How often do you ask yourself what is your purpose in life?

in #life7 years ago

Hello again Steemit Family!


Me @dontstopmenow in Turoa - Mt Ruapehu, New Zealand. PH by @elalec with my Moto G3.

Have you ever wondered what is your mission in this life? Why did you come to the world? I do it often enough. It may be to do something transcendent, leave a mark, or simply a life of personal growth and development. Or it can be both. I have also noticed how the way the capitalist system is designed, often makes it difficult to find your vocation or get to do what you thought was your vocation. We always have obligations, bills to pay, so we have to work, and often on what we get (or what there is) instead of what we would really like to do.

The rent of the place where you live, plus the services: water, electricity, gas, telephone, wifi, plus food and sometimes some clothes. Also entertainment, a few beers with your mates or out eating out with the girl you like. All the time we are paying for things or services. If you have a car you pay for gas, and if you do not .. you pay for public transport (yuk!). If you travel en route you pay toll, and if you are in town you pay for parking. If you park badly ... you pay a fine. And if you do not pay on time ... with surcharge -.-

For all this is that struggling is quite common. I do not say it happens to everyone, but in the working class is nothing unusual. We have to pay a lot of things. The wages are unfair, and you still get a lot deducted in taxes (varies by country). And suddenly, Tom, who as a child wanted to be a F1 driver... sees himself sitting on a bus, going to work as a manager in a supermarket. Is he having a good life? Yes, he is pretty comfy. And next year he will be able to buy a car. But ... didn´t he like cars? I mean to work around them? Yes but little by little that fire extinguishes, you bend your head, you stop dreaming and playing Peter Pan and you go to the safe bet. Because needs compel you.


PH by me with my Moto G3 in Queenstown, New Zealand.

What if there was a way to beat the system? Will there be one? If someone has the answer, comment it below or write me to Steemit chat 😊.

I believe there has to be a way to be able to do more or less what one likes. Obviously there are times that a sacrifice is made, to do something that you don´t like but because at that moment it helps you and you do it to reach something. What I do believe is that you do not have to fall asleep in that sacrifice and postpone personal goals forever.

So do not lose hope. To me as a short term goal, I would like to work in something close to the mountains, around them. I love life around a mountain, there is something magical in them. If I were in a small village with a nice mountain, I would, like Carlitos, work in a supermarket. Or I could work at the ski fields on a kitchen, or drive minivans to take people to Ski. The possibilities are endless. And the world goes far beyond our comfort zone.


PH by me near Aguas Calientes, Perú. (Sony Alpha 5 18-55)


PH by me with a Sony Alpha 5 (35mm) in Fox Glacier, New Zealand.

Thanks a lot for reading and for the usual support! Have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Dude, story of my life. I think about this from time to time ... but then always remind myself that I'm never in full control of my own life. Yes, I can take some steps that "I think" will work and make action on it ... but at the end of day, trusting that the universe has my best interests is how I think positively.

Everyone has to think of creative ways to get through life and figure out the set of values that are most important to oneself. For me, it's time and freedom. So yes, money does help in a way, but I would value having free time than to be slaving away at desk job. Luckily in the US, I'm able to take advantage of credit card airline points and accumulate many to be able to travel around the world extensively without paying too much. .. but that comes with hacking the system.

I think of maneuvering around life like a chess board game ... there's ways around it, just have to figure out the rules and then bend them :)

Hey bro! I am glad that you found a way around it. Tricking the system must feel really good! :)

I like your chess analogy, its all about strategy and exploiting the system weaknesses.

Appreciate your comment man, I really do!

Cheers!

Stunning photos.Upvoted.
U can do same.

?i like it

We are here to steem together and make the best of it.

This post has received a 18.17 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @dontstopmenow. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Answer; not often enough.

Amazing! One day I would like do this :)

Like ... everyday :-/
And believe me, its hard no to know what's your purpose in life...
So, as you, I try to figure out short goal. And stick to it. But sometimes I got sad because it's not quick enough...

I know the feeling.... the key is to keep our chins up and fight for our dreams!

Thanks for reading and commenting @roxane !!

Merci

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.55
ETH 2676.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91