You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living Alone: The Unromanticized Version

in #life7 years ago

If you don't learn how to be alone early on, you will still struggle with a relationship after a relationship

While I agree with you on that from my own experience, I would also posit that it can be detrimental.

Being happy to be on your own, also makes it easier to walk away from a relationship.
A relationship that might have worked out long term, if you had stuck around. (again, from my own experience, and retrospect).

The throw away society we live in, also applies to relationships....

Sort:  

In another case, such as an abusive relationship, it is better to easily walk away instead of desperately clinging on to something thinking that things will change (just because you never learned to be happy on your own first). You would do your partner a favor by not using her as an object to make yourself happy. Relationships are meant to make you happier. I'm sure a happy person would not leave anyone who elevates his/her happiness.

I am not disagreeing with you - I can't - I have done exactly that.

I'm just pointing out it has become easier and easier to walk away from commitments, with the throw away society we have.

From a ' successful society', and 'happiness' point of view, the most stable happiest society is a monogamous relationship, with one partner, and 2.2 children.
( not sure how you feed the 0.2 child, as I don't have any! lol).

I haven't lived the life I have just pointed out , each individual is different ( like you and me , I think), but that doesn't make it less true in the big scheme of things.

Women's happiness, (and by extension men's) -for example, has been on the decline for the last 50 years or so-
All since they were 'conned' out of leaving the home and nurturing their offspring, - For working a job - and paying taxes on their labor - not a coincidence).

I also don't know the happy family thing in a successful society point of view because I'm so focused on not following the norm, but I've seen in my travels, real happy traditional families who have more children and are surviving with whatever they have.

This 'leave the kids at home and work' is just due to the demands of the modern society and consumerism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62