You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is it like to earn over $200,000 a year?

in #life7 years ago

I made about $150K a year for a few years in San Diego. I was a single mom, no child support, and working hard. I spent my money on "experiences" instead of things in the small amount of time I had off and tried to enjoy it all.

I also saved money as best I could. I was extremely grateful for the excellent pay and was glad for the lifestyle it gave me and my son. I donated to local causes and ate out a lot due to time issues. I was also traveling many times a year for the job. It was a hectic time.

Looking back - I would have been happier to make less money and have more time with my son, but I did the best I could at the time.

I've worked for mega-wealthy people often and don't find them to be happy - in general. I've lived with and around destitute people and find them to be much happier - in general.

Now I make almost no money and have a much more laid back life. I'm still driven to work, but money is not a big part of that. I do what I can to make enough money to live a frugal life and that seems to work fine for me :)

Sort:  

Money rich doesn't mean wealthy. A money rich person could be unhappy if all they have is money. But a truly wealthy person could be miserable if all they lack is money.

Yes, it's lonely up there and few can handle it from what I've ever seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81