Pleasure Seeking - 5 Minute Freewrite

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Just to make sure: my intention isn't to offend anyone.


Prompt of Day 59: a red scarf

I have a red scarf. Well, more like a wine red. Got it from some of my mother's friend's husband who had some clothes he didn't use. Got some free clothes; Don't have to go buy new clothes myself. Nice! I don't even like shopping. I don't even remember when was the last time I've bought a new peace of clothing. Damn; must be something like 3 years or so.


Source

I guess they are really good at marketing happines.

Which comes to my mind: Shopping is a common phenomena especially among ladies (correct me if I'm wrong) for grief, kinda like eating. Though I long ago stopped getting any long satisfaction from "stuff" when I realized the pattern with myself that whenever I got myself something new I was excited about it for a while but then forgot it like "Meh".

Where does the satisfaction come from? I guess we're all just bunch of addicts some way or another. And then we look down to heroin addicts like it's their own fault. You can't fricking stop bying some fancy stuff and then you except someone being able to shake off an opiate that hits you with a pleasure probably houndred times more than what our addictions do.


Introduction to freewriting

Sort:  

You are so right. Addictions are powerful and we all have one or another. Just some are socially acceptable and don't destroy us - while others do....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-60-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-twins

That's true, we always want what we don't or can't have yet. Once we have it, we often don't really want it anymore. Our brains are weird!

Our brains are weird!

All the stuff they make us do...

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.05 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32