How I built my own E-bike for 1/5 the cost of a buying new, and got a better bike in the process: A build series

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 photo FullSizeRender_zpsytbdxezn.jpg

Conception
I have been lusting after an E-bike(Electric assist) Bicycle for a long time, but could never really justify the cost of one as a toy, when I already had several bikes. The cheap ones are very heavy, and the nice ones can cost as much as a nice used car. It wasn't until several things came together for me that made it a reasonable project for me to pursue.

The Need
I work at a very large university, and parking is expensive, $1092.00 per year. It's also hard to find, and a pain because finding parking can make you late, and force you to walk a mile or two from parking to the office, if you leave campus for any reason during the day. In two words, it sucks.

I have been using a mixture of my car and public transit for several years, as the public transit costs are subsidized by my employer, (Half price at $528.00 per year) and I didn't have to spend as much money on the car for my 20 mile commute.

I also have a need for getting around campus for my duties, during the day, and I cannot drive, I average 5 miles a day walking on campus, I brought a 12-speed road bike I have to use when I want.

Circumstances change
About a year ago, I got a chance to move within 5 miles of the university. So now I walk about a mile to a bus stop, and that will get me to work in 20 minutes or so, but it's a walk straight uphill, and the buses are massively crowded 10 months a year with students. Think Tokyo subway packed. It's ok, but the uphill walk and bus ride, then another walk to the office make it a 45 minute commute many days. I try riding my bike in, but climbing a hill right from the start every morning is not good as I'm a gimp with a wrecked spine and a blown out knee. This calls for a different type of bike than what I own, really.

The Plan
Time to get down to specifics. I really did not want to spend more than $1200.00. I started pricing bikes and most of the new E bikes in my range went from utter crap mal-wart bikes with a motor tacked on the back and a lead acid battery. That was the $450-$800 range. And the $800-$1200 range got better, but was still dominated by low quality bikes with low quality components and a marginally better E drive added, all in the 500 watt hub motor style. And the bikes I liked? $3500-$7000!!! I was frustrated. So. what's an ape with 10 thumbs do when confronted with a problem? do the math and do it myself.

In my next installment, I will "do the math", and show the build in photographs, performed over the winter Solstice break, 2016.

Sort:  

I am definitely following this blog. I have always wanted to build my own e-bike! Thanks for taking your time to show the community how to do this.

Part two tomorrow, I will share the best ratio of dollars to amps I could find.

I love it when you talk nerdy to me! This series is going to be a very fun read...I just have that feeling!

This Build Series should be a WINNER!!!

Looking forward to Part 2, no rush...

Very good topic. I have build two E bikes myself , both with Bafang hub motors.
First bike was build with bafang bbs02 motor and lipo battery. I do not recommend lipo batteries because they are like little explosives if you crash your bike. Motor and battery cost around 900 EUR and the kit was easy to install.
Now I have full-suspension bike with bafang bbshd 1000w motor and 0.8kwh Li-ion battery. Bbshd motor has amazing 160Nm torque which come in handy if you drive mostly off road. Building cost was around 1200 EUR.
I drive my bike every day, sometimes in snow and -25°C/-13°F weather, bike is always stored outdoors and still Bafang motors have always been reliable.
But no matter which bike and motor you have you will have great fun.

This is pretty interesting, I've always wondered how people where making these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64