My 2017: The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly

in #life7 years ago

Life gets too damn busy. I worry that the average person doesn’t take enough time to consciously reflect upon their life. It is too easy to careen through life being batted around by outside forces, rather than stopping to purposefully construct the types of experiences you want to have. I’d recommend that everyone stop from time-to-time to take an inventory on their life, and the direction that they’re heading in.

Today, I am taking my own advice. On this beautiful and quiet snowy day, I am stopping to reflect on my 2017. This is the good, the bad, and the ugly. This is the best and worst that I’ve have had the privilege and misfortune of experiencing this year.

The Good

2017 has been a great year for my career. I finished my university degree after 5 long years of reading, writing, and studying. I pushed myself extra hard and worked full-time while completing my final year of school. This was a tremendous challenge. But somehow, I persevered.  Also, 2017 marked the beginning of my first “big boy job”. I landed a good paying job in the insurance industry with a top 50 employer in Canada (my home country). I was proud of this accomplishment, and I committed to doing well in this position. Through the decent salary I received, I was able to rent my first apartment all to myself. A small victory, but a victory nonetheless!

Socially, I invested heavily in friendships this year. I have a group of friends that are like family to me, and I made sure to make a little bit of time for them every week.. @Doubledipshit is one of my “real-life friends”, and I am proud to have great people like him in my corner.

I also made sure to take care of myself this year by going to see a therapist. Like most of you, I have some demons that I need to face down, and I’m finally mustering the bravery to do so. I found a wonderful therapist that has been helping me through the process of dealing with these negative emotions. There is no shame in asking for a little help in life.

So, all-in-all, 2017 has been a good year for me.

The Bad

While I mentioned getting a “great job” in 2017, I don’t really like my work. Who the hell dreams of being in inusuance?! Spoiler alert: no one! My job is boring, and I’d really like to find a way to earn income in a more rewarding way. So, I need every Steemit user to mash the upvote button on whatever trash I post, so that I can be saved from the soul-draining wold of insurance, okay?

2017 has also highlighted that I need to learn to believe in myself more. I am a fairly confident person, but I still hesitate to trust myself. I want to travel. I want to share my ideas through writing and public speaking. I want to take on new challenges. But there is a voice in my head that tells me trusting myself, and being authentic and vulnerable, is dangerous. I am not proud to admit it, but I could stand to be braver, and this is something I need to work on.

The Ugly

There was one devastating disappointment that 2017 delivered to me. I was in a very loving relationship, but it sadly fell apart. The breakup was amicable, civil, and kind. But it was also sudden and without warning. I had been investing a great deal of time, energy, and love into this wonderful woman (who I still respect and care for very much), but she needed time to figure herself out. This wound is still very fresh, and I wrestle with my emotions everyday. Despite this heartbreak, I wish her the best of luck and hope that her life is full of joy and contentment.

Losing an important relationship is a normal human experience, but it never gets easier. So, to all my fellow Steemians that are experiencing a loss in their lives, I’m with you. It sucks, right?

What Did I Learn?

2017 has taught me some tough lessons. I can’t always be happy, and I can’t always succeed. Life will deal me winning and losing hands, often in quick succession. My career may be flourishing, but an important relationship in my life may be coming to an end. I must accept what is transpiring in my life, and push forward.  

I’ve come to view life as a tremendously beautiful and tragic affair. And that’s okay. Let life be good, bad, and ugly. It means that our experiences will be richer, because the highs and lows of life can humble us, and make us appreciate the moment for what it is. I am grateful to have taken another trip around the sun, and I hope to do it again in 2018. 

How Was Your 2017?

I’d encourage you to reflect upon your year and review how it went. Sit with all the good and bad things that happened, and honour what transpired in the last 365 days. You can leave me a comment, write your own Steemit post, or just do it privately and keep it yourself. I hope it will be a rewarding experience for you.  

Thank you for allowing me to share the highs and lows of my year with you.

I wish all Steemians a happy 2018!    

Please feel free to follow me!

Learn about the insights I gleaned during my first 100 Posts on Steemit

Read my last article on Changing Your Life In Only 10 Minutes Per Day

Read about Why Motivation Sucks and Discipline Rocks

Discover my perspective on providing value on Steemit

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Image Credits: main image created in Canva; fancy underline credit
Sort:  

You forgot to mention how sappy you've gotten this year...

Just kidding dude; Awesome post! You don't realize how much you've grown until you sit down and appreciate it.

Hahaha fair... I am feeling sentimental lately! But I at least was being sentimental and saying nice things about you!

Your 2017 is inspiring to me. Also many thanks for drawing my attention to taking inventory of my 2017.

Congratulation on your degree complection

Thank you. I hope that you can glean some insights by reflecting upon your 2017. It's a good thing to do.

Sorry to read about you breakup but I am glad you didn't end up like a loser. Letting some one you love go free with open heart is indeed a manly thing to do and it takes courage.

Your post was readers pleasure. Pardon me for too much flattery but trust me, I mean it.
Marry Christmas my friend.

Thank you for all your sincere comments @Xabi. And yes, you have to let people go when it's time for them to go! Merry Christmas to you too!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrismccron to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @chrismccron! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39