Decluttering My Life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-14-18-18-18-152.jpg

Yesterday, I decided to sell some stuff that I'm not really using. It's not that I don't really want those things anymore, they are just annoying to look at. Aside from stress, those things can also bring up so many emotions. I figure it's time to get my clutter under control. It's time to remove the excess baggage in my life, literally and figuratively.

While a lot of people out there are better at accumulating stuff, like living that typical consumeristic lifestyle of go go go and get get get, I'm kind of living my life the opposite. I think it must be my years on the road that made me become accustomed to this minimalist life. Back then, I was just living with only the things that I had in my backpack. When I had to move out of my apartment, I could do so with ease. I could freely move from one place to another. It was so liberating not to worry about stuff or anything to lose. Then I decided to settle down and become slightly civilized again, but I am still not interested in acquiring a lot of unnecessary stuff. I value saving more for experiences than material things. I don't want to stagnate in a house full of junk all my life. Trying something new or going somewhere else is what makes my existence more meaningful.

For some reason, I always have this feeling that I will leave anytime. I'm really just a nomad at heart. I started moving around when I was a kid and we didn't have a lot of stuff to bring. Now looking at some stuff that I have accumulated over the past couple of months makes me feel stressed. There's this nagging feeling that I want to get rid of them soon. I don't have a lot of possessions, most are just essential house stuff that helps in living a decent life in one place. There were just things I bought that I thought I would use but didn't. I'd rather keep things that will motivate or inspire me, and get rid of anything that only makes me feel guilty.

Materialism only gives immediate gratification and temporary satisfaction, it won't replace the kind of happiness you will get when you spend more on experiences and adventures. A lot of people complain about not having money to travel or even gas for a road trip to nature, but to think about all those unnecessary things that they buy or bought, their complaints don't make sense to me. You don't have to travel the world sure but there are a lot of crazy things to try and places to go to where you are too. There's absolutely no reason in this annoyingly short life not to try anything new - whatever it is.

I guess my perspective has changed when I traveled. I'm no longer that person who buys new clothes everytime I get my paycheck. And it's probably because I no longer live in a city and my work or business does not really require me to impress people by wearing fashionable office clothes or fancy makeup. If I see a messy closet full of clothes that I don't really wear, I will only feel guilty. What a waste I think! I should have not bought a lot or someone else can wear those. My goal in life is not to buy more stuff but to afford more life experiences. Thinking that I might leave anytime soon helps in getting rid of my stuff as early as now. Leaving like moving somewhere, traveling or dying - it does not matter, I won't bring any of these things someday.

If I see my place more organized and spacious, I am able to concentrate more on my tasks and other things that matter. I know very well that having excess stuff can have a negative impact on my life. If my place is cluttered and chaotic, I feel anxious. It's like those things compete for my attention. After selling my stuff yesterday, I feel happier not because I have some extra money, but because of this liberating feeling. It's like I got rid of things to worry about.

Although there are artists out there who thrive on chaos, like a messy desk or studio, I feel like I'm more creative and productive when I have a minimalist environment. I'm not a neat freak or something, I guess I just prefer organized chaos or having nothing. A messy place makes me feel suffocated and moody, except when I'm in nature, nature is a beautiful chaos. It's funny because the last thing I should want right now is space, but still, I want more of it. Wider, freer and vast emptiness! I can't imagine someone disrupting my routine or filling up my place with a lot of other stuff, this will make crazier. This is why I've never really liked the idea of a roommate or housemate or even a husband. Someone has to live in a different house and let me keep my peace and space - for the safety and benefit of everyone involved.

Whenever I go to a mall and pass through an aisle with a lot of tempting stuff to buy, I always get this I-will-only-leave reminder. I can walk and move on, no hard feelings. Besides, when I let junk pile up, it just serves as a reminder of all the things that I haven't accomplished. Like that yoga mat I never used, I have to get rid of it. I love my ukulele but I just don't have the time to play and practice right now. The reality is that I hang onto far more objects than I need, and instead of feeling motivated, those things just make me feel guilty. For those who are not used to getting rid of stuff and living on the bare minimum, this can be quite difficult. But I think the benefits outweigh the negatives. Living with less will actually give you more in life.

Sort:  

After my last long-term relationship ended, I gave back almost everything she ever gave me. At the time, I was just terribly hurt, and it was likely just an aggressive move on my part.

About a year afterward, still recovering, I went through a purge of my home. I tossed everything I hadn't used over the past six months. Not only was my place cleaner and less cluttered, it brought on a lightness of heart. It was healing; liberating.

Things mean far less to me now. It's experiences and relationships that I yearn for.

I hope you find the same lightness in your post-purge days ahead.

my place cleaner and less cluttered, it brought on a lightness of heart. It was healing; liberating.

I understand. I can imagine how liberating it can be!

Yes, I am feeling the same lightness. Thank you for sharing!

I’ve been thinking about starting a business that helps others declutter while I sell there stuff for a cut. I think there’s a big market. People get over whelmed and don’t know where to start.

Wow good idea I think you should take advantage of that big market and maybe start preaching about the benefits like I do lol.

Good work it great to have a clear out I am due one but unfortunately mine is mostly paper and nothing really sellable I tries a year ago when I move but luck. Hope your feeling like a load lifted and enjoying new found spaces 💯🐒

Yes thanks, those free spaces matter!

For sure and are great for the mind also 💯🐒

Congratulation, now as you have lost some weight, your wings will carry you to higher and brighter locations But don't forget the ukulele.

Materialism only gives immediate gratification and temporary satisfaction, it won't replace the kind of happiness you will get when you spend more on experiences and adventures.

Totally agree with that and experienced it on my own sking. It's been years since all my possessions fit very well in a small car's trunk. Car that I sold last year because I realized it's not useful anymore. Living in a small town for over a year I can reach almost everywhere on foot or by bike so why spend money on gas, insurance and parts. Life's requirements are less than what we imagine they are. All of the gizmos and fake needs that we think we need are just a false pursuit of happiness.

All of the gizmos and fake needs that we think we need are just a false pursuit of happiness.

So true. I live in a small town now too and I feel more content being able to just walk or bike anywhere. Life has never been the same.

Less is more! At least when it comes to stuff versus experience or quality of life. It is liberating to remove the excess burden of stuff. it can be hard but having to move all you own as you travel or just move to a new location will make the burden more obvious and help in the decision to lighten the load.
I find that it is a continues process that will never be completely finished. There are always things that were bought, or added for some reason, that soon just add clutter or burden and very little value. Still some things, like a ukulele, can be worth holding on to just for the promise of what it could mean if it was given more time.

Yeah, I think the hard thing for me is moving to a new place and having to buy stuff again - unless I can afford a fully furnished place.

There are always things that were bought, or added for some reason

True. I think it makes sense for me to do a bit of decluttering every now and then or check the things I am no longer using.

I got a bit sad selling my ukulele. Since I was not using it, the wood could get bad. It's very warm and humid here and sometimes I forget to take care of it. Rather than waste it or let it rot, someone else can use it...

"There were just things I bought that I thought I would use but didn't."

Haha I do that all the time.

"Someone has to live in a different house and let me keep my peace and space"

I agree with that. I like having relationships and friends and stuff but I can't stand being bound to someone by always having them around.

Haha true misanthrope!

You deserved the vote for effort and good quality content. This is my request to you to do some favour to people's who are new to steemit or having or trying to write quality content but not getting progress, support us by giving upvotes and writing good comments to encourage us, if you help us we will help you. Upvotes us good bless you.
Thanks;)
@rudrakshpareek

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77