Are You Infected by the YES-Virus? Is Saying NO To Others Difficult for You?

in #life6 years ago

Next to spending my time on Steemit and doing research on cryptocurrencies and blockchain, I also like to dive into the world of personal time & life management. Once in a while I write about that here on Steemit.

Let’s talk about the YES-virus. It is very common and a lot of people, including myself, suffer from it. Saying yes to almost anything and helping others at the expense of getting your own stuff done and doing things for yourself. You might recognize it :-)


sayingyesvirus.jpg
Image source

Saying NO to friends, family, neighbours or other acquaintances is something a lot of us are not good at. This, while it is actually not that difficult and it could save you a huge load of time. Especially when you say no to that little task or job that somebody else is trying to ‘give’ to you. Because ‘you’re so good at it’ ;-)

“Could you please do that for me? You’re always so good at it!”

One of my heroes, Gary Vaynerchuk, has a few interesting things to say about it. The video only costs you 3 minutes of your time and it is definitely worth it!



Starting now, say NO more often. It's okay and it is eye-opening!

Cheers


---> 👍🏼 Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, crypto related articles and inspiring articles about personal time & life management.
---> 👍🏼 Resteems and upvotes are appreciated ;-)


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort:  

I can totally relate to this article. Lots of us need anti-YES pills to save us from the YES syndrome.

At a point in my life, it dawned on me that I've cheated on my beloved self so much by always saying NO to myself while saying YES to others. It was as if I was under a spell. Sadly, I figured out it was as a result of low self confidence (esteem).

Consequently, I downloaded materials, worked hard at building confidence. Within months, I had boosted enough confidence to say 'MAYBE'. It wasn't enough still because I always used explanations to backup the 'maybe'.

So, I worked harder till I got to where I could say NO to people without explanations. That's where I experienced true happiness.

@cryptotem Cheers 🍻

Very cool to hear what you did with it @fada.emma!

Have you developed one or two 'tricks' for yourself that you would want to share?

i) I realized that whenever my NO was accompanied by an excuse, people always found reasons to contest my explanations. So, I had to just learn to say NO without a detailed explanation...

It worked (most times).

Time is something that will never return, do not waste it on things you do not want to do. Time is the most expensive resource.

True, it is even the only non-renewable resource!

So true @francuzz & @cryptotem!

Lost time can never be regained/recovered!

Yeah i hav that virus too. Thanks for the disclaimer, would always do that

Everybody has it to some extent I guess. Did you manage to level it down a bit in the past years?

Not really. Still feel bad anytime i say NO

Have you tried to challenge yourself to do it for a week? That usually starts helping you to feel more comfortable saying that.

You are from Nigeria I see. To what extent is saying Yes baked into your culture?

Nah I haven't done that. Owk I think i will give it a try.
Yeah m Nigerian. Saying yes depends on the individual but we are very respectful of elders, so sometimes saying NO to an elderly one is deem rude at times

I can imagine that makes it more difficult :-)

Not quite.
Thanks anyways for your efforts
Really enjoyed stopping by, looking forward to more Post from you

I agree with you here... Time is so important but saying No is something you can master..

Definitely David! Based on you username I would say you're from Amsterdam, The Netherlands like me. People here really are time-oriented ;-)

Yes thats correct! Nice to meet a fellow Amsterdammer 👍

Yes.

Wait, what?

Hi, @cryptotem! It is good that you have written about this subject. ... and it's very well said, "Yes, virus", because many people are infected with this virus. I know people for whom it is extremely hard to say "NO" and they say "Yes" to anything. This causes a lot of stress, and it often brings them to a state of frustration and dissatisfaction, and provoke a lot of troubles. Thank God I do not find myself infected with this virus. However, I have to admit that, I have suffered it a few times. ;)

Thanks @didutza! It's a very common virus and I am glad you don't suffer from it like some other people do :-) It is a good skill, to be able to say NO.

In Aceh we can say no to the serious matter we dont agree. Sometimes for the light matter , or we just smile. 😑

Release the Kraken! You got a 21.43% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @cryptotem!

You got a 9.02% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @cryptotem!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received gratitude of 6.72 % from @appreciator thanks to: @cryptotem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65