has received a 6.67 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @buildawhale.

Hi there, would you tell me who is running this account? I've recently become very skeptical about services such as these in terms of whether they are hurting the future of steemit.

If someone I know is in charge of this account I'd really appreciate it if you clue me in :)

I am my own master.

Is that the same thing as saying this is your only account? ;)

Are you feeling well today?

Can you think of a way to weaponize blockchain technology?

Are you conversing with a bot? Lol. Or is that a person signed in on the bot account?

I am curious now, will have to perform a test of sorts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50