Fondant and Modelling Paste Recipes - Gratitude #22steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Icing sugar, CMC, glycerin, liquid glucose, powdered gelatine

Fondant is also known as sugar paste and is available from cake baking / decorating suppliers. They come in a variety of colours.

When I first started using fondant to decorate my cakes I bought the only two brands available back then. One tasted nice but the other didn’t. So if you’re buying you’ll have to find the brand you like and stick to it.

There are two cake baking / decorating suppliers in my locality but only one of them sells fondant and only in small quantities and three colours. So I am very grateful that I’ve learned to make my own and it tastes good.

It will definitely be a bit difficult when you first make it. You’ll think you’ve got everything ready and remembered all the steps. I guarantee you will go back to the recipe again and again as you go along! I did! 😅

Here is the recipe:


I made a few changes. Instead of double-boiling the spongy gelatine I microwave it on high for about 30 seconds and stir till the gelatine is dissolved before adding the glycerin and glucose. I’m all about easy and short cuts 😁✌🏻

I find 1 kg icing too much so I remove and reserve one cup of the sifted icing sugar before adding the liquid ingredients. Keep sprinkling icing on the fondant until it’s smooth and pliable.

This recipe is used to cover cakes. Although the instructions say you can store and use it another day I don’t. I use it immediately. I found the texture a bit “crumbly” and hard to knead when I kept it for the next day.

If you need to colour the fondant it is advisable to use gel colouring. Although gel will make the fondant sticky, liquid will make it stickier. As above, keep adding icing until the fondant is smooth and pliable.

Everything is trial and error, and feel. If you’ve never worked with fondant before I would advice you to buy a small piece to get a feel of it.


2-tier fondant covered cake

Modelling paste is firmer than fondant and I use this to make flowers, figures and decorative details. Here is the recipe:


I use CMC instead of gum tragacanth because that’s what my supplier has. I add about 1 tsp CMC to 500gm of fondant and I wrap and store it for several hours or overnight before colouring and using it. And I never use the microwave oven to warm it. I always knead it till it’s right and add more CMC if needed.

Here are some examples of what you can make with modelling paste.



 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/06/29/fondant-and-modelling-paste-recipe-gratitude-21/

Sort:  

Wow! The colors are vibrant and the designs are so beautiful!

Thanks! 😊

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @crazymum! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57225.87
ETH 2353.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37