My Personal Experience with Photorefractive Keratectomy (PRK) Eye Corrective Surgery.

in #life6 years ago

I decide to spend the remainder of my health savings account funds for 2017 on corrective eye surgery. Wanted to write a post about my experience in hopes that others will read it to get a better idea of what to expect. Today is the first day that my eyes have not had any discomfort thirteen days from the surgery.

IMG_20180102_232853_1.jpg

Before the surgery the optometrist told me the recovery time was three to five days which I feel was a bit deceiving. Though one could return to work without risking catastrophe, they would have to get a ride there because I personally felt it was unsafe to drive at all that first seven days. On day 7 your band-aid contacts are removed making things a lot more comfortable on day 7 making driving easier.


no subject    codydietz vossauto net   Voss Auto Mail.png

My advice would be two schedule about two weeks off from any social or work requirements if possible. I found that in that first week the haze that comes from the healing of the corneas is very hard to see through and becomes harder as you proceed through the day. In the best case scenario I would just sleep as much as possible that first week. Once the contacts are out you will be seeing much better

Snapchat-278587797.jpg

I made an attempt to return to work on day 5 but turned my car around about two blocks down the road after realizing that highway driving with my vision the way it was would have me panicking. On day 6 I got a ride to work from my father and wore the wonderful sunglasses pictured above. I am in IT so I set the resolution on my monitor as low as I could and still had to sit very close. With the contrast and brightness down I was still able to only get about two to three hours of work in before my vision worsened and the pain was too much.

IMG_20171229_214711.jpg

There were some unforeseen psychological aspects of no longer wearing glasses. I am known as "the guy" when comes to all things technical and glasses were very much a part of that persona. I still find myself reaching to take them off before bed and reaching to put them on in the morning. Kind of have a moment when nothing is there, I wonder how long this aspect of it will take to go away. Have spent the majority of my life wearing glasses and the freedom is new.

IMG_20180112_141218.jpg

My vision is not perfect yet but there is no discomfort and I can see pretty well. From what I read it can take anywhere from 3 months to 6 months for full stabilization but will be completely healed by the end of next week. I decided to take a little spin in VR to see how that was. The headset was a lot more comfortable without glasses and the interface looked fine. I have been seeing some posts about augmented reality goggles that cannot be used with glasses, seems as though I got my surgery just in time!


badge9badge1badge5badge3badge4SteemVerify

Sort:  

Those post surgery pictures look painful. I'm glad the discomfort and pain is finally giving you more relief.

Yea, I like how your dad kept saying over and over again how swollen my face was...

LOL "didn't have surgery on my face DAD"

Wish I could have caught you before you had it done. I wish you the very best. I was the manager of a ophthalmology clinic when the FDA approved these corrective procedures. There is a LOT of deception about how much pain most people experience and about the severity of the halos they see.
I know glasses and contacts are bothersome, but these are doctors who cut on a very delicate organ - and an otherwise healthy one - for profit. It is really sad, something I am not very proud that I was part of.
I wish you full and speedy recovery, and I hope others heed your warning (and mine.)

Yes! Exactly! Technically my procedure didn't cut anything and it was more of a sanding. The optometrist I went to has a great reputation for excellence and is highly respected in the community. Without that kind of background of the individual doing it I may never have. Went to one place before and was alarmed at the lack of precision in their processing.

My eyes are watering just thinking about it. OUCH!
Glad you are healing - not soon enough!

So far so good. Thanks!

Good news my friend! I hope you have a full recovery soon

Thank you, I do also. I kind of went into not expecting this long of a recovery. Had I known more a bit about what I was getting into it may have been a bit less stressful.

As we say in Venezuela, you're already in the boat, so let the tide take you. Best of luck

oh wow, any comments on the Petro coming out Sunday? That is a pretty big deal right?

I'm still not very sure. So far it seems to be another mechanism of control by the government, this time in the form of a cryptocurrency. For example, to obtain them, at the beginning, you need to have a card that belongs to the government party, with a barcode, which is a control mechanism where all your information is, including your social networks. Afterwards, it is said that mining, in the first instance, is only exercised by the government, in order to have absolute control and knowledge of those who have the Petros. So we'll have to wait, I really do not think it's going to be something that leads to a good end, but I can be wrong.

Right, had no idea it was launching with those kind of parameters. Was thinking even in the worst case it could bring awareness to the technology and potential uses in state sanctioned currencies.

Yes, at the beginning it seemed to be an excellent idea, but we'll see what the result will be.

You got a 0.73% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @codydeeds! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you @codydeeds for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.57% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Would you come back to me with your very successful requests?

You got a 0.61% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @codydeeds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66