Living Alone: The Unromanticized Version

in #life7 years ago (edited)

14352005_10154566585458711_582555245275452987_o.jpg

Whether living alone or cohabiting with your significant other in a cozy apartment, I don't see any eliteness or difference. Somehow, I still find myself falling back and forth into this fantasy of independence in all its glory. I still cringe at the thought of irritating arguments about who would wash the dishes. I have tried it all, from living with a partner for years to sleeping on a single bed. I'm afraid I'm still not the highly celebrated 30-something successful woman who is fulfilled and happy in her solitary state. I'm still trapped in this self-improvement phase of my life, but yes I do have a cat for starters. He could be a child replacement, but yes I have enough of the crazy cat lady jokes, thank you. Ever since I have moved to the tropics, I have become dependent on my cat when I couldn't kill the uninvited creepy crawlies myself, and yes I have been told many times in my life that I am bigger than those bugs. I guess that is just the reality of living alone, you have those unexpected nuisances pushing you to adapt to the burden of freedom.

From living alone in one place to living a nomadic life, I bring myself wherever I go. I carry with me this lonely label of an unattached soul just passing through. Then I realized how I needed another soul as the brutality of living alone caught me by surprise. I hauled a newly bought desk up the hill where I used to stay. I excitedly unboxed this desk made of cheap wood only to be surprised with a complicated set of instructions. This lazy and needy side of me wanted to call someone to assemble this furniture but I remembered I was living on my own in another country. I quickly messaged my male best friend who was about to sleep. I recalled telling him that I couldn't do this....Why not, it's just a puzzle, he told me. After a couple of minutes of trying to make sense of those drawers and the right screws for each part, it finally became a proper desk. I must say, I felt proud of myself.

After those solitary months in the altitude, I became curious of staying within sea-level. So I woke up and found myself in the isolated islands in the Pacific in which tourists are the ones passing through. As always, I didn't go out of my way to have 24-hour friendships or introduce myself all over again to a passerby. I just adapted to my own silence for the most part and I'm pretty sure that my future partner would highly appreciate that. Whether I'm in the shower or just lying around doing nothing, I always find solace in this myriad of words formulated in my mind that I find hard to translate in your language. A part of me still likes the fact that nobody asks me what am I thinking? I just couldn't tell everything that I'm thinking otherwise I would be prosecuted. I also like that nobody's watching my back telling me to stop being in front of the computer all the time. Although, a part of me wants someone to invite me to take an afternoon walk and get some fresh air. I still struggle with finding balance in this life of a hermit without fear of being alone.

I become a shoulder to cry on of friends who are married and have babies. I remember my friend who is introduced to the reality of living with his girlfriend. I listened eagerly to the nagging stories and all the mundane tasks this new life gave him. He gets this daily curse for his manly sloppiness and all the unavoidable disorganization of things. Sadly, they now find themselves just staying together for the kids. I really have no issues with a man who is not so organized because I can be such a pig sometimes, but not really. These days, I just do not want to attract more disgusting bugs so I learned to clean and organize my stuff regularly, just not obsessively. I used to live with this man who carefully arranged the things I put on the table and would be really annoyed if I stepped on the carpet he just cleaned. I didn't have such a big problem if he wanted everything to be really clean and organized, but it was just interesting to live with someone who has OCD. Living with someone requires some understanding and acceptance.

I decided to take a break from my isolation in a strange land and began traveling once again. I faced the reality of staying in this shared room full of strangers also known as the hostel. I pulled out from my own laundry some dirty socks and boxer shorts that were obviously not mine. I began accusing the men playing with me who might have just accidentally mixed their stuff with mine on the floor. Although I didn't find it such a big issue, I just found a solution. I commanded them to share the laundry expenses and bring my dirty clothes along with theirs to the receptionist. In this supposedly mixed dorm in Colombia, there were understandably more traveling men than women, which explained why I was outnumbered. Probably because most women are just afraid of traveling in this part of the world or do not have any interests in taking their time in each place. Perhaps there are more European men who are after cheap cocaine and big-booty Colombianas. Anyway, the dorm was not really bad as it seemed. I didn't have to do anything anymore as there was always a volunteer who changed the sheets or cleaned the puke in the toilet from last night. I was still kind of living alone but not really. Fortunately, even my fellow travelers and wannabe nomads understood the need for privacy even in this shared space. People can still leave you to do whatever you want to do.

Living with strangers lost its charm after a while. I started dreaming of creative and solitary future, erasing the fantasy of a wedding day. I need to become financially stable in order to afford the luxury of a private space as living alone can be expensive too. I also need to be financially capable in case I need to pack my bag again.

I retired momentarily from human connection and glory days of traveling. I went back to isolation where I found it more comfortable. I still romanticize living alone, being able to sit in front of the computer until late without disturbance, walk naked after a shower then stare into the abyss without being judged. I have found comfort in this dangerous freedom of being able to do whatever I want, and not being told what to do.

Even men who constantly mock clingy girls are needy themselves, that's why they go around looking for affection like sane human beings they are. Meanwhile, a woman in her thirties invites a toxic blend of pity, mockery, and suspicion for living alone still. These days, I found freedom in not caring what the society thinks of me and surely, my solitude is not anyone's business. I will do whatever works for me until I'm ready for another person in my life. Although, I admit that it would always be hard for me to find balance as it is human nature to lean towards the extreme side of things. I just remind myself that there are many unhappy relationships out there because people tend to rush things for the fear of being alone in old age. I do believe that you must experience living on your own at least once in your life. Having a partner is not the end of a story and whether you like it or not, you will still face this time of settling down to a solitary existence at some point in your life, now or between husbands or wives. If you don't learn how to be alone early on, you will still struggle with a relationship after a relationship. In the end, it would be more beautiful to share the living space and glorious moments of your life with another loving, whole and free human being.

Sort:  

Learning to be alone and be comfortable with yourself is always important. For one reason or another, you are going to either be alone or feel alone at many points in your life. Throughout those times, you'll need to lean on your learned comfort with yourself, and mentally deal with how you feel when you are alone.

With the advent of social media, many people lean on that. Arguments can probably be made in pros and cons of that, but being comfortable with yourself, without an electronic crutch, is my preferred method. Now, having a book you can get lost into isn't much different, but call me old fashioned.. I think that's a better option :)

I think You're doing just swell, @diabolika! ☺️☺️

Ahhh without an electronic crutch is also my preferred method, now with my fiber internet connection, I find it hard to to get lost in a book these days lol. I need to find some balance. Thanks!

Balance the fiber internet connection with an electronic book 😉

Sometimes I will say something really funny, but there is nobody there to hear it:(
Maybe I should get a cat.

I miss my cat but am not allowed one in my house. Bloody estate agents!

You can be a crazy cat man. 😊

I just couldn't tell everything that I'm thinking otherwise I would be prosecuted..........LMOA!
You crack me up:D
The Buddha would say we are not our thoughts (and a bloody good thing)...
I can't wait until you get to your bohemian yoga in the Canadian Rockies series of posts!

Awww what a relief I'm not my thoughts lol.

I'll prepare for that series. 😊

We were talking about just this today at work the married ones saying they would love to live on they own an just see husband when they chose. Me saying now i've been single for nearly six months would nice to have some company around the house. The grass it always greener!

I am happy living on my tod but at the same time would be nice to have someone to share my evening with. But I guess after years of trying I now know the characteristics I require to complement me but will I find that or is compromise required ?

We always want what we don't have... but we can learn to appreciate what we have atm too. I think there will always be some compromise required....

Very true but from both sides!

I would totally had done a cat lady joke if you would not mention you heard enough ;-)

For the most part I really enjoy living alone though. Despite the times of feeling lonely most of the time I like to close the door and be on my own.

Living with strangers was never really for me.

There is a fine linie between being alone and lonely imo and I see it as "paying the price" for all the upside you get living alone.

Is nice to live alone at some point in our lives as it teaches us many lessons. Being alone and not feel lonely is something one has to experience too.

If you don't learn how to be alone early on, you will still struggle with a relationship after a relationship

While I agree with you on that from my own experience, I would also posit that it can be detrimental.

Being happy to be on your own, also makes it easier to walk away from a relationship.
A relationship that might have worked out long term, if you had stuck around. (again, from my own experience, and retrospect).

The throw away society we live in, also applies to relationships....

In another case, such as an abusive relationship, it is better to easily walk away instead of desperately clinging on to something thinking that things will change (just because you never learned to be happy on your own first). You would do your partner a favor by not using her as an object to make yourself happy. Relationships are meant to make you happier. I'm sure a happy person would not leave anyone who elevates his/her happiness.

I am not disagreeing with you - I can't - I have done exactly that.

I'm just pointing out it has become easier and easier to walk away from commitments, with the throw away society we have.

From a ' successful society', and 'happiness' point of view, the most stable happiest society is a monogamous relationship, with one partner, and 2.2 children.
( not sure how you feed the 0.2 child, as I don't have any! lol).

I haven't lived the life I have just pointed out , each individual is different ( like you and me , I think), but that doesn't make it less true in the big scheme of things.

Women's happiness, (and by extension men's) -for example, has been on the decline for the last 50 years or so-
All since they were 'conned' out of leaving the home and nurturing their offspring, - For working a job - and paying taxes on their labor - not a coincidence).

I also don't know the happy family thing in a successful society point of view because I'm so focused on not following the norm, but I've seen in my travels, real happy traditional families who have more children and are surviving with whatever they have.

This 'leave the kids at home and work' is just due to the demands of the modern society and consumerism.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice 🖒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65