Remembering How to Read: A Few Tips

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Reading.jpg

Are you forgetting yet? Last week, the Toronto Globe and Mail published an opinion piece by author Michael Harris. The title tells the story: “I Have Forgotten How to Read”. After growing up reading good books and appreciating literary arts, he thought he could unplug from technology and reconnect with a book. Recently, he turned off his phone and sat down to read a book with the goal of finishing just one chapter. But he couldn’t do it and soon turned on a video instead.

I recommend reading Harris’ article (source link below) because it explains how we got here. Harris does a great job synthesizing the research and crystallizing wisdom from various sources. All of it paints an unmistakable picture of our modern world that is not too surprising for anyone who has been paying attention (you have, haven’t you?).

With constant connectivity, our attention spans have shortened and entertainment has evolved to fit. We need shorter cuts, faster hooks, and nonstop action. We expect to be entertained. We resent anything that postpones our fun. There is no question that modern life is rewiring our brains with different expectations.

“The mind is plastic,” Harris concluded, “and I have changed.”

Brain.jpg

Playlists vs. Hemingway

Let me turn now to my response. First, is it really such a bad thing that few people read Joyce or Tolstoy? We’re told in school that the great books are great books, so we believe that these are the icons of our culture. It’s true. For those who do spend the time and energy it takes to read and appreciate classic literature (not just in school but on your own when it means something more to you), they are works of absolute genius. Many great books have more truth in them about the human condition than you can learn in years’ worth of TV shows.

But high culture has always been for elites. When most people finish secondary school, they flee from those classic works that have been imposed upon them by the educational system. As Michael Harris notes in his article, until the 19th century, education itself was for elites only. Even when a larger set of the population is forced to read Hemingway in school, most don’t choose to do so on their own time.

Phone.jpg

If people are retreating to their playlists rather than to Hemingway, it may not represent as big of a loss as some would have us believe. Most people do not spend their downtime reading classic literature. When you see some new dresses at an haute couture fashion show, are those dresses that normal women wear?

No. They are trendsetters, developed by the most creative people in fashion. They help shape our culture in some way. And yet most people don’t wear these icons. Lots of writers have copied Hemingway also, and his works remain extremely influential in the literary world, but that doesn’t mean normal people ever spent much time reading them.

We’re adapting to new realities that are dominated by technology. That’s a big part of life now. And evolving to fit it isn’t all bad, though some of the effects are harmful.

Second, I think what we’re really losing is patience and the ability for deep thought. That’s the part that bothers me. With all of the competing entertainment and nonstop connectivity, we don’t have the time to sit back and think. Our minds need some downtime to recharge, but whereas famous inventors of the past have had bright ideas while sitting on the toilet, now people are using their iPhones while using the bathroom.

Losing that downtime has a tremendous impact on our decision-making. It’s especially worrisome when we accept less and make choices based upon surface-level information just because we lack the patience for deeper understanding. We’re trading the ability to think critically and instead criticizing anything that delays our next screen fix.

So overall, I think the picture is not all bad, but I want to save my brain from complete ruin. Balance is important. How about trying to find a middle ground and re-connecting at some level with the parts of our brains that are being lost?

Break.jpg

Some Tips to Find a Middle Ground

Many people are concerned with physical fitness and health, so that should extend to keeping your brain healthy also. While I’m no expert in that respect, I have tried hard in the last few years to maintain my sanity. Even if I spend most of my day looking at a screen, I have tried hard to keep my brain from being wired to it.

In doing so, I’ve collected a few tips to share. I hope you’ll find some of them useful also.

1.) Take breaks

Research has shown that we’re much more productive and creative when we take breaks. Looking at a screen for long periods definitely is not good for your eyes; look away and focus on something in the distance to re-train your eyes. Have a snack, read a magazine, meditate, do some push-ups. Your connected life will still be there in a few minutes.

2.) Get a little exercise (while not looking at your phone or any screen)

My dog forces me to go outside a few times a day and go for walks. I do not look at my phone. Instead, I look at the trees, what’s happening in my neighborhood, and try to see the world from my dog’s perspective. Whatever modest amount of exercise you can fit into your life, from climbing a staircase to climbing on an exercise machine (even for just a few minutes), exercise is good for the brain.

Nature.jpg

3.) Try reading a magazine or an e-book to replace one of the games you play or the shows you watch

One magazine article does not take that much time to read. E-books are books with a screen, so they may provide some comfort level there.

4.) Try reading poetry

It doesn’t take long to read a poem. Yet it can have as much meaning as a full-length book. Look at some different poets’ works or buy an anthology of poetry. Try to read a new poem each time you take a break. Either you’ll connect with it or you won’t. If you do, it might be a gateway drug to more reading.

Poem.png

5.) Find something snappy to read

We’ve become accustomed to fast hooks, so give your mind what it wants. Not long ago, I decided that I wanted to read the works of Homer (as a free-thinking adult, not as a high school kid), but they intimidated me.

Since I couldn’t simply sit down and read the Iliad, I found some historical novels set in that time and place. The stories hooked me and drew me in, teaching me something of the history and culture in the process. When I was done with the snappy novels, I picked up the actual Iliad and found it fascinating.

If one of your favorite movies was made from a book, go grab the book and try reading it. I like to read the book first, but some people really enjoy reading the book after seeing the movie. That may provide you with a subject you enjoy reading about, and from there, perhaps you can follow that author or look for other similar works.

Hopefully, these tips will help you if you’re reaching that point where you’ve forgotten how to read. Or consider performing a deeper cleansing intervention by unplugging for a whole day and going on a long hike or something. Another option is to read the posts on Steemit before voting for them. I know you’re reading this one all the way to the end. How do I know? Because if you did read it all, then I hope you’ll reply with a comment telling me which tip you liked best. Or (even better) tell us in a comment what tips you have for occasionally unplugging and reconnecting!

ReadingBeach.jpg

Michael Harris' Globe and Mail article: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/opinion/i-have-forgotten-how-toread/article37921379/

Images are public domain.

Sort:  

I confess I'm one of the people you describe as having modified her brain into that search for fast and easy comfort. Even though I like to think and read, my brain refuses to do it unless I force it to. I've used Steemit a lot for this. I for one write poems, so I also travel the poetry tag and read poems and comment on them. Sometimes, I use the poems on Steemit to inspire myself to write my own lol. So I post them as comments and then post them as full posts. It feels like cheating sometimes but it works lol.

Right now I'm reading my first e-book in some months. I'm very proud. Steemit helped me achieve this. I don't think I could have achieved it on my own. I even go to the gym and exercise, I spend time away from the screen, but I was accustomed to not thinking, to talking to people, to finding quick satisfaction in my activities. Drawing a quick picture, writing a quick story.

After I finish this light e-book, I want to go for some classics. I hope my mind will let me. :)

What a great story! I'm so happy to hear you're back to reading and that Steemit helped you get there. Yes, please keep trying some other books too!

Make baby steps and that is great and I love ebooks.

okumak çok güzel

This is am amazing read! I really admire your desire to try and maintain a balance between the technological world and trying to remain grounded. I myself have found it hard to stay in control as there are so many distractions and attractions. I love watching movies, music videos and scrolling through social media. I also have a very short attention span and when it comes to actually reading a book its a challenge. I think that its easier for me to read when the book has pictures in them. I will follow the tips that you gave and see if I can improve. Thank you very much for this.

Great post .. good
The important thing is that one does not stop learning from any source
Thanks for sharing this with us

Books are the first weapon to fight against illiteracy. Famous saying is that
"a book is a dream which you hold in your hands".

wow thanks for sharing this534347_0e653.gif

Oh yes, this problem of overload and fatigue eternally haunts us all and all your advice is relevant and in demand! I, with your permission, will add a few methods for relaxation. 1. Draw. Art inspires and soothes. Drawing trains the brain without causing it to strain, but rather, allowing you to relax. Talents are not required, paint everything that comes to your mind - landscapes, animals or funny little men. 2. Take a walk in the park. Fresh air and leaf noise favorably influence the human body as a whole and the brain in particular. 20-30 minutes of walking stimulate the production of brain cells. 3. Listen to your favorite music. The choice of songs depends on your preferences, it can be either jazz, classical or folk songs. The main thing is that you can relax and immerse yourself in a melody. I hope we all need this! Thank you @donkeypong

Those are excellent additions. Thanks for the tips!

I really agree we are loosing patience, this is also seen here on steemit. The fact that people barely want to read lengthy posts and just get upvoted or upvote makes them just go straight to rape the upvote button, instead of really getting the message the blogger is passing. Im guilty as well most times. For me i like reading only after seeing the movie

We're all guilty at times. And I think you're right that patience is a key ingredient.

Let me also add that one of the few ways to read and remember what was read is to prepare to read. I think it's a little bit disorganized to just kickstart reading without preparing yourself to receive what you intend to read. Many times when I am going to read something, I start off by telling myself how very important this information I'm about acquiring is important. You will have to convince your mind about this or else your mind will be very hostile to the new information you try to feed it with.

Also, looking forward to reading helps pretty very much. This is based on the fact that whatever you enjoy doing, you will have a strong grasp of it in your mind. And this can only happen when you shed off that insane belief that reading is a boring affair.

And I quite agree with you. Much has changed about the approach we use with regards to reading. Technology has beaten us in our own game. I long for the good old days again.

That's an excellent tip. Thank you.

wow thanks for sharing this534347_0e653.gif

Thanks for bringing Michael's column to our attention. The column references McLuhan's thoughts about technology numbing our awareness... and Michael suggests that it numbs our patience as well.

It's interesting because I've often said that I do my best thinking in the shower. I've never really given much thought why... but I'm now realizing it's because that's one of the few places where I'm not constantly interrupted by technology.

There are some very well chosen quotes in that article. I wanted to bring in a couple of them, but did not simply want to re-hash his whole article in my post. :) A lot of people have said that bath or shower time brings out the most creative thoughts. I'm not sure if it's always been that way or more so since technology took over so much of our lives.

Technology numbs when used wrongly. It is like a gun when used wrongly.

As both a teacher and a father this is an issue that is close to my heart. I see this issues with adults all the time where their inability to unplug has almost become dibilitating. This is such a new phenomenon and the most concerning thing is that it is only the beginning. If you think the adults plugged in and “forgetting” how to read is an issue then wait until our next generations come along.

I see it in the children I teach every single day and year to year. I hear it in conversations with parents during teacher conferences all the time. Kids today are more plugged in than ever before. Think about it, if adults today are excessively plugged in then of course these are traits that are going to picked up and learned by their children. Kids today have access to more digital and online content than ever before and they attached big time. Forget about people forgetting how to read, these kids are growing up and becoming young adults who have only read when forced through school, and that’s if they even did that. They may be deciding words but they are not reading in the way that we did growing up. The preoccupation with being online supersedes any possible desire to read.

I worry about this with my students and try to incorporate as much fun and exciting reading as possible in an attempt to build some joy of reading but often it feels like a losing battle. A battle I take home wig my own kids who if allowed would be plugged in all the time.

The ideas presented here are great and it needs to be something that adults and parents take he initiative to change. If adults can change then they can set a new standard for their children.
Great post @donkeypong and thanks for sharing.

Excellent comment and I'm glad you're bringing them up the right way. As a father, I try also. It takes a family, a community, a village, and certainly a good teacher.

Thanks!!! It does take a community for sure. If we are afraid of the lost reading skills just think for a moment about the development of their writing skills and the ability to communicate. Scary possibilities. So important to keep the dialogue going with posts like this so we can try to foster some change. It won’t be easy but together we can get there.

I think it's really sad. It became rare to walk on the street and see people looking at other things beside their phones.
All people care about these days is to get the best phone instead of art or read good books.
Actually, a few months ago I decided not to use my phone for a day. I took my camera, my dog, a book and a blanket and I just found a good spot at the beach to stay a d watch the sunset. It felt odd to go outside and see everyone stuck in this little thing, which means the whole world to them.
I find it very sad that I can bearly talk to people about books, too.
Thanks for your post anyway, I sure might share it with some of my friends.

Walking on then street, eating meals, using the bathroom...it's everywhere. I understand being connected, but we need to take some breaks also and enjoy the world around us!

Couldn't agree more.

Yeah, the phone addiction is psychologically like a black hole.

This post fixed me. Balance is actually needed in everything. Extremes doesn't help. It drains and take its toll. Thank you for this sir. I am glad to have just joined and i keep learning about life, people and even situations.

If this post fixed you, then that was some easy therapy! Welcome to Steem and I hope you enjoy the site.

this site is very enjoyable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85