The Little Army Of SkunkssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I spotted the little army of skunks that live under my shed in a burrow.

I did write of the at least 2 skunks that live under my house called, I have Skunks! Do I Work With Nature Or Against Nature? Now I knew the others that live in a burrow under my shed. I just have never seen them before.

I just happen to see them yesterday and took out my trusty flip phone. You see boxes and those garbage cans? Well I use those to organize my plastic bottles, glass bottles and aluminum cans I talk more about that in my blog called, Take My Bottles And Cans - Said The Neighbor. Ok, back to the little army of skunks, I count 1 adult and 4 little skunks.

Great cause years ago that shed was infested with rats. A while back I was taking care of my nephews dog and he would bark a lot. Well that scared all the neighbor cats away that used to hang out in my backyard. The rats were terrible. Then my nephew took back his dog and the cats came back.

I don't see the rats as problematic as in years before. So now I have the alliance of the neighbors cats, my own cat, the skunks under the house and the little army of skunks that live in a burrow under the shed. I do have to say I hardly see any rats.

Now I did see a dead rat in my kitchen some weeks ago. I was wondering why a dead rat. Maybe my cat brought it in. I have seen my cat bring in a mouse and a rat at different times. I sure hope she doesn't ever bring in a snake.

So let me get back to the skunks. I took that dead rat and placed it near the rear of the shed. I thought the skunks there would eat it. No. Days went by and it is still there.

Then I thought maybe I read it wrong and they don't eat dead for awhile rats. Then I see it is all gone even the fur of the rat some 7 or 8 days later.

Do they like to age their meat? Or maybe they didn't know it was there and just found it. Or maybe they like that rat jerky taste. All I know that it was really clean from that rat that died about 7 or 8 days before. My little clean up crew.

If you enjoyed this blog please consider up voting and following.
Thank you, David
Video belongs to me.

Sort:  

Aww they are kind of cute how they creep out and scamper back in lol.

Yes, they are cute. I just keep my distance.

This is interesting! My Chihuahuas have killed a couple of rattlesnakes before and rats. I think I'm more scared of them doing that then they are haha

Well, I am impressed at their rattlesnake fighting skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56