You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I built my own E-bike for 1/5 the cost of a buying new, and got a better bike in the process: A build series

in #life7 years ago

Very good topic. I have build two E bikes myself , both with Bafang hub motors.
First bike was build with bafang bbs02 motor and lipo battery. I do not recommend lipo batteries because they are like little explosives if you crash your bike. Motor and battery cost around 900 EUR and the kit was easy to install.
Now I have full-suspension bike with bafang bbshd 1000w motor and 0.8kwh Li-ion battery. Bbshd motor has amazing 160Nm torque which come in handy if you drive mostly off road. Building cost was around 1200 EUR.
I drive my bike every day, sometimes in snow and -25°C/-13°F weather, bike is always stored outdoors and still Bafang motors have always been reliable.
But no matter which bike and motor you have you will have great fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63