Went to church and well yeah

in #life6 years ago

5a4fdbe06406146542590b146a591d40--humor-batman-religious-quotes.jpg

 

Steemians when is the last time you went to church, and upon walking in saw the unexpected?

 

 

 

Yeah.. thats right to those of you who follow me you might recall a few weeks a go I spoke briefly on trying to introduce my kids to church so that way they could make up their own minds on the religion subjext and if they want to take part in it or not. Well as I walked into the next church I wanted to check out, I was welcomed by the things you see in my video. This will be the 3rd church I take them to, it is a nondenominational church that welcomes anyone and everyone. Now after a few weeks of attempting this small mission I'm still stuck at a crossroad since I myself know very little on the subject I figured why not go to a few different ones and then allow them to decide or at least give them some form of say so in the matter, what I've begun to do is check out the church on my off week and then when they come gome take them though it seems to be working I believe my 6 year old son Logan is the only one out of the 3 that actually cares to go and attend the others do it because they beourve I'd be upset with them in which case if they express they werent interested I wouldnt make them go after having gone 3 times now I feel while it may not be enough for them to make an actual decision I'd still respect their wishes. Either or I decided yesterday that I would share this brief experience. If you know about church and religion feel free to let me know your thoughts or recommendations as I'm always open to things that I don't know much on.

 
 
 



Disclaimer
The header image of this post contains an image that can be found on pinterest under 2115 best Laughing in Church images on Pinterest | Church humor
To all of you who have taken time to check out my video and post I appreciate it, i wish you all the best and stay safe.


Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Religion is a very important issue............It is known from the deep to the heart......Religion is a result of much more sadness....It will not come automatically to achieve it..........Many pursuits have to be followed and the subjects of religion have to be obeyed..............Many religious people have completed many spiritual knowledge..........This is my comment about religion............

I was raised in a church myself. It was not a negative experience, but when I became an adult I did not have any desire to go back to that church. A few years passed when my wife (girlfriend at the time) and I started talking about looking for a church. What we found was radically different than either of us had experienced in the past. Our church, Hope Community Church in Detroit, Michigan really is a family. These are the people that know the deepest darkest parts of us and still love and accept us. We now have five kids and they all love it as well.

I think a church community is a wonderful thing. But if the church is not really committed to authenticity, honesty, love, and emotional healing, then it has a real risk in turning abusing, or at best, just a social club.

@ssimkins9 I totally agree with that, and thats sort of the issue with everything I've ran into as a single dad looking for a place to introduce my kids to religion. A lot of these places are more hollywood than anything now a days. But in time I'm sure i will find one. Thanks for reading my post

For sure. That can be hard. You can often learn about a church's doctrine and style through their website, but you cannot easily measure things like authenticity and openness until you actually go. We had to try 3-4 before we found this one, and we only did because of a friend. Unfortunately, word of mouth is still the best. Cheers to you.

I think it's something that I did not expect to see in a church, although the only one that I have entered is the Catholic one and it is the religion to which I belong.

Incredible, I have seen some where they dance and sing not to that style but if they are happy in the sense that they have musical bands and those things are the free evangelicals although I am from the Christian religions @carterx7

If I think it's something here we do not often see in the churches there are only choirs or sometimes dramatizations of some event in the life of Jesus, I hope you can find for your children any religion where they feel comfortable

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Loading...

I was raised Catholic in a very spiritual and involved Italian Catholic Family.... my mom and dad were in the choir and Church Parish council.... there are actually a few Popes in our family tree and a great great great uncle was the Pope that Financed and built the Vatican. My maternal ancestry is Canadian Metis (French- Ojibwe) so I am a good mix of Catholic, Catholic mysticism, and Native American Pantheism - I see the Spirit Of God the Creator present in all things. The more I learned about the Holy Spirit and the mystical words of Jesus ... a 1st century Hebrew Rabbi and Teacher that teaches the Oneness of God I became interested in all the World’s Religions.... Zen Buddhism, Hindu Non dualism, Sufism, Pantheism, Gnosticism, Jewish Mysticism ( Kabbalah) and many other Mystical Traditions.... I have lots of books and try to explain what I know of the World’s religions to my kids (11 and 13) ... my wife considers herself Buddhist but also practices Yoga. We let our kids ask to go to church and we go time to time to a small Catholic Church in the neighbourhood ... but I will let them choose what they want to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.73
ETH 2723.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56