My Knives - #03 Nakiri

in #life7 years ago

This one is just out of the oven.
She's leaving for a new home today.

Steel - 1095 differential heat treatment with hamon (acid etched)
Handle - ergonomic D-type in two-tone walnut (by a worm) with G10 and carbon fibre spacers.

Out of the quench

IMG_20171227_172251.jpg

Rough grind at 60 girt and a quick dip in acid

IMG_20171228_174404_859.jpg

Dirti 220 grit grind

IMG_20180102_172318_017.jpg

Hand-sanding to 800

IMG_20180110_165240_707.jpg

Cutting test before the final etch

Final etch

Handle rough and final

IMG-2dd0bbda3ad70c75dcdfbfd8c3520ddd-V.jpgIMG_20180113_150009.jpg

And almost done

I did put on the maker's mark after this video but managed to break my phone before the pics were sync to the cloud. I'll take a few new ones and edit the post when I get home.

As always, if you have any questions just drop a comment below.

Thank you and see you soon.

Sort:  

Great work bro. Thats look cool in real. I like this post. You are really a master in making knives. It looks professional work. Keep posting stuff like this. Cheers

Thanks, much appreciate it. Keep tuned, I'll be posting more content soon.

Making knives is a rare skill in the western world where more and more we have gotten further away from making things with our own hands.

I took a break from doing anything but seating in front of a screen, for I don't know, 20 years. Now am back and couldn't be happier.

Wow, do I ever relate to that! And I discovered that sitting causes its own problems.

Your knife is a true master piece! I love the connection of that beautiful wood and the sharp cold metal.

Thank you - I do prefer wood over composite materials. Somehow it feels warmer to me.

awesome job man. in the first pics almost looks like a san mai with the huge difference in colour xD ahah
cool stuff :D

Thanks, it was a brutal quench in brine. The curve in the spine is from quenching - it was strait as an arrow before. So thats the reason for such a strong difference in colour

This post has received a 4.81% upvote from thanks to: @docsmith.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Thank you docsmith for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 7.00% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post has received a 9.56 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @docsmith.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19