The handyman

in #life5 years ago

iStock_000005816971Large-1.jpg
source

How many times do we start out with good intentions that end with disastrous results. My family has stopped asking me to do things unless it is changing a light bulb or something basic. I never had a father I I could learn from like some of my friends could. I don't even know if he could have changed a light bulb.

My first project was cleaning down some old chairs and restoring them.First I had to knock out all the joint sand chisel down the excess glue making a cleaner stronger fit. Sounds easy so I was game and got stuck in until I put the chisel through the top of my hand. I asked for a plaster as i didn't think it was that bad. The bones are close to the skin anyway and I could see two of them. After a trip to the hospital and a quick repair with no serious damage done I was told not to carry on.

Electrical appliances are fun and fairly basic. How hard can they be to fix? The washing machine had a drum that wasn't spinning anymore and thought if I strip it down I would find the fault. No fault found and I had loads of bits lying around. Before causing more problems I went and bought a replacement so the washing machine was now fixed lol.


source

You tube with the DIY fixes that have been loaded there look far easier than what they actually are and I have learnt to not attempt things now. The last DIY accident I had was a 25 liter bucket of paint. I was renovating the house in England preparing it for sale and my son who was a little terror in those days tipped it over and I had 25 liters of paint flowing down the staircase soaking into the carpet at the same time. I managed to retrieve about 15 liters back from scraping it up and god knows where the other 10 liters went. The carpet came out fine afterwards thank fully but I know there is most likely 10 liters in the under felt.

I bought this up now as I have been looking around the house as what needs to be done and if I am honest i need some help so I will be finding a handyman to start working on the list of tasks that need doing.I have learnt it will be cheaper if I leave them alone and pay someone else to do it.

Sort:  

Yes mate some jobs are best left to others! Reminds me of when l tried to replace a steering ball joint on a car without a ball joint splitter. I gave up after a couple of hours using a blow torch.

My hero. I've missed you so. How have you been?

Lol. You sound as though you are worse than me. I did touch the car once and it was just removing the radiator so I managed it ok and got it back in after a quick fix. You are right ,just don't touch.

My best friend is a handyman so I usually just call him. Between my dad and him I have picked up some skills through the years so I am kind of dangerous on my own too. I have replaced the drum slides on our clothes dryer and one time a sock got stuck in the pump of our washing machine. I had to tear the whole thing apart but it was a pretty easy fix. When in doubt it is always best to call the professionals though!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Electrical appliances are fun and fairly basic. How hard can they be to fix?

Famous last words...lol

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Sorry to hear that. You need to practice, otherwise you won't learn. I remember when I first fixed the sink. I had to redo it three times because each time I left something out. Now I know how to do it.

YOU ARE A GENIUS!! Purposefully making a mistake so your family would never ask you to do DIY again. I should of thought of that ages ago ! The chisel your finger off is a good one. I would happily sacrifice my pinkie for an easy life!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptoand coffee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 9.12% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78