Is Time Travel the Cure for Anxiety?

in #life6 years ago

time-tunnel-1961351_960_720.jpg
Greetings my fellow Steemians! Did you know that by the time you process what is happening to you right now, that seven seconds has passed? That means we are living in a perpetual time lapse and brings a lot to question. What if we could process faster? Would it really change that much? Is that the sort of thing we might be capable of if we were using our brains fully? By the way, functional MRI scans show we use more than just "10%" of our brains. The truth is, we humans simply don't yet fully comprehend how that 3lb mass actually works.

I recently learned via a psychology article (that I should've bookmarked) that an average person spends up to 50% of their time mulling over the past or fretting over the future. That's a lot of time. I have extreme anxiety at times. A lot of it is fueled by negative past events & many of them. Some extremely traumatic & completely out of my control.... which cause my cPTSD. However, a lot of the negative events were mistakes I made that I spend a lot of time kicking myself over.

In other words, I'm too hard on myself. I've heard it from a few people that know me really well. The thing is, mistakes are what make us human. Learning from them leads to growth, but not control over, or prevention of future mistakes, mishaps, or trauma.

So obviously, there are lots of horrible life events occurring outside our control that we may ponder, "if I did xyz differently, where would I be now." Then we get lead into an anxiety riddled CIRCLE whereby we are so afraid of the bull shit that happened in our past, whether our "fault" or not; we are unable to truly move forward, or better yet, be present & happy in the PRESENT (or seven seconds from now.)

So yes, I used a bit of a click baity title. We could go and try to fix the past to prevent or avoid the discomfort of current anxiety. Or, we could just realize that all the good, workable time traveling portals are either in top secret government facilities or in the deep, untouched forests or ocean trenches? If you find a good one in your back yard, let me know. Until then, we simply have to stop spending so much time thinking about our past or future.

This is obviously easier said than done and many people (like me) would rather just pop a xanax and get on with it. Drop an insightful comment, I always love hearing from you.
received_10213668943296125.jpeg
Find Steemit Dreamit on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/841836085982525/
Or, on Discord:
https://discord.gg/B4V3Va

SOME post facts gleaned from this article:
https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/321060.php
Header image - pixabay

Sort:  

Hi @chelsea88, nice post. Human-Upvoted : ) . I will be following you next posts. Actually, I have to tell you... I am in a quest to find good content creators. And my conclusion is: It is really hard! And going to the "Trending"page does not help much... As a curator, I want to follow and support great-content. My SP is still humble, but I will keep working on it.

Waiting for your next posts!

b.b.

Thanks for dropping in. You're right about much of what graces our trending page. There's no rhyme or reason to some of it

We live in an illusion of instantaneous processing so would reducing the 7 second lapse change anything in our perception? Probably not.

I think the way we try to fix these issues of not inhabiting the present needs improvement. When someone says you spend too much time in the past it implies you do not spend enough time in the present.

If you want to do this then you need to do that, is a kind of binary language which may not be the most efficient in reaching a state of balance often referred to as happiness.

Like all other balancing act, it is temporary.

When pearls of wisdom from eastern philosophy like living in the present brings happiness, are integrated in society, it is often in an incomplete way.

We avoid just how much sacrifice is needed to give meaning to these philosophies and how even when those things are sacrificed, we end up with more strife than anything else.

The unlikely alliance between Buddhism and Shintoism made feudal Japan one of the rare instances where, in my opinion, an entire nation was dedicated to living in the present moment. This was done with the collectiviste mindset we know Japan to possess.

I feel you. Spending too much time in either direction isn't great. But if we spend all our time only thinking about right now, well that's an issue as well. How can we plan anything or prep for tomorrow? As you have said its a balancing act. Interesting parallel noted in your last point regarding Japan.

Great post @chelsea88! I'm the same way but as you said it is easier said than done. I'm still working on me though and have made "baby steps". I've tried rationalizing things over and over but I sometimes feel that maybe that is how my brain is wired. Been like this since I was very little so I expect that I will always be like this to some extent. Wishing you beautiful carefree thoughts!! xoxo

I've also always been like this so I don't think it's just "faulty wiring"
Thanks for dropping in & have a good weekend =)

You're welcome and a weird thought that I have sometimes and if you believe in such things is if it could be from something carried over from a past life. ;)

I feel you! I've often thought the same. I guess we can just be "weirdos" together @deerjay

Everything that happens in our life has a reason either it is a blessing or a lesson.A quote from one of my favourite movie Kung fu panda-"Yesterday is history,tomorrow is mystery but today is a gift"

That quote is right on the money. But what about 7 seconds ago?
🤨😮🙃

Thanks madam for the appreciation.Hope we will get in touch in the future as well.

Time travel sounds like something that would cause more anxiety, or at least it would for me XD Because you fret about something you did before, maybe if you did xyz differently things would turn out better, so you go and do that, but maybe stuff ends up being worse because even though the situation you went back in time to fix up for yourself ends up better for you maybe something else turns out much worse, or you accidentally really upset something for someone else that you care about. Alternately if you pop forward to see what would happen if you did uvw, then you start stressing about which possibility would be the best one XD

I don't think thinking about the past or future is a bad thing really, obsessing might not be so good though. Popping a xanax (or whatever stress-relief of choice, it's usually art for me) sounds like a much better and easier option ;D

Ha, yeah gotta love them anxiety pills. Running helps too. Lol. But yeah, if you think about parallel universes for instance depending on what theory you are going by, the possibilities of what could be are freaking endless. So yes i think it would come with a high degree of anxiety. Not to mention that the portal travel could seriously eff us up.

My brain is always in over drive, especially when I want to fall to sleep... I've gotten over most of the wanting to change past events though. I figure they were on my path through this lifetime for one reason or another.

I hear you on the sleep ... so annoying

It be a start. But that thumbnail... wow. Lololol

Posted using Partiko Android

i hope this could be possible..
but today's world live without Anxiety is impossible..

It does seem that way!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01