Vacation Vlog // Reflecting on the Importance of Deepening our Connections with Others

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I am sad to report that this is my FINAL vacation vlog! I am here in Palm Springs with two of the people that I love most in the entire world - my boyfriend @raised2b and our good friend Teresa. (Our friend Sandy was here for a couple days too) It has felt so amazing to spend a few days doing nothing but having fun and connecting deeply with some of my favorite people.

My soul feels full of joy and love and it has made me realize how often times relationships and friendships can take a backseat when we are in the midst of running around and living our daily lives.

Why is this?

Work is Deadline Focused... Relationships are Not



One of the things that I have found to be true... is that if I am swamped with work or getting a project done - I usually don't stop to think about sending a quick text to a family member, or getting together with a friend. Most work or business or projects tend to have deadlines associated with them... where friendships don't. This means that it's easy to get swept up in work and make less time for connection.

The 75 Harvard Study on Happiness



Some of you have probably heard of this study - in fact @happymoneyman talked all about it in his talk at the Steem Creators Conference! (He's amazing by the way... I would highly recommend checking out his page). Basically, the researchers spent 75 years interviewing people on their death bed asking them what they regret most in life.

No surprise here...but no one said they wished they had worked more. In fact, a resounding finding from the research was that people wish they had spent more time with those they loved. The ultimate findings from this study showed that the number one way to increase happiness in your life - is to deepen the quality of your connections.

The Difference with Activity Friends



One area that I think I do really well at staying connected, is with friends that I have certain common activities with. For example, maybe we dance together, or love getting together to watch Seahawks games. Whatever the activity may be - there is a cause and a reason to get together, and so we are better at spending time together on a regular basis.

What I struggle with are friends and family members that I don't see as often. Out of side out of mind, I guess. This is where I personally want to improve coming out of this vacation.

Who Could You Reach out to Today?



Here's a quick challenge. Think of someone that you love, that really means a lot to you - but you have'nt reached out to in a long time. Send them a quick text or email saying that you are thinking of them. It could make their entire day and takes you about 30 seconds.


Thanks so much for watching/reading! I'm sad to be heading back to rainy Washington tomorrow, but I have really enjoyed reflecting on the great times I've had this vacation. I think i'm going to go hit the pool now and soak in the last few rays of sunshine!

Love you guys. <3

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


Gear That I Used in this Vlog


To add an extra layer of value and transparancy to my vlog's - I have started listing the gear I use at the bottom. Today’s setup was a little more minimal because it was filmed while traveling. If you ever have questions about the gear I use or how I use it – please don’t hesitate to ask!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Having moved across the country from all my friends and family I'm super guilty of this! Sometimes I'll go a whole month without speaking to my friends back home. Going to tell my bestie I love her rn!

  • Iris

Aww love it!! I’m sure she will love hearing from you! ♥️

Glad to hear you had a relaxing vacation that is actually a "vacation." Most of the time we do so many activities during a vacation it becomes work and we get home exhausted haha. It's nice that you took some valuable lessons out of the vacation. Like connecting with family/friends always an important one! ❤️

Hey @coruscate, sure seems like it was a powerful vacation to be soaking up with these special ones in your world. Cheers, friend. Wishing you the best and also safe travels on your way back.

In fact, a strong finding of the research was that people wished they had spent more time with those they loved. The latest findings of this study showed that the number one way to increase happiness in your life is to deepen the quality of your connections.

this seems to me a great truth, but since childhood they instill in us a work mentality to progress and with that progress we can be happy, knowing that shared happiness is much better, because of my work, my home, my son, I have neglected all my friendships, maybe the distance and the current situation of the country will contribute a little to my head always looking for a way out of the economic problems, without looking for a time for us, the hard part of all this, is that we become aware of the benefit that relationships give us when it is too late, about to die, I believe that educating ourselves as children will change many things, for my part I will instill in my little one to share with his little friends, thank you for sharing, happy night.

I think what you say it's true, and I will take that into account specially now that I'm sick , I'm not even able to post on Steemit I barely get to read some posts daily, and I don't know if if I ever end up in a hospital bed I will really regret not spending time with the ones that I love.

This was an eye-opener for me. Maybe what I need is a break to spend more time with my friends and my family. Even with the ones who have left the country or my internet friends, I need to talk to them more often at least through Skype. And also spend more time with the ones that still live here before they leave the country too.

You are one of my favorite bloggers @coruscate! n.n

My best wishes for you and your beloved ones.

Palm Spring, I thought that place was only for gay men

Hello !! Here reading to you as always, it is true that sometimes the work is not absorbed and how nice that you have spent a time of calm with your loved ones but that the holidays are left behind, the question is that you can never leave your loved ones Dear friends who want to help children get home, children are happy to share them with their loved ones. Dedicated always on time to family and friends and Sundays is perfect for that, as well as not to your loved ones and not to your jobs. regards

hello @coruscate I like your vlog and followed you. hope to get a folow back

Great! It is good that you are enjoying your life. Having a good time is everything for human beings. Always have a nice time in your life.

I loved your post too good greetings from Venezuela

down here I'll leave the link of some of my post I hope you read it and support me because my low level of reputation does not resound much the support of people

Link..https://steemit.com/motivation/@marcia1/never-give-up-raise-your-hand-and-keep-going

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45