You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if I told you, "Jesus came to abolish religion?" Upvote & Comment To Win $$$

in #life7 years ago

Where in the Bible is the Church defined as anything akin to a "hospital for the broken" as stated in this video?

Sort:  

It's poetic metaphor. He's not reading from the bible.

Jesus quoted Isaiah 61, saying about Himself,

"18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised"

The Church is said to be the "Body of Christ":

1 Cor 12:27 - "Now you are the body of Christ and individually rmembers of it."

So, it stands to reason that if the Church is supposed to carry on the mission of Jesus then we can expect His church to have a high regard for the broken-hearted, or "broken."

That verse says, and Jesus said, that he came to heal the broken (and he does). It would stand to reason that the Church is the body of those who have been healed of their brokenness. It was when those professing Christ allowed the broken to enter their fellowship without healing them first (as Jesus would) that Christianity became a religion by the fourth century. How and why they lost the power to heal is another subject.

Your determination to be critical is impressive!

Let me try this another way. You see, in poetry, sometimes people use descriptive phrases that aren't entirely accurate but still enable the reader/listener to for a mental picture of the concepts being conveyed. Nobody expects the imaginative phrases to be understood literally. Usually, poems aren't held to the same standards as a systematic theology.

The man is using his talents to create poetry and videos that spread the Gospel, I'm not sure what part of that deserves criticism. Your views on what exactly is the function of the church and your understanding of church history aren't the only way to understand those topics. I know this without knowing your views because I know both topics to be debatable.

Here's a better question for you: where in the Bible can you find justification for being critical of another believer's attempt to spread the Gospel?

My original question was based on something that was said. Your question is based on your judgement that I'm being critical. If I answer your question, that would imply that I intended to be critical, which I wasn't.

Thanks for commenting! :)

On hearing this, Jesus said to them, "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." -Mark 2:17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69