Epiphanies About Caffeine

in #life6 years ago (edited)

busy-mind.jpeg

Day 1 I didn't notice much of a difference.

For some reason I don't get the withdrawal headaches anymore.

Caveat: I'm not off caffeine completely. I've been drinking tea in the morning. (In contrast to dark, black, beautiful, thick espresso)

This is a very odd experience, indeed.

This is boring. Shouldn't I be doing something? Isn't there something to worry about? Isn't there something urgent that must be thought about?

I've been drinking coffee since I was in eighth grade. When I quit alcohol, I realized how I was - was not how I actually was. It was a substance. Six years later I'm having this same realization with caffeine. I thought I was a somewhat anxious, rigid person. I thought it was in my family. Turns out I'm not - it was caffeine.

anxiety-depression-addiction-new-4.jpg
Source

I was always rushing. I would start something and dart off to look at something. I was trying to get myself to settle and be present and more in harmony.

Now I kind of miss it. I don't feel sharp. I feel slow. Where's my passion?

On the other hand, I feel myself opened up to a higher level of mind. I feel that before my brain activity was just running rather rampant. Now I feel myself opened up to higher faculties.

It's almost as though my brain has taken a backseat now that my adrenals aren't stimulated.

85648d7b6840262ede7b7068876bea4f.jpg

Source

Oh, how I appreciated my morning drive! Time moves so much slower! The colors are so bright! "The doing" doesn't feel so important.

Uh oh! I'm supposed to be important! I'm supposed to be productive! I must produce! I must "work!"

ShoppingAA-768x341.jpg

Source

This, I think is reflective of our caffeine culture. I did not realize how deeply connected caffeine is to who we are as a culture. Caffeine by day to go, go, go, go, go, do, do, do, do, do, and alcohol by night to forget, forget, forget, numb, numb, numb.

Here I am, my thinking brain feeling a bit like mush. The thoughts come slowly and have a different feel as though they originate from a different place entirely. Where is the frantic-ness of my behavior? I thought I was a rather frantic person? Who is this connected person who's just rather in harmony and so at peace? Where is my worry? Where are all the things that I really, really, really, really, really must do now, now, now, now, now? Where are all the thoughts swimming through my head frantically? Instead there's the beauty of the tree.

I had no idea.

Image 1 Source

For more on substances, check out Synthetic Happiness

If you're into this, you'll be into my facebook page The Next Tier of Consciousness. It's all about higher levels of consciousness, building a new world, and blockchain.

My work on Steemit is possible because of @kennyskitchen, his project, @tribesteemup, and @jamesc's support of that project, and @whatamidoing. Thanks to my supporters @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. You can support, evolve, and expand my work empowering Steemians to have massive impact by adding @brightstar to autovote. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

I've been considering taking a break from coffee as well -- if only to experience myself without it. I never used to drink it, but back in 2010 when I was starting my engineering schooling, the local McDonalds had a promotion giving away their coffee for free (that should have been a red flag right there) -- and all engineering practices have free coffee to keep us cranking.

You've inspired me to give it a go!

(that should have been a red flag right there)

Ha ha!

You've inspired me to give it a go!

Yay! Please come back and let me know how it went for you and what you discovered! 🌼

People forget caffeine is just as much of a drug as any other it just doesn't come with the added benefit of getting high lol.

Caffeine can be hard to come off of. I used to drink 2 or 3 Rockstars every day and I had to cut back slowly over couple of weeks. I still like to have a little coffee after I eat my evening meal but I don't rely on it like I used to.

caffeine-is-a-hell-of-a-drug-t-shirt.jpg

It does release dopamine.

Yeah, my hubby used to be on those energy drinks hard, too. he's been off caffeine a while and been after me a while. It's really crazy how much of a drug it really is.

Oh I am so happy I found your page and this post! I resonate with all of this.

I started to get off coffee about a year ago when I went on my first meditation retreat. Afterwards, I didn't feel the NEED to have coffee like I used to, but I had a strong DESIRE. So after a few weeks off, I got back on the train, but when I began drinking it again it made me so jittery and sweaty and anxious.

I stopped again for a bit, but oftentimes when out at coffee shops with friends it just seemed like a "fun" idea to get a coffee. But again, I felt sweaty and anxious and completely unaligned.

Then, like you, I made the switch to tea -- milky black tea (English breakfast with coconut milk and a dash of cinnamon) -- and it helped to complete relieve me of my coffee desires.

Now after about 6 months of tea drinking, I'm even off of that now! I used to wake up and immediately turn on the kettle to make some kind of warm, caffeinated beverage, but just this past month I started waking up and going straight into my morning practice of meditation and breathing before even going into the kitchen. And what did I discover?.... I am so much more vibrant and awake and alive without the caffeine! I've been changing my body chemistry with caffeine out of pure habit, but I'm having similar reactions as you. I'm realizing I'm not this anxious, busy, impatient person. I'm actually very calm, chilled, and at peace with sitting in silence, and getting off of caffeine, especially coffee, has helped me realize this.

Thank you so much for the post. Great read, and great topic. I encourage more and more people to challenge themselves to 30 days without coffee and see what they find.

Following, and looking forward to more great content! :)

Hi @rainbowrachel I saw you in the TSU discord. Welcome to Steemit! So cool that you got added right off the bat.

Cool caffeine story!

SO many people highly encourage meditation first thing in the morning. I'm on that hot caffeinated beverage train. And straight to my computer. I get to work straight away. I have made some good changes, however. Now I write first thing in the morning because that's my most creative time. I'll use your story as inspiration to know that I, too, am on my way to being a first thing in the morning meditator.

I'll check out your account now! ❤️ 🌈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59