Craters Of The Moon National Monument & Preserve

in #life8 years ago

Craters of the Moon is a vast landscape of lava flows with islands of cinder cones and lava tunnels. It is in Southern Idaho. Matt, Andy, and I drove all night from Canyonlands National Park and arrived at Craters of the Moon early in the morning in time to see the sun rise.

I'm embedding a song from Sound Cloud so you can play the music if you would like while you look at my post to get the vibe of the trip!

This picture was taken first before the top picture! I just liked the way the other picture turned out better!

Despite looking dead there is still a lot of wildlife living in this landscape. Can you see the chipmunk or does he blend in too much?

There are old lava tubes in this landscape. Some are pretty big.

Check out the person at the right of the video to see how big the lava tube is.


There are lava tubes like this on Mars. This could be one of the best places for humans to go when we first colonize Mars. @alexbayman did a great writeup on this subject. Here is the link to that post. I changed the color of the previous picture to show what it might look like on Mars! We can put a basketball court in there and throw down some monster dunks in the low gravity on Mars!

There are massive cinder cones.

Watch your step!

Here is a picture of my friend Andy taking a picture out on the lava field.

Andy had a Cannon 5D Mark III, Matt had a Cannon 5D Mark II, and I was taking secondary shots with a Sony DSC-HX9V. Matt also had a good LG Smartphone that could take some solid pictures and video as well. This was another great leg of the trip. There is more to come so please follow me @brianphobos.

Sort:  

Hey there @brianphobos, that title photo is something to behold eh? An ocean of red rock, Fantastic !! I did a one man solo trip on an old Honda 750 Four I bought in L.A ! i took it from there to New Orleans on the Interstate 10 in just 3 days !!!!!! Was a crazy trip and your photos just gave me back the feeling !! A beautiful country you have over there !! ; - )upvoted btw i saved that title photo to my desktop, hope thats ok? ) !! thanks for the great share ) steem On Brian !!

The adventures of Matt , Andy and Phobos continue! That orange cave photo did make me feel like I was on Mars- if you look carefully into the 2nd cave in the center I think you can just make out Matt Damon.

You and your Matt Damon fantasies! LOL The journey does continue. The wheels almost came off the car but we kept rollin'!

I use Matt Damon comments to disguise my lack of knowledge about Mars, but Shhhh don't tell anyone!

Hahah, Ok. Someone might have to go Ninja on Matt Damon. We both know who I'm talking about! LOL

Wow this is amazingly beautiful:)

Indeed it is, upvoted and followed.

Thank you! We really got lucky on this trip because we were either at places right when the sun was setting or when it was rising! It was truly amazing.

I like the very top photo capture best. I like images with depth leading me into scenery.

Up voted and followed you before. Take look at my contents.

Thank you very much! I appreciate your support. I will check out your blog.

Great looking places again

Thanks! It was very pretty especially in the morning. I'm sure it gets super hot during the middle of the day though.

no words to highlight this post, perhaps extraordinary, congratulations thank you for sharing

Thank you! I really appreciate the support!

Great pics Brian, thank for sharing man!

No problem! It was a pretty epic trip and there are more great pictures to come!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Did the lava flows eat into Andy's flipflops? I've heard they can be very sharp. Maybe that was just Hawaii and anywhere where the flows are fresher, sharper. Less dulled by wind and rain - and tourist flipflops.

It is a good question. They didn't really chew his flipflops our my shoes up. I was running a metal detector in Wickenberg, AZ and those rocks ate up a pair of boots. It was ridiculous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82