My Magnolia Tree With A Summer Breeze BlowingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

This is my magnolia tree. I am sitting in my backyard next to my kale plants and looking upward. You see the results of the summer breeze. Summer breeze, that reminds me of the Seals and Crofts song. I am thinking, has time gone by so fast.

It doesn't seem like it has been that long, but yes it has been that long. It was that same tree when I first came to this house with a wife, but she left only after about 6 months after we moved in. There were times when I wish she had left before we bought the house.

Well it all worked out I guess I do have this house. After she left was the beginning of my backsliding. Well it is what it is.

Ok, back to the tree. At one time after the wife left a neighbor that has long time now passed away told me that when I was at work these boys would climb up my magnolia tree. I guess the branches were what they liked and they climb up really high. They even tied a red rope that would help them get up into the tree.

One time I went outside in the front and one of the boys was up there. I told him to come down. He did like a kid caught and was in trouble. I cut the red rope and even sawed down some of the lower branches.

Can you imagine coming home from work and you have this kid hurt or even worse in my front yard? That was long ago.

I lived in this house for over 27 years now. That little kid that I caught climbing my tree might be about 37 years old now. Maybe I saved his life that I wouldn't let him climb the tree anymore.

Also that tree gives me leaves in summer. Yes, it sheds in the summer. I used to think, why can't your leaves fall in the fall, like the other tree. The other tree in the front yard is an ash tree. I learned to work with nature than against nature recently.

So I take the magnolia leaves and put them under my fruit trees in the backyard. Those leaves hold moisture longer than if it were just bare ground. With all the California drought we been having we want to hold all the moister that we can, or at least that I can.

Those leaves help me also to know when my skunk friends are under a certain tree since those leaves do have a crunching sound when walked on.

It is so nice to just watch this tree that has gotten bigger since I first came here over 27 years ago. I did also notice crows landing in its branches. The thing is that I never noticed crows in the neighborhood before. Maybe they followed the corn crop. They do plant corn in the outskirts of this city.

So relaxing just to watch the wind brush through the leaves of this magnolia tree.

If you enjoyed this blog please consider to upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Video is mine taken with my trusty flip phone.

Sort:  

When I had a magnolia tree in the south, I used to love floating the blooms in glass bowls of water around my home :)

Yes, those blooms are very beautiful. Thank you @artedellavita!

We need that breeze here! My son bought a kit ( a BIG one) and we have been waiting for about 2 weeks now for a windy day.

Well, I hope you get your summer breeze soon. When I was a kid I used to love flying a kite. On a good windy day I would let out the kite to it's last inch of string.

Hello! Is that the Bay Magnolia that gets the big, white, yummy smelling blooms on it? I also enjoy Magnolia stellata; it's so delicate. "Summer Breeze".....what fun times...:))

Hello @princessperibanu! I am sorry I don't know if it is a Bay Magnolia or not. It does have yummy smelling big white blooms on it. Thank you so much for reading this blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57