How to Raise Fantastic Children - Part 1

in #life8 years ago (edited)

The Crown Family Photo

My Family is Pretty Cool

Family

My favorite people in the world are my children. They are kind, generous, full of life, fun to be around and crazy creative. They are really cool people.

We have four children, Alex, Ashley, Abby and Austin. My wife's idea to name them all "A" names. They are referred to as the "A Team".

We have a close family. We argue very little and maintain open communication. We have treated them like people from early on and they have behaved as such.

Guitar

An Eye Opening Experience

A few weeks ago I was in Dallas visiting a friend whom I had not seen in many years. There were other people there as well that I had also not seen in a very long time. I struck up a conversation with one of them and the discussion of family ensued. He told me about his children and what it had been like for him to become a father. He has a wonderful family with children that are still very young. When the time came for me to share about my children, I began listing off what each one was doing from the oldest to the youngest. Before I could get to the youngest one, his mouth was gaped open and he burst out, "What are you feeding them!" We had a big laugh as I told him about the youngest and expanded on our philosophy of family.

We have had many compliments on our children throughout their life. Even today, the people with whom they interact; family, friends and the people who work with them in stage productions, make a point of complimenting them. I am around them all the time, and many of their friends are homeschooled as well so sometimes I forget how special they are and the impact they have on others.

Railroad tracks

Why Am I Sharing

I hope to convey a few things here. First, if you are considering homeschooling and have reservations, may these stories encourage you. If you already homeschool and wonder if it is all worth it, maybe our stories will give you hope and encouragement as well.

And lastly, I am proud of them and want to share their success with you.

Sis

Why We Homeschool

My personal experience in public schools was a nightmare. I moved a lot when I was young and changed schools every three to six months. During one stretch of five years, I switched schools nineteen times. I did not build long term relationships and being the new kid all the time often created struggles with teachers.

There is a very long story to my history so I will not get into that here. It is however, the main reason I became excited about homeschooling when my wife suggested it.

Our Oldest Child Alex

Alex

Alex has always been intelligent as I believe all children are. He had memorized many of the family members phone numbers and home addresses by the time he was six. We started him off in Montessori school at age four where he attended three years. We would have kept him in Montessori but they did not offer classes above six years old.

At that time my wife was still concerned about her ability to homeschool so we enrolled him in a Christian private school for one year. After that, she had researched enough to build her confidence. She was ready to go. (As the years went by, she found out that she was more than capable. We are guides.)

Pre-Teen

Sis

Alex took two years of Latin and one year of Japanese. He acted in plays and did what most children do, play a lot.

Teen Years

Sis

Many people will tell you that you will have to deal with the teenage years. "Brace yourself," they will say. "You will become their enemy!" We did not experience this with Alex or our other children. Alex would come to me for advice about issues him and his friends were discussing. When he would share how I reacted to some of our serious conversations, his friends were astonished and would respond with descriptions of their parents exploding if they attempted to have the same discussions with their parents.

Keeping your cool when one of your children comes to you with a confession is a sure way to have them trust you with other issues of concern.

During his teen years, Alex took CLEP tests and earned twelve college hours.

At sixteen, he began to gain interest in programming. I had introduced it to him when he was nine but he wasn't interested. Then again around eleven but still no interest. At sixteen, the interest was all his. Had I forced him to do it earlier, he may have never liked it.

Graduation

Becoming an Adult

Alex

One his eighteenth birthday, he begin working his first job as a software developer. He was hired as an apprentice and was promoted to junior developer after only three months. At that time, he began mentoring two of his friends. Within a few months he had taken on a third person to mentor. Within a year or so, each of them have now changed their path and work as software developers. It has significantly changed their lives. Alex just recently began mentoring another friend. Pretty cool to pass forward. He had received help from some of my co-workers early on which made all the difference in his progression.

He now speaks French and Mandarin and has aspirations to learn many more. He has traveled to seven countries and has an arrangement with his employer to work from anywhere in the world as long as he is at the office for part of the year.

Alex

He gives technical talks at local meet ups, plays both acoustic and electric guitar, has never met a stranger and has made no enemies.

He is an inspiration to others, his family and siblings. The bar has been set high but the other children have many interests and accomplishments of their own. I'll share those in subsequent posts.

Leon

What was our part?

My wife has worked hard to keep them supplied with good school material, staying compliant with state requirements and providing some structure for learning. We never set up a school room like environment. There are never set hours of study. Homeschooling hours vary depending on the age of the child and what they are working on at that phase of their education. I would say that most of the time they spend less time doing actual school work and the rest of the time exploring, using their imagination and focusing their energy on things they are interested in.

For Alex, that was a foreign language. Other times it was memorizing all the Pokemon cards and building decks and playing in tournaments. Alex said one of the things that has helped him so much in learning new things was the fact that he had memorized so much Pokemon data. He developed the ability to store and retrieve things in his mind.

The simple fact is… we didn't do it. Alex did. He deserves all the credit. He did all the work. We provided the canvas, the paint and the paintbrushes.

Conclusion

I feel we have a pretty cool family. There are many ways to raise your children. The most important thing is to love them unconditionally, give them room to grow and treat them as you would your very best friend. They are people and are smarter than most give them credit.

I hope I have been able to convey how proud we are of Alex. These are but a few highlights of his life as he is only twenty-one. There is so much in store for him.

I am so grateful that as much as possible we have given Alex the opportunity to live life on his own terms and he has flourished.

Sort:  

Nice article, I think you and your wife deserve a few of the credits for what Alex has accomplished. There were things Alex couldn't decide for himself when he was a child which is the most important phase for anyone to have a great foundation in all aspects of life. Many kids gets f...** up as early as 4 because of the very high expectations parents set for them - which if you would root - projects mostly their own dreams. You and your wife built Alex' confidence your way - FOR ALEX' sake and another kudos to that.
So Alex has been to Amsterdam(saw it on one of the pic there) or is he there now? Kudos for being so proud of your kids, not many parents compliment their kids these days and actually, in my experience - even when I tend to overdo it to boost my student's confidence - it gives the same effect of a minnow's vote compared to that of a whale. No amount of "You're amazing!" or "See you're getting better!" would cover up for "This is not good enough" that they hear from their parents. No amount of standing up for any child against their too pushy parents would help build any child's confidence but many parents don't realize that. They want children to be high achievers - not realizing that one of the key to achieving that is not be their own child's bully. I am not a parent but I resonate with your article because for every child I've taught - I felt the same. Sometimes, I wish there's a book of "Proper Parenting" written in step by step way about which really works to mold any child into becoming the best version he or she can be - most books related to that is either written in a story form and not bluntly put to any "aspiring parents" plate. Most of them - just stay on shelves not getting sold. I'm sure glad to have bumped in your post, I'll be checking out more of it and will be sharing for my other world of posts somewhere on the other side of the earth I'm in.

Thank you for the compliment. Alex was in Amsterdam but I believe he was only there a short time. He has traveled a few more places this this article was written. He will be a lifelong traveler. Very inspiring.

@craigwilliamz .. Keep writing !
I was waiting for the part 2 but it hasn't arrived - I hope you go on!
Full steem ahead!

Thanks! The next one is in progress. I've been on an extended vacation but that is wrapping up.

thanks for sharing. parenting is the most important job in the world.

Your welcome and I totally agree. I think I learn as much as they do.

Felicitaciones a toda la familia, en la union esta la fuerza! jajajaja
Mucho amor de nuestra familia a la suya! El amor siempre debe estar muy presente.

Congratulations to the whole family, in union there is strength! LOL
Much love from our family to yours ! Love must always be very present

Thank you and so true!

Wow! I hope to be a parent just like you guys one day! This is how I envision my family, with some key difference of course. Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63