The Healing Power of Laughter

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Laughter is one of the best ways to heal yourself. It brings joy, releases stress, and heals us when we are the most broken. Studies state that those who are joyful and laugh often, can live as long as 10+ yrs longer than people who let stress eat them alive, are angry, and rarely laugh.

In 2003 after my 8th open heart surgery, one of the doctors stopped by my room with a joke book in hand. They were truly corny jokes, but we laughed for over an hour. He was telling me about a study that the Mayo Clinic was doing at that time on the healing power of laughter and what that can do for those who are ill, most especially for people who suffer from chronic disorders. It made me really re-evaluate my own life and to remember to laugh at the small things and enjoy the moments that I am given. It's definitely something that we should reflect on.

There are many benefits to laughter, below are a few:

Physical Health Benefits: Boosts Immunity, Lowers Stress Levels, Decrease Pain, Relaxes Your Muscles, Helps Prevent Disease

Mental Health Benefits: It adds joy to your life, Eases Anxiety & Fear, Relieves Stress, Improves Mood, Enhances Resilience

Social Benefits: Strengthens Relationships, Attracts People to Us, Enhances Teamwork, Promotes Bonding

I am sure some of you have probably seen this video, it's made a few rounds on facebook. It's of a person on a subway car who starts to laugh and then every begins to laugh. Laughter is infectious.. it's truly amazing. When I am out in public and I see someone start to laugh or giggle.. it instantly makes me smile, giggle, and then laugh. It's amazing!

So Laugh a Little More.. and Let Laughter Heal Your Life!

Sort:  

A fact of life that some people need to explore more. Bernie Siegel wrote about this phenomenon in his books.

It's amazing! I love to laugh! HAHA!

I just saw this on facebook and about cracked a rib.. trying to hold back the giggles:

That was awesome ! Thanks for the laugh.

You are more than welcome! =D HEHE!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback bot. Please upvote if you like the bot and want to support its development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85