I have Skunks! Do I Work With Nature Or Against Nature?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

skunk-1591309_960_720.jpg

I have had skunks living under my house for awhile now. A pest control place says they will charge $450 an animal to get rid of the skunks. Well that would cost $900 for two skunks.

I think there are at least two skunks living under my house and some more with a burrow under my shed. I would read up about skunks and see if they have value.

I find that they do eat mice and rats. I live between 2 rivers so I do see river rats climbing trees and walking telephone lines.

Also I read that they eat grubs and termites. That is funny. My termite maintenance costs me $400 a year and they come by 4 times a year.

Let me weigh it in the balance. I have at least $900 worth of skunks that I got for free. These skunks check for termites everyday and I pay $400 a year for termite maintenance control and they only show up 4 times a year. Plus the skunks work harder eating also mice, rats, grubs and lizards, and all they want is free rent for all that work.

Maybe I stay with the skunks and drop the termite maintenance.

Actually I did drop the termite maintenance last year about this time.

If you enjoyed this blog please consider up voting and following.
Thanks, David
Image is from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Well you have skunks, I have raccoons!

They can guzzle on food like no other : I found 2 of my bird feeders empty in a matter of a night!

Hey, them raccoons are cute.

I have used those live Have-a-Heart traps for coons to relocate them. Might be tricky with skunks though....

Even my mom has a family of skunks under her house. At least they keep the rat situation down.

I have a skunk visitor that gets along with my dogs. It's super strange. The skunk will eat with them. I'm still afraid of getting sprayed though lol

I guess the skunk doesn't feel threatened by your dogs. Yes, better to stay away. I like watching them, but like to keep my distance.

It's a good job with a good experience, I'm happy to read the life story you live in, I think it's very fun, it's a month of money or income but it's a fun life because we're still bosses to share life with the life makhluh around us . I am happy with this story.

Thanks again @david777111, greetings greetings and greetings to you from the son of aceh

Cute story! Good luck with your termite protection efforts. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41