Human values:Non-violence (Love in feeling)-looking back

in #life7 years ago

love-822501_640.png

Hi all,😊


Last week I posted about the last human value: Non-violence ( Love in feeling/understanding). Now it is time to look back at my journey that I had with it and hopefully we can also look back at your journeys with it in the comments.

This time I hadn't shared the sub-values of non-violence with you, we just would focus on non-violence it self. Maybe it is interesting to take a look at the list of sub-values now, and see which ones were present for us while exploring non-violence:


Non-violence (Love in feeling/understanding)


Appreciation of other cultures and religions,

brotherhood,

ceiling on desires,

citizenship,

compassion,

concern for all life,

consideration,

co-operation,

forgiveness,

global awareness,

good manners,

inclusiveness,

loyalty,

national awareness,

recycling,

respect for property,

service to other,

social justice,

sustainable growth,

universal love,

unwilling to hurt 


(Sathya Sai Baba)


I think these past few days the sub-value of 'universal love' has come up for me in the sense that I was forced by circumstances to see that God/Life has its plans for everyone and on top of that everyone has free will. I found myself often frustrated when the choices the other made did not flow along with my own plans and needs. 

And I found I could not influence the way the other thought about me or understood my intention even though they were good. So after feeling very frustrated and sad for a while I came to feel that the only one always there for me is me and Life/God. And I felt that Life/God would also always be there for the other person and through that I could feel some universal Love. 

Also the sub-value of 'forgiveness' came in to view to be able to deal with all the frustration and in the light of the knowledge that everybody has free will as  we cannot make another fulfil our needs, nor would we want to although I must admit that it can sometimes be tempting ;-)

And finally the most important thing I learned the past week was that it felt most loving towards myself to stop thinking as I realised I cannot control things. So that was the most non-violent thing I was able to do for myself. Stop thinking and just breath and trust and let Life figure things out.


After bearing my soul out here I would really love to hear about your experiences in the comments if you feel like sharing.

Also as this is the very last post on Human values I'd love to hear from you one last time.


Lots of Love Clara💜





Sort:  

Your 'Universal love' feeling sounds like the ability to be at peace with what is. Not an easy thing. And probably comes in temporary spurts that eventually last longer. It brings to my mind the little I know about Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), where you simply allow yourself to notice and acknowledge certain feelings, but not to judge yourself harshly for having them. That has often taken the sting out of difficult moments for me.
My last few days has focused on dealing the frustrating fact that I seem to get paralyzed and useless for other things when there is a particular crisis going on in my life. It makes me feel ashamed and too privileged, since I know that there's deal with crisis and trauma on a more daily basis and if they 'stopped' like I do, they and their families wouldn't eat. So they have to function and go on surviving everyday. So a bit of forgiveness toward myself might be in order this week.

Most of the other listed sub values I feel I come up against regularly with every meeting I attend here, every discussion about racism, the environment, social justice , cooperation, etc.. For example I just recently met with a local guy who is considering running for congress where I live and we discussed many of the topics above as grounds for what to focus on if he runs. My point being I can't seem to NOT have them constantly simmering in my brain expecting me to do more and be more all the time. Oops, there's the guilt again. Hold on while I breathe and forgive again.

My comment may have veered a bit away from what you were looking for, but oh well.

Clara, Thank you so much for these posts. They have been wonderful opportunities to engage in some soul cleansing.

Much love ❤️

Thanks Sarah! I very much appreciate the appreciation 😉 Glad it was of use for you. Yeah, don't beat yourself up about feeling beaten up :-) we humans are so funny! Something a little less funny is that people who don't have time to deal with trauma in their life save it up until they do, or transfer it as genetic post traumatic stress to the next generation. Dealing with crisis when it's there is a very important job. Good that you are doing that. I know of course a little healthy perspective that can keep you from totally dissolving in it is a nice thing to have too. Tell me about it. But I guess self acceptance is something that always works no matter what as a soothing balm.
It sounds great that you are talking about human values in politics and that they show up for you everyday challenging you. That's what we want no? To be challenged to polish up our hidden gems. Love Clara

Great post! Upvoting and resteeming :)

Aw, you've got a nice name! Thanks, always helpful, more spiritual posts to come. A free nine day Goddess worship is coming up, if you are interested and want to stay updated check @clara-andriessen or follow me. <3

I am already following you but don't always get the time to check my feeds. Is this an online workshop? would love to stay updated if you could just go to one of my posts, if you remember and leave me a note.
I myself am a Reiki Master and plan to do more spiritual posts as soon as I get the time. I am so busy with the market right now I am most doing resteems and plan to resteem more spiritual posts.

Hi Thethreehugs,
yes, it's an online workshop, would be great if you could join. I'm setting up some e-mail notification system for it.

good one clara! stopping thinking can be SUCH a relief ! Half the time i think its our thinking that makes half the stress and troubles in life!

It is, so stop thinking you! ;-)

We think because we are either looking at the future or the past. It is inevitable to think, but taking a brake to meditate refines the thoughts so they are more precise and less in number ^^. Also Great Post @clara-andriessen ! Much love and support from me !

break not brake, till you learn it 😉

The universe does keep popping up with messages for us, and doesn't go away until we get them! I've noticed this and it seems to go in phases on different themes or topics!

I think most people find 'stopping thinking' so hard to do, I know I did before I started to channel peace and stillness to my mind. This is my way of stopping all the mind chatter which is so draining. It's so much easier to feel the Universal Love or Love in feeling/understanding when our minds are still.

Thanks for sharing your experiences and making it easier for others to share what they are feeling and experiencing.

Thanks Michelle.

Is universal love a sub-value of nonviolence because it sure seems like a more overlying concept?

Hi,
Good question. It can be both I think. It's not a hierarchy or a linear thing. Sub- values are different aspects of the same over value and thus probably the over-value can also be a sub-value to a sub value as an over-value. Get it? Haha 😂

I think I got it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44