15! How the hell did that happen?

in #life6 years ago


Me and Jaime.jpg

Where has the time gone? It feels like yesterday when she was brought into this world and looked up at me with those beautiful eyes and I was totally smitten. My daughter is a pretty special young lady that has gone through a lot of changes in her short life.

It wasn’t the smoothest of starts. We had a scare before she was born when we thought we were going to lose her. Even a few months into our pregnancy I had an attachment that was there for good. I used to talk to her, even sing to her in the evening before bed. So when this situation happens when my wife went to hospital you deal with it but deep in the pit of your stomach you are being torn in two. Thankfully we had the all clear and things looked good.

We had everything planned and organised for the birth but our destiny is usually fraught with challenges. A fire alarm went off during labour and I was asked to leave to which the reply was a resounding NO! (I may have used slightly different language) Then the surgeon couldn’t get the epidural to work and Jayne was in a lot of pain so I stepped in and did it for him! I’m joking of course but it felt like I did it for him. Then Jaime arrived and everything just chilled out.

She was placed immediately on top of my wife and when I said something and she lifted her head and looked up at me. Wow. Talk about life changing moments, a memory that will stay with me forever. She was beautiful and I helped make her. She was my single biggest achievement in my life and always will be.

Jaime as a toddler was just a walking bundle of perfect. She was a very good natured child and her enthusiasm was infectious. I’m happy to report that to this day people like her and are drawn to her. Her whole family adore her and on our travels she has made lots of great friends.


First day of school 3.jpg

Now I’m not saying we have the perfect relationship but it’s pretty darn good. To be honest we are too much alike to have a smooth journey together. We bring the best and the worst out of each other. She has an independence and maturity that I never had as a child, hell I don’t even possess it now, but she has it.


Stropp.jpg
Friction while learning to ride our bike! :)

Things have changed a little over the years. We have gone from princesses and adventures to social media and mobile phones but, fundamentally, my girl is still the same gorgeous person that I love beyond words. She is now a beautiful young lady.

Creating and bringing up a child is the biggest challenge that life can task us. Don’t be fooled because it is over a long period of time and must be simple. To do it properly takes every ounce of your soul and you won’t always get it right but to keep trying is to succeed.

Happy Birthday, Jaime. My amazing daughter. I love you very much.

Thanks for reading.

Cheers, Gaz.


Chocolate.jpg

Ps. Shout out to @corina for the birthday chocolate. It was most appreciated.

Sort:  

What a great post! I can certainly relate having a daughter of my own who is turning 5 in May.

Time really does seem to fly and I realize that if I do not put the quality time upfront while she’s young, my bond might not be as strong.

I appreciate this post as I see some parallels and it looks like I’m doing something right. Great job dad.

Again, happy birthday!

Thank you for your lovely comments @dstreet6

I will pass the birthday wishes on.

I think a father's job, while different, should not be underestimated. The importance of our role can make me feel a little pressured sometimes, as I want to set Jaime up for the future. I've always seen my role as a teacher and guider to help her to make her own good decisions in the future.

The whole journey is wonderful but 5 years old is particularly cute and fun. You must be loving it. We had a house full of pink plastic stuff!!

Cheers, Gaz.

Hey Happy Birthday Jaime!! I'm so glad you actually bought chocolate, this photo just made my day! Hope you have an amazing birthday and all your wishes come true!

Thank you so much Corina. She was so touched by your gift. She took the chocolate into school as per school/Romanian tradition! She had a lovely day. We had a meal out and then went to a Harry Potter themed escape room. :)

Sounds like you had a challenging experience at the hospital @cheeze4ead! Glad it turned out well😊
Such a touching post you wrote! Happy birthday to your beautiful girl🤗❤ enjoy and keep treasuring every moment!

Hey @cooknbake

It was some crazy stuff! Not what you need right at that moment I can tell you. My wife was brilliant with it all.

Thank you for your lovely comments. She will really appreciate the birthday wishes.

Cheers, Gaz.

It really is an amazing journey. Looks like you did a fine job getting Jaime this far in her life. I have 4 boys (2-13 yo) and it's exciting but sometimes exhausting working with each of their personalities and interests. We had a scare with my 7 yo who came 2 months premature. I think those situations take years off your life. But he came out fine. Congrats to you and your daughter.

Hey. Thanks for your lovely comments.

4 boys! And I think I'm busy! It must be very challenging but ultimately rewarding.

2 month premature is a lot. That must have been a very difficult time. I'm glad that you are all through it safe and sound.

Just like you have mentioned it is an amazing journey and the ups and downs shape our character and make us stronger.

Cheers, Gaz.

Time goes by so fast ....

Up-voted by @rentmoney thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42