Social media isn't as social as it could be...

in #life7 years ago

you-damn-kids-ruining-everything-with-forward-thinking.jpg
Photo Credited to memesbot.com

One of the worst things is not being able to go to sleep because you are so deep I thought about something that you just can’t settle into the bed to rest…. Tonight is one of those nights for me. The reason is simple, a man that is like an uncle to me, somewhat that I admire, and respect posted something on Facebook, that in short said Facebook isn’t the place to post your personal thoughts, problems or triumphs.

Now if I had read this years ago I would have been devastated. See as a younger man I had to learn most things the hard way trial and error, and every so often I would be gifted information I didn’t know and could apply. That was before marriage, children, the daily hustle and bustle of the rat race we call life, in short it was before adulting was my permeant occupation. That’s not to say that I still don’t learn from trial and error, or front gifts of information, this is to say that I have now added another resource to my belt, social media. See in my world, I must steal time, most days to listen to that favorite talk radio, or stay up till odd hours to research information or to simply get a better understanding of something.

This is a new problem as our parents and grandparents were gifted information from everyone around them that came before them, warranted or not. I remember my grandmother fussing at my mom about what my brother and I should be able to do. I remember my uncle telling my dad that I was going to revolt if they didn’t give me more freedoms. I remember people I went to church with telling my parents, that I was gifted in certain areas, and how to help me mature those gifts.

Willsmithcinfused.jpg
Photo Credited to Happy-Wishes.net

Things are different now, the ones that came before us are trying to just maintain most of the time. Investing their knowledge or life experience in a younger generation isn’t even a priority seemingly. So, our generation in some instances have pooled experiences to get the guidance or clarity needed from their peers, because the alternative is trial and error at the expense of something or someone else…. There isn’t an archive of informational how-to’s , or archived action plans on what to do next. So, we turn to the platform that was created by us, to get the answers they have but are too busy to share.

After all, what is social media? Is it a platform for all the news fads, or a network for you to further your business, or a way for you to see how life is different for someone else, or a way to keep in contact with distant (and sometimes close) relatives? In short, I view social media as all of these, it’s your profile and your platform no matter your age, sex, race, or sexual preference. Your social media is yours alone, so no one has the right to tell you what to post or not to… If you don’t like something you see keep scrolling. If it moves you so much that you need to respond offer help, insight, advice, or something else to contribute. That can even mean an ear for someone to vent because usually, it ended up on social media because there was no other outlet or support. You never know what people are going through, always be kind, and helpful if you can…

Original Work by DaddyK314

Sort:  

Congratulations @daddyk314! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @daddyk314! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34