[Expression] : Opening up and letting go of the past

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes in life, the lines blur and you have to consider what really matters.

Leaving


A few years ago, I left my hometown and moved up the country a few hundred miles away from my family and friends. At the time, it was a big thing. Every one of my friends was very supportive and knew that the step out of my comfort zone was sorely needed.

A family member offered me a job at his workshop where I was able to embark on my dream of being a furniture maker. In the beginning, I was very committed.

I started up an apprenticeship and for the first year I got stuck into it and managed to make some great progress. Occasional trips home and people around me when I was up there. It didn’t seem to bad. I worked hard, I developed habits, crushed goals and I turned some heads.

Alone


After my first year, I wasn’t able to stay at my family members house anymore. I started to proactively look for somewhere to stay and I managed to buy myself a small one bedroom flat in the town. A short 2 minute walk to the workshop I worked in.

I’ve had my fair share of ups and downs in that flat. Predominantly downs.

When you are isolated, to begin with, you don’t even know it. The routines become the norm, your personality starts to change and the relationships you have had all your life start to suffer.
For the first 6 months, it didn’t seem to bad. I had made a couple of friendships through college and I hung around with a couple of the lads from time to time.

Mary Jane


Remember that first year? Yeah, I didn’t really smoke any marijuana. I decided against it because when I was back home, I had developed a certain dependency on it.
One of my friends from college was quite a heavy smoker at the time and once I had my flat...

Queue the music.

Old habits die hard ey. It had various impacts for sure, but the main one was how it affected my relationship with my family member. When somebody who has had a previous relationship with cannabis tries to ‘warn’ you of the effects of the drug, they tend to voice their reasons about how it affected them. A certain level of wisdom would allow them to understand that everybody is different. When you put voices into somebody's head when they are isolated, that is a recipe for disaster.

Nevertheless, I had an on again off again relationship with Mary Jane for the next couple years I lived in the flat.

Now I understand when I can smoke it and when I can’t. When a drug has psychoactive elements, and you have a past with mental illness, anxiety can be crippling. The setting, state of mind and dosage are all important factors when using.

Trauma


In the early months of the first new year in the flat, I had a couple of events that affected my mentality and situation. The first was an accident that I had in my car.

I was driving along a country road with a friend from college when suddenly a pheasant popped out onto the side of the road.
Instinct kicked in, evidently must be a huge animal lover, and I swerved slightly to avoid the bugger.

I lost traction in my car and I started to slide straight across the road towards a steep embankment.

Somehow, I managed to catch the skid on the right side of the road and I sent the car back over to the left. The motor swung over to the other side and the front left tire caught into the grass on the left side.

The grass surrounding my tire, the back end of the car swung around, the car nose at 3 o’clock... cue barrel roll.

After the side flip, we were on the roof. The bonnet on the tarmac and luckily our doors were stuck in the grass.

carrr.PNG

We were lucky.

Neither of us had a scratch and we were able to kick the doors out and walk away from the accident with not one injury at all.

Thank you.

This shook me up but I didn’t realize until months later how this, and the event a month later, would affect my mental stability.

A lost soul


A friend of mine had issues with his mental health throughout most of his teenage life. He had great friends around him but sometimes the demons persist and shadow your judgment beyond your conscious knowing.

He had issues with drug abuse and was always getting close to the edge. This can happen and sometimes you can’t see the true damage until it’s too late.

I and the friends around me had made a decision to distance ourselves from him because of his substance abuse and how he didn’t seem to want to help himself. We had realized the toll it was taking on the group and we had to make some difficult choices. Still friends but distant. This was where the support network that he sorely needed was lost.

The month after the accident, we received the news that he had passed away.

It shook us all and we all felt in some way or another responsible, although we knew between us, that we weren't. We were never gone, we just couldn’t try anymore, the door was always open.

We were able to pay our respects and see him and our worlds changed.

Still alone


When your family member owns the company you work for, you have to deal with the fair share of comments made about your boss. In the beginning, I rolled with it. Sometimes agreeing and sharing my opinions about how the business was run.

Over time I realized how this wrecked our relationship.

Tainted and influenced, I separated myself from my family members and truly became alone. This was just after the accident and I ended up withdrawing into myself more and developing certain traits which began to chip away at my personality.

Without social interaction, you fade out.

Tripping


My first psychedelic experience was in my flat that I’d been alone in, with two of my best friends. Remember when I said about drugs with psychoactive elements? If you’ve ever overdosed LSD while your suffering from underlying mental illness, you’ll know that psychoactive is an understatement.

An experience. One that shaped my mind and helped me see what was wrong, missing and neglected.

The trip should be saved for another post alone because describing it here will take up even more words than this post needs.

The world was different. Along with how I reacted to certain things. For instance, cannabis became a lot more inward. I experience mild trips whenever I take too much now and it can send me into loops of thought which are quite detrimental to my well being. Like I said before, I know now how and when I can take it.

Tripping prompted me to get help.

Hello


Things were up and down for a while and when I look back at this time of my life I realize that even though I thought I had a handle on things. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I did start to speak with my family members again. We squashed things and I spent more time with them at the beginning of the year. Things were looking up and certain progress was made.

Then I tripped again and I nearly killed myself.

Yes, I know you might call me stupid, yes, drugs are bad m’kay.

The way I see it, I was glad it prompted it then. In the trip, everything was intensified, my thoughts, feelings and what I believed. I’m grateful that it happened then rather than it drawing out over time and consuming my sober consciousness.

Yet again, I sought out help.

Distant and different


Time had passed and it’s nearing the present, I had begun to work on myself and I was building up and progressing myself forward. Although isolated for the better part of 2 years, my personality had changed.

My friends worried, missing the old character that I was. I had talks with a friend in particular. He knew I wasn’t right. My interpersonal skills were shaken. If you’ve been alone for a long period of time, then you try to integrate back into a friend group of people who have always seen you as the outgoing, lively character, you’ll know the struggles when you try to communicate.

Saying something weird. Watching someone's face. Seeing their awkwardness.
You develop a consistent anxiety loop, you feel like you’re lost for good.

New chapters and all that


I left my job, technically I was asked to leave.

I was trying to flip the script and develop the right habits to push ahead. I was in a bubble but I was working on it.

I messed up and stayed off work for a few days and couldn’t face the music afterward, it became too much and I’d disappointed myself. Nevertheless, I pushed on and landed another job straight away.

Leading up to Christmas, things weren't too bad. I had transport again, a van, I bought more tools and I learned a different aspect of woodworking since I was on sitework. I’d also decided that I was going to leave and come home after a few months of working, I knew I needed to be back around my family and friends.

Great!

Maybe not so much. I was away for my Christmas holidays, back home, and I didn’t receive my holiday pay. Fair enough, not a huge deal, I knew I’d get it sorted out when I came back.
Well, that wasn’t the case and my boss tried to fly this excuse that I’d been getting paid more for the months I was there, so I’d technically made my holiday pay.

Would be nice to be told that though, right? When you’ve got bills to pay, you would definitely rather know that.

Friday rolled around and I was let go from my job.

Prick.

Enough is enough


I found Steemit over the Christmas holiday and had dabbled a little bit. It wasn’t until I was waiting for my next job to start, that I decided to be a daily-action Steemian.
I started my Daily Knowledge Blasts and kept myself busy, learning and connecting with people, I had started to gain some real hope for the future.

I passed my tests for my site access card and I started my new job out on the sites again. Hammer in hand, I was ready to get stuck in on the Monday.

On the tuesday night, I rang up my boss and told him I was done with Scotland, I wasn’t going to waste his time. I needed to be around my friends and family.

By saturday, I was back here.

I’m back?


Someone is back. It’s definitely not the guy who left thats for sure. It’s somebody who is working on himself and pushing himself further.

I’ve been home for a few weeks now and I’ve enjoyed seeing my family and friends.

There is a lot I need to work on and after chats with my close friend the other night, I know now more than ever that I need to restrict how much I isolate myself.

There is a saying that I heard yesterday that has stuck in my mind and thats:

“You CAN'T control your environment, but you CAN control how you perceive it”

Although I’m back, I’ve still had issues with anxiety and communication. This is totally expected and sometimes, when I’ve tried to integrate back into my friend group, I’ve struggled.

The truth is, it doesn’t matter what I think something is inside my mind, my true friends have a perception of me that isn’t how I see it.

I control my thoughts and I make my decisions. They aren’t pre-determined. I own my life. I choose what I want to do with it.

I’ve made some big decisions and I plan to write the next chapter a lot brighter than the last few. I’ve realised I still enjoy woodworking and I want to find somewhere that I can work and learn more about the craft. I’ve discovered my love for reading again and I've started to develop my writing skills. I’ve found a support network online and offline. I have created my own narrative. I’ve found my life.

I plan to cherish it.


Car accident is my own image and all others are from Pixabay.com

Youtube video is owned by VEVO

Sort:  

You can change a couple of things like the drugs but it's basically my life story.

I also discovered Steemit last year on my darkest time of suffering from depression.

Such honesty and courageous in telling your story man.

“You CAN'T control your environment, but you CAN control how you perceive it”

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as the one here)

Thanks for the kind words @maverickinvictus.

Everyone has the ups and downs just a different story to tell. All character building!

I'll swing by now and check out the place! Thank you very much, I'm very grateful.

I admire your courage to open up about such events in your life. In this day and age, most people want and do promote themselves as sane and successful, leaving reality to the imagination. Things always end up working out, just not always how we plan.

You have a good head on your shoulders, so I know you are in good hands. Good luck with stepping up your trade in Woodworking. All experiences where we learn and evolve from are positive and necessary.

I both smoke weed and occasionally trip with psychedelics and have no issues. I only micro-dose though. Being a 32 year user of both, you tend to find balance after a while. As a matter of fact, micro-dosing with psychedelics is showing great promise to ease mental issues, showing responsible use is the key.

Great read my friend.

Thank you very much, I appreciate your comment massively.

It's always beneficial to seek a perspective change once in a while and at times you need to step into the damage to be able to confront yourself.

Thank you for this, I am looking forward to my journey in woodworking while I'm back here. It's more realistic and I feel great love being around my family and friends. It gives me purpose.

Micro-dosing would have been a very beneficial thing for me. Just too much of a good thing can always turn to tears, psychedelics just happen with the click of the fingers unlike burgers and chips around the waist.

Taking responsibility and expressing it are key. Time doesn't stand still but it can stop as well, that's a certainty.

Thank you for sharing this, I really like to see how people can overcome almost anything, you have carried some shooking things, you go boy!

Thank you very much! I'll get there in the end :D

I am reading this and I thought wow.. You're very brave to open up on this and I admire you for that. I like how you say that you can't change your environment but how you perceive it... Very true.. I hope you find success on Steemit. Rather, I hope you make it here and it will springboard you towards greater things. I find that success works best on a streak. If you get success right once, maybe twice, it snowballs.

Thanks for the encouraging words fella. I've found my groove here on the platform in the past couple of weeks and I've really enjoyed meeting some of my friends here.
I am going to keep up the hustle and I'll be continuing to spread the word about our community, BuddyUP.

Thanks again, I appreciate you stopping by! See you around :)

One of the best posts I have read so far.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Wow, that is very nice to hear. Thanks man.

Opening up is very nice when I hear things like this.

As I was about to start writing, I took a deep breath - and then I realized that while I was reading... I was holding my breath.

Not completely - but breathing shallow, light breaths. Your story - not the details - but the emotions that you were going through, connected with me. thank you for sharing yourself. I feel privileged to have been able to connect with you recently, and I really look forward to more of that :)
I also isolate myself a lot (which i know.... no one believes - hahaha because I SEEM so bubbly and interactive) but like you said - people see what they want. or what we project. Very few really know what's happening on the inside.
I'm looking forward to talking more @calumam :) I feel like I could take up 1000 more words on this comment - but i'd just rather keep getting to know you hehehehe

Wow! I'm glad you were able to relate with it and experience the emotions with me through the writing.

You are right, I would never of guessed! But I guess on some level I'm similar. It's easy to portray yourself differently using text.

I'm so glad we met and I'm looking forward to getting to know you more to! It's exciting to think what the future may hold :D

yeah it's not just on text.. people in real life think that i'm super bubbly too! hehehe i love people - but sometimes i'm just way uncomfortable around groups. (just no one knows how much anxiety it can give me LOL)

but it's a lot easier to have fun with people HERE :)

I know exactly what you mean, I'm similar around bigger groups now. I never used to be, I was a typical class clown at school haha!

It totally is though, so many great people here and everyone is always very positive and happy to chat!

Wow, this is a really courageous and well-written post. I like that you write with a lack of self-judgement but also a commendable self-awareness. Good luck on your journey, looking forward to seeing you around!

This comment made my day. Thank you very much!

See you around the place!

@calumam unable to digest that you have gone thru all this...it takes a lot to come back to normal and make life beautiful. Awsome man..you are a rockstsr👍

Ahh, it's no big deal haha! Everyone has hardships.

Thanks for the kind words though, I appreciate you stopping by fella :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 25 SBD worth and should receive 56 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for the recognition @trufflepig.

Just know that you are not alone in all this man. I myself suffer my fair share of depression and there are times, its really bad that i lose my motivation in life. Thanks for sharing your story by the way!

That's encouraging mate, I appreciate you dropping by and letting me know that. If you've followed any of my BuddyUP posts you'll of heard me say a certain motto...

We all grow together.

Thanks for stopping by pal! I hope you can chat with me if you ever get into the weeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33