Do You Believe In Soulmates And Love At First Sight?

in #life8 years ago

Do You Believe In Soulmates And Love At First Sight?

I always hear people talk about love at first sight, or having one true soulmate in the world, but i’m not so sure that I believe that. What makes someone a soulmate as opposed to someone else, and how could looking at someone for a brief moment give you such confidence that they are the one you want to spend your life with? I’ll admit i'm a bit of a cynic when it comes to true love, but I also think that there can be people who do work very well together, to the point where it is very impressive. That’s why I want to question whether I think these things can exist.

I think part of the reason I put down love at first sight, because I think real, true love, is hard, very hard. In my opinion it would mean knowing everything about a person’s flaws, ideas and true feelings, yet still accepting them and loving them for who they are. Not only would one person need to do this, but it would have to be mutual. If you are saying that true love really existed, you would need to be omniscient or somehow know the future. However, I do believe that true attraction exists, because I have encountered it myself, but this hasn’t only happened with one girl. There have been times where I see a girl who is just my perfect type and I am completely head over heels for them in a second. These girls aren’t always considered the most attractive in the world, but to me, all the little things I love, they have. I think maybe couples who talk about love at first sight meet their significant others and they both feel this extreme attraction to each other and find out over time that they are also emotionally/mentally compatible as well. Overall I think what love at first sight comes down to for me, is how we define the word love and if you can have multiple love at first sight moments.

I may think that there is a possibility of love at first sight, although very slim and other reasons explain it, but I don’t think that one true soulmate exists in this world. There may be one true soulmate in your life, but there are too many women out there that you will never meet, that could have been better for you. Everyone we have ever met, even for a second won’t even account for .01% of the people in this world who could possibly be your soulmate, so I can’t say there can only be one true love. I look at it in the same way I look at aliens, in the fact that we have only encountered such a small amount of what is out there, that statistically I can’t say aliens aren’t out there. It’s a weird analogy I know, but I often find looking at things statistically can really put them into perspective. If there was some magical system that could compare everyone in the world and work out which ones would be the most perfect match for them, then I might believe more in a soulmate, but even then I’m sure more than one match would give you long lasting happiness.

I think what we need to do is find the person we are most compatible with and work at making it work. Say we put it on a scale from 0% to 100% of compatibility, but you only need a compatibility of 80% to have a successful marriage, does that mean that finding someone with a compatibility of 90% will make your life any better? I also think that in life we develop into different people which can sometimes take a toll on marriages and relationships over a long time. If I married someone when I was 20 and then at 50 we find we are no longer compatible, it might just be because we grew in different ways over time. My theory is, the compatibility scale is constantly moving and with the actions you take and how you grow as a person you can push it higher or lower. If there’s a point where you are no longer compatible with your partner , it might be time to think about a separation.

I would like to look at this idea from someone who is a big believer in true love/soulmates and ask them about the points that I am trying to make here. To me is may seem foolish, but to others who have felt like they have had these experiences, I might seem like the foolish one. Overall even if there are soulmates, love at first sight encounters or not, all we can do is try to find someone that we are most compatible with and will bring us happiness sharing our live and experiences with.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

People change over the years and even passionate Love ❤️ can vanish.
Being IN LOVE is more like a state of mind we choose and a question of right or wrong timeing. Does this make even sense ? .....what I just said

I don't know about soul mates. But I did write a post about beauty and appearance today! Love at first sight is totally real. Physical attraction is really all that matters. And I have been successfully married for over seven years now!

take it from me: you will read this post in the future, and you will think of yourself as foolish :)

It was love at first sight, my soulmate, 4 years and still going strong :) I was not even looking for a soulmate. It comes when u least expect it to happen.

I do believe in soul mates. I have experienced it. The thing with romance is it's not a romance without an element of the tragic. Naturally Passionate people are often 'crazy', by usual standards; unstable. Be careful what you wish for. You have to choose between renewable passionate love and stability, whether with one partner or not.

Oh, soul mates...

Not what I expected. It doesn't turn out that your soul mate(s?) is the person you end up with. That would be too perfect!

Mine was a lot like me. And faded out. It was full of fear. His. and my anger, inability to get close to someone. It was the saddest thing I experienced in any type of relationship I've had.

Hehehe I've been through quite a number of partners in which I could characterise as soul-mates, all of em. And pretty much thinking the same everytime we go apart, thinking, shit I'm losing the perfect one. But time just pushes one forward. It's just how the mind is perceiving its own world. .

So true i i m one of them.Very nicely written.

Ni reading, thanks @calaber24p!

Ho-Yah, I found mine 28 years ago... on Christmas no less.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57126.48
ETH 3046.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29