What is it like to earn over $200,000 a year?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Many people will not be able to answer this question because they've never made anywhere near $200,000 a year so I'll also globalize the question by reframing it.

  • What is it like to earn more money from your job than the vast majority of people in your country, society, family, etc?
  • Did the money change you and or change how people treat you?
  • If it did change you then what was the impact?
  • If people treated you different once you had what was considered a high paying job in your society how was the treatment (good, bad, unclear)?

Some articles seem to state that after a certain amount of money per year happiness is not further increased. Are there challenges which come with being financially successful which offset or counter the benefits?

Note, this article is asking what it is like to earn a lot of money from a high paying job. This isn't the same a inheriting it, or having a high net worth due to investments. In specific this question only applies to people who do some job which pays a lot relative to the majority of people they know and or in society.

Sort:  

What is it like to earn more money from your job than the vast majority of people in your country, society, family, etc?

It makes me feel guilty:

  1. I make a lot of money doing things that don't give back to society in any way. I'm also a bit of a miser, so I'm not stimulating the economy much through spending.
  2. The things I stress/worry about -- for instance, the price of crypto fluctuations swinging my net worth by 3% -- are meaningless compared to friends and family that are sometimes genuinely worried about paying next months' rent, or mortgage/car payment.

Did the money change you and or change how people treat you?

Nah. For instance, if you saw my car you would laugh -- it's a 15 year old SUV with 160k miles on it that has two broken back windows. My rear passenger side window is permanently down, so anyone can break into my car at any time. I don't mind because I live in Southern California (no worry about weather issues), a gated community (no worry of grand larceny), and have nothing of value in my car (no worry of theft), but I tend to value knowledge/learning/experiences more than objects.

Some articles seem to state that after a certain amount of money per year happiness is not further increased. Are there challenges which come with being financially successful which offset or counter the benefits?

It's hard to stay motivated. I often become briefly passionate about projects, but don't fully follow through with them. i.e. I started to learn Spanish, started practicing golf/tennis, started many online classes, started studying chess, etc, but rarely reach a level of mastery which satisfies me.

As for happiness derived from wealth, I don't believe wealth increases happiness after a certain point. Unhappy people with moderate amounts of money would likely be unhappy with large amounts of money. I find the happiest people are those who have immense gratitude, strong family/communities, and give it their all in a few things they are deeply passionate about.

During my service, i work where i got close to 200K monthly aside my stipend, with a corrola 2003 for errand, plus a two bed flat appartment.
My greatest problem then was that my circle of friends increased, everyone turn your guy.
I got nice treatments from so many, even those whom where older than me, so many girls around. It was a really nice experience.

My greatest challenge was the rate at which people were calling me and begging me for financial aids; school mates, childhood friends, family members, and relatives.
I was always going to the bank to send money until i started stransfering via mobile banking.

It did not take long when i left work that i stopped receiving so many calls as i used to receive.
Then i realized many fake friends are the ones that will disturb you most in good times. Your might not help your best friends much because they wont disturb and before you notice it, you would have been helping others more.

I really learnt my life lesson.

wow "Then i realized many fake friends are the ones that will disturb you most in good times. Your might not help your best friends much because they wont disturb and before you notice it, you would have been helping others more."

this happened to me a while ago, i was helping ramdon people instead of helping the people who were there with me when one else cared. The people who cared about you,dont want to disturb but those that does out of nowhere are the snakes.

The thing with money is that even if you are lying, in the eye of some people you are speaking the truth.

People are always ready to here what you have to say even there's nothing to talk about

I made about $150K a year for a few years in San Diego. I was a single mom, no child support, and working hard. I spent my money on "experiences" instead of things in the small amount of time I had off and tried to enjoy it all.

I also saved money as best I could. I was extremely grateful for the excellent pay and was glad for the lifestyle it gave me and my son. I donated to local causes and ate out a lot due to time issues. I was also traveling many times a year for the job. It was a hectic time.

Looking back - I would have been happier to make less money and have more time with my son, but I did the best I could at the time.

I've worked for mega-wealthy people often and don't find them to be happy - in general. I've lived with and around destitute people and find them to be much happier - in general.

Now I make almost no money and have a much more laid back life. I'm still driven to work, but money is not a big part of that. I do what I can to make enough money to live a frugal life and that seems to work fine for me :)

Money rich doesn't mean wealthy. A money rich person could be unhappy if all they have is money. But a truly wealthy person could be miserable if all they lack is money.

Yes, it's lonely up there and few can handle it from what I've ever seen.

@dana-edwards The reason is that we are running after money
but the question is that if we are earning 200,000$ then how we are unable to fulfill our expenses becoz it is not alittle amount?

I feel the same, just with nicer things. Nothing really changes from $75k-200k ... same iPhone, same laptops, same tv’s etc etc... only big difference is that we have more fiat to invest in other business lol

BINGO @stackin.......Money is wonderful in many ways and can make life more comfortable. Happiness is always found within yourself.

Nice question @dana-edwards
If I earn more than most people I know imy country...it will come with great responsibility as people will look up to me for support. I come from an extended family setting as such grew up knowing about sharing with others...more so, work in community development projects in rural areas and understand what scarcity of funds entails...so if I earn so much...I set money aside for community projects...and empower the youth into getting education especially the girl child...for sustainability...

I see money just as a tool a convention between two or more parts. They are important dont get me wrong but if you live your life just running after them you will never be happy!😉
So it doesnt matter how much you make or how much you spend its important to be happy and enjoy everything that you do in life and i think this should be the same here on Steemit. If you enjoy what you are doing all the rest will follow!😉
Have an amazing day and always Steem On!

@georgemales well said and as a 60 year old to this point in life I know that chasing money does not necessarily make you happy.

Have you ever had money?

Yes, I also do now @dana-edwards. I enjoy your thought provoking writings.

Do you say this as someone with a high paying job?

I dont have a high paying job!

I think it depends on the person. Some people with caring natures give back to society as there's little need for greed and get joy helping others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51