What if I told you, "Jesus came to abolish religion?" Upvote & Comment To Win $$$

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Jesus > Religion

Today I wanna share with you guys a video from one of my favorite Christians. His name is Jefferson Bethke. This video that I'm about to share has got more than 32 million views on YouTube so you may have already seen it but it will never get old!

Upvote and comment to win some cash...

I plan to give 20% of my rewards for each post to one curator who has both upvoted and commented on my post so don't forget to upvote and comment! You don't have to resteem but I would be extremely thankful if you do; so much so that I will probably be more likely to pick you!

Sort:  

ad hominum attacks on something he doesn't fully understand. The real problem here is with cats. They scratch people all the time and crap in our gardens. Cats have absolutely no redeeming qualities. I should know. My neighbor has a cat.

Jesus is indeed greater that religion! :]

I love this post. I hope to be able to share some knowledge like this as well. I see your into philosophy and FOREX. I trade as well :) follow me @morningmoon

I'm not into FOREX but Thanks for commenting! :)

Very interesting video!

I've seen this before. I liked it then, I like it now. I completely agree with this view. I have felt the same way since I was a child. Having to go to church to dress 'appropriately'. Be there at a certain time, act a certain way...
It felt fake, I couldn't be myself, if that was the case then, why go and pretend? For what purpose? It is a status. The bible is nothing more or less than a book of statues that man created to keep people in check. 'Obey these laws or your soul will burn in hell for eternity'. Quite the motivating consequence to keep in line with the 'religious laws'.
I am spiritual. I believe in energy. It like the person described in the bible and various other religious books, for their respective prophets, is all around us all the time. It is my personal belief that energy and (pick your savior) are one in the same, and they couldn't describe with their limited resources available, what it was that was causing the things going on around them. They had to create an image. Something to make sense of an otherwise scary place that they didn't understand. Introducing (pick your savior)...
I don't have all the time needed to fully respond and explain my stance, as this is a VERY large, and intriguing subject matter.
BTW I didn't come here for anything other than to share a view. So thanks for posting. Getting a rested RESTEEM (Damn auto correct) as well, cause I like his message for the most part and it does need to be heard.

Be Well!!!

Chris

Edit: Lastly, I don't care that he believes in Jesus. the goal is to be kind to one another. If he needed Jesus to see that fine by me. be well

Congratulations! You won the prize for this post. Thank you for upvoting and commenting. I have transferred 20% of my own rewards to your account. Hope you have a wonderful day! xoxo

Thanks for commenting and sharing your view! :)

Thank you Very Much!!! Very cool. Be Well :)
Chris

Yes, it's about relationship, not rituals or do's and dont's..

Congratulations @dailygiveaway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Where in the Bible is the Church defined as anything akin to a "hospital for the broken" as stated in this video?

It's poetic metaphor. He's not reading from the bible.

Jesus quoted Isaiah 61, saying about Himself,

"18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised"

The Church is said to be the "Body of Christ":

1 Cor 12:27 - "Now you are the body of Christ and individually rmembers of it."

So, it stands to reason that if the Church is supposed to carry on the mission of Jesus then we can expect His church to have a high regard for the broken-hearted, or "broken."

That verse says, and Jesus said, that he came to heal the broken (and he does). It would stand to reason that the Church is the body of those who have been healed of their brokenness. It was when those professing Christ allowed the broken to enter their fellowship without healing them first (as Jesus would) that Christianity became a religion by the fourth century. How and why they lost the power to heal is another subject.

Your determination to be critical is impressive!

Let me try this another way. You see, in poetry, sometimes people use descriptive phrases that aren't entirely accurate but still enable the reader/listener to for a mental picture of the concepts being conveyed. Nobody expects the imaginative phrases to be understood literally. Usually, poems aren't held to the same standards as a systematic theology.

The man is using his talents to create poetry and videos that spread the Gospel, I'm not sure what part of that deserves criticism. Your views on what exactly is the function of the church and your understanding of church history aren't the only way to understand those topics. I know this without knowing your views because I know both topics to be debatable.

Here's a better question for you: where in the Bible can you find justification for being critical of another believer's attempt to spread the Gospel?

My original question was based on something that was said. Your question is based on your judgement that I'm being critical. If I answer your question, that would imply that I intended to be critical, which I wasn't.

Thanks for commenting! :)

On hearing this, Jesus said to them, "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." -Mark 2:17

If God hated religion, why did he give one to Israel? Is not religion a system of faith and worship? Are we not called to have faith and worship God? By definition then we have a religion.

Religion does not automatically mean man-made. If you say, I have no religion, I'm a Christian..will that make sense to anyone in the world?

I'm just a bit confused by this or perhaps by your definition of the word.

James 1:27 Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world.

It is not religion that is bad..it is how we practice our religion.

I think what he means by religion is organized religion and I agree with him. True Christianity has never been an organized religion and never will be. It started with a homeless man named Jesus who was kicked out of organized buildings! So were his followers! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40