The Wickedness of Working Less

in #life7 years ago (edited)

14608890_10154677410818711_7991549351772533885_o.jpg

Too much free time means inviting wickedness to your life, so you ought to work! It seems that too much thinking can also be bad. I felt this many times as I look back at my yuppie years. Back in the day, I still had no plans to systematically overthrow the government and annoy the hell out of people with my healthy rants. There was neither time for leisure nor free-thinking. Can you do anything about this when working all your life has been shoved down your throat? The big screen is part of it, go figure. I seriously think that working for 4 hours a day would suffice. But why do you care about those who don't really care about your physical and mental health? You give your whole life to make others richer and powerful. You give your life to them so others can suffer. The whole dog eat dog system prevails. But deep down, you already know that there's more to life than paying the bills, you know that you live to live. But it is just scary to get out... it feels just not right. It is like being lost out there. I know the feeling so well.

Unfortunately, the standard of living has been multiplied which means people need to work until death. If you overcome this whole productivity guilt and decide to work less, it means that you won't be able to sleep in your beautiful house at the end of the day. It seems that it is a crime to be poor these days.

I tried to compare the benefits of working more to working less. Living in the city means I have to work more. Should I decide to live there again, I would have no choice but to work in those corporations. But it also means that after a couple of years - I would get burned out, dissatisfied and unhappy again. The effects of working more just made me quit my job to push for personal change. It is not something one can do overnight. You really have to be determined to make a change in your life. When you have nothing left to do anymore but to live.

Working less can be hard but I don't think there's anything it does not solve. But to make it happen, I first need to lower my standard of living. As long as I'm able to pull it off, I can see the greater benefits to my well-being. Compared to when I was working full-time, I was so stressed out and always wanting to travel and escape. Now there's more inner peace and satisfaction. More time for passion, leisure, and people. Basically, I see that the point is to create a life that I don't need to escape from anymore. But it is not easy to look like a weirdo and not live like the rest.

Deciding to live in a rural area where the cost of living is low and there are simple pleasures in life can be really challenging. I'm sure you've read about my own challenges. In other countries, there's always this divide between the city people and rural folks. I try my best not to portray that typical whiny, fast and impatient city girl - but yeah I know I can be sometimes. Don't get me wrong, ruralites are nice, laidback but can be quite judgmental. I have to consider these things if I am to adapt to this whole new lifestyle I created.

Those are just the little things but the benefits of working less are far better than I was working full time for someone else. Sure, I have more money back then, I could afford to buy clothes, gadgets and more stuff. I could afford a luxurious 2-week holiday a year. But later on, I realized that I don't get satisfaction with material things and short holidays. Wealth should be used for leisure and pleasure but that's not the case these days. Unless you are very rich that you can afford a yacht and you don't need to work anymore. Even the elites have their own challenges, it is not also easy being too rich. They are few and their social circle is small, these people don't have any connection to the majority anymore. And that can be sad. The good old - anything in excess can be bad still rules the universe.

You have to weigh the pros and cons, what is really more fulfilling? What will give you maximum well-being? Working less or working more? I doubt that those people you work for will hear your cries and demands for a shorter work week. I had done that but it didn't work for me. The worse thing was that I had spent my whole time every day with those who are capable of power-tripping and all that male dominance thing in the workplace. The whole overtime culture is not healthy. You are only prone to committing errors sacrificing the quality of your work. Stress can also ruin relationships. There's also higher suicide rates in a workaholic developed world - just look at Japan. So I finally managed to get out of the lamp, I can't go back.

I do believe that there are choices in life, it is just a matter of taking a leap of faith. I believe that working full time is easier. It is easier to participate. It is easier to just follow the pattern. It is easier not to have free time to think of what's really best for you. Because that is what you have been taught - not to think anymore. Not to make your own choices. Because working less will give you more time - and you won't be supporting the system anymore. It would be challenging to keep up with the modern world. It would be challenging to look strange. It requires a mentality overhaul. It requires facing the fear of uncertainties. But isn't time to ease the suffering of other people too by not supporting the system? It is time to think that pursuing your passion or doing what you love during your free time is not evil. It is not lost time or a class privilege. It is not for boredom and idleness. It is for creativity. It is for yourself and others. It is not yet a forgotten dream. There is other way than your way.

Sort:  

I basically agree with you. However, there is some subtle magic in consciously living an ordinary working life. Even in the midst of the rush our and all that stress there is a silent space within us. I find joy inside that space, calmly observing whatever happens. Attitude is crucial because it can make everything harder or easier. Unfortunately, people are often not aware they can change their attitude. So, knowledge is crucial to make a choice. On the other side, not everyone is in a position to navigate his life in a preferred direction due to debilitating circumstances. In such cases, acceptance (zen, stoicism) is the most fruitful approach.

I have no argument about work/ordinary work life itself - especially if it's something we really enjoy. What I'm saying is reducing the 8-12 hours a day would be fine to have quality or better lives. More time with loved ones. Especially if you can finish some type of work within 4 hours or less. Who wouldn't want shorter work hours? It is undeniable the effect of 'too much work' on the mentality and lives of most people all over the world. People who are not afraid can change/demand things through collective power... Oh well, maybe we are all just dreaming here...

I'm completely for cutting down work hours. Who isn't? :D Sweden is leading the way by introducing 6 hour work day and I hope other countries will follow.

Nothing worth something in this life comes easy!

If life were easy, there would be no need for "work". Easy can be tempting though. Why work hard for something when you can get it for free? (Other than personal satisfaction, but that only takes certain people so far).

The welfare argument (against welfare) is that you create lazy people by offering those who truly need it a way to get essentials that they need. Because in effect, you're also allowing those who don't really need it, but "qualify" based on some generic standard to also receive these "necessities".

I see both sides of the topic, but helping those in true need outweighs (to me) the cost of the potential for the "opportunists" who are "gaming" the system.

Anyway.. keep working hard. In time, if you put enough energy and focus into something, life often finds a way to reward you!

I think some people here are missing the point...I think there's no argument about work or working hard - especially if people can work hard in shorter hours and the work has something to do with their passion. It can be quite smarter to be efficient. The point of my article is 'working less' which does not equate to laziness or social welfare lol. Not 12 hours a day, that is the point. Honestly, I don't know where did you get all of that in your comment...I hope it's not something coming from deep inside lol. Who would not want to have more time with important things in life - like loved ones? If working for long hours ≠ 'working hard' has serious and apparent effects on mental well being of people, why defend and support it? There's no argument anymore that more time with family, leisure, hobbies would make anyone truly happy.

Anyway.. keep working hard. In time, if you put enough energy and focus into something, life often finds a way to reward you!

Ok same to you lol. I hope this article didn't trigger you. I'm not really writing about anyone in particular but some followers choose to be affected lol. Anyway, we can just be open-minded about ideas even if they are not true to ourselves at this point.

The article didn't trigger me in any way ☺️ I'm sorry if it came across like that.

I think we all feel like we're working hard. To your point though, it's the dream to be able to work less and still live a happy life! I'd love to not have to work and be able to sustain my lifestyle and support my family.

I agree that working long hours doesn't equate to working hard. Some people do it simply for perception, but the only thing they're really doing at the end of the day is hurting themselves, and probably their future productivity.

I know exactly what you're talking about. I think It's so much harder to be your own boss, but the cons are definitely worth it

Society as a whole, particularly more developed ones, should've figured out by the early 20th century that you can live a life of relative leisure with all the technological and economics advancements. But no, the opposite has occurred, people work more and chill less, all so they can acquire more stuff that in turn keeps them dependent on working more; it's a viscous cycle, the 4 hour work day should've been the norm for a while now.

I think that shorter work week is still quite far-fetched in a materialistic society...when consumption or profit is the goal.

live a life of relative leisure with all the technological and economics advancements.

I agree.

*I think that shorter work week is still quite far-fetched in a materialistic society...when consumption or profit is the goal.

True, peoples values would have to change. Though anybody else can still try to do it if they choose to!

An idle mind is the Devil workshop. It's a bitter truth no one care about you. you have to make your comfortable. I agree with your philosophy that life in a big city is costly and to meet your standard you need more effort. in contrast rural life is simple and don't demand more work. In my 2 cent opinion, we need happy life rather the comfortable life. Money is necessary for living good life, but if we will run behind money it will definitely make our life miserable. so just earn as much as you live an easy, healthy and happy life:) keep sharing @diabolika

Money is necessary for living good life, but if we will run behind money it will definitely make our life miserable.

This is so true. Thanks for reading @kamchore. Thank you!

This post reminds me of terrific book I read a few years ago entitled The Four Hour Work Week, by Tim Ferriss. While it's not exactly aimed at what you're stating, it does have strong ties to it.

The premise of the book is that you'll work much more efficiently and profitably if you eliminate tasks that really do not add value to your overall output or life. Live more, work less!

Yeah, I've read that book. Tim Ferriss is quite famous now.

I think I live for - live more work less.

Very very valid point. What do we actually find important? The luxury of taking a trip and eating good food but being half dead the rest of the year for it?

For me it is a reason to work less. If I could at my job, Id work a day less, (or only 6 hours a day) and with a smile receive less salary. Just because it goves you more freedom to actually DECIDE what to do with the extra time.

So I chose a couple years ago to work in a less mentally draining environment, so I have more chances on doing different stuff (get a teaching certification, work behind a bar, just do different stuff!)

A happy worker is a productive worker, and we would feel happier if we have more time for more important things. We all hope to work less.

It's great that you work in a less mentally draining environment and do different stuff!

A happy worker is a productive worker.

They should stick a sign with this on every managers desk.! But then again, employees are also never satisfied :)

I certainly share the view that emptiness causes negative thoughts, whispers and frustration
We have to fill the time with things that benefit even if we exercise our favorite identity or sport ...
Working with people for long hours and specifically believing is a waste of time and effort and serves the goals of others
Duck should be considered as a work-only, step-by-step experiment to find a job that suits your ambition
Or create a special project
Thank you for the kind of topics that we all benefit from

Working with people for long hours and specifically believing is a waste of time and effort and serves the goals of others

Very true.

No worries @klasanaj!

Thank you for your support
When my strength becomes effective
I will support you because your publication has the same thinking and is worth reading

I find that this is another post where I feel overcome with evil:D
@rantdiabolika!

https://steemit.com/trending/rantdiabolika

I'm on the trending page finally! Sigh, too much free time lol.

Just when I thought the evildoers couldn't get any worse...sigh:D

Provoking thoughts.... pushes people to think out of the 9-5 paradigm and take action to become true entrepreneurs, not just self-employed thus imprisoned again in their own managed jobs. Free spirits do find empowerment in connecting with their passion, not being enslaved in other people's passion.

Free spirits do find empowerment in connecting with their passion, not being enslaved in other people's passion.

The truth! Thanks for the insight.

You're welcome and I look forward for your coming posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31