Gentrification is on a mass scale in London

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians

I suffer to see people suffering. Living in big cities can be very stressful and especially for sensitive people.

Having been living in London for almost three decades and having seen so much violence and social injustice, I start to feel a bit overwhelmed.

Something that is upsetting me more lately is homelessness and especially in rich boroughs of London.

Many people sleep rough on the streets of London every year and the reasons are many.

Homelessness could start when something bad happens to you and you don't have anyone who can help you.

This could happen to anyone and not only to people with alcohol or drug addiction.

Relationship breakdown and domestic abuse are other reasons that could lead to homelessness.

One story that really saddened me lately was the one of a Portuguese man, former model, a lover of singing and yoga, found dead in Westminster tube station, just a few steps from the underground entrance to the Houses of Parliament on February 15.

I don't want to go into details about this story.

Why I chose the title, "Gentrification is on a mass scale in London".

Probably you don't see the connection between gentrification and homelessness but I see it.

Now when more than ever rich people and their kids are dropping in the capital like bombs the gentrification effect is happening at full speed.

Everything becomes more expensive, what matters to the system is to get more money as possible and that means more rich people in the capital.

I see very much there the connection between homelessness and gentrification. I know that I'm not analysing many other factors but I do not want to do that here.

Now I could say even why Brexit is happening but I'm not going to touch that point.

I just don't trust any system and I wish I could live in the middle of nowhere.

Said this, guys don't worry about me I'm going to play my guitar right now.

I wish I could help more people who are suffering but I pray for them.

Have a good night's sleep friends but I normally don't sleep.

Please send me a message when you write posts of this kind and I will read them.

Hopefully I did not upset anyone with this post.

Looking for a picture I found a very interesting article, http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/in-defence-of-gentrification/18159#.WrBLlejFLIU
gentrify_this.jpg

Sort:  

I think I would also have trouble sleeping at night too. I'll have to loom up what gentrification means again. Sounds like something that gets argued about, creating more division, rather than people do anything helpful.

Yes, you are completely right. Thank you for reading!
All the Best!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.86% upvote!
I was summoned by donatello. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Interesting observation. It's all connected, isn't it? But, what is the solution? I'm afraid that only something catastrophic can wake us up and start taking more care of each other and the environment.

Thank you for passing by and leaving a comment!
I agree, people need to take more care of each other, be less greedy and stop driving cars when they don't need to, especially in London.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67