We had a visitor last night - a friendly spider.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

DSC_9807 (2).JPG
Last night I went out the front to check the sprinklers, and right outside my front door was this spider sitting in th middle of her web.
DSC_9789 (2).JPG
This is a Garden Orb-weaving spider, which only comes out at night. During the daytime they hide out in a tree, their camouflage making them very difficult to spot. Every night they come out and build their web, ready to catch small insects flying by.
DSC_9808 (2).jpg

Before sunrise, they leave their web and hide somewhere for the day, before coming back out the next night and rebuild it.

I decided to get my camera out and see if I could get a few good pictures without getting too close.

Out of about 50 photos, this is probably the best one I got.

DSC_9819.JPG

I recon she may have even smiled for this one.. here is the above image cropped to give you a closer look. The background is my ceiling just outside on my front porch.
DSC_9819 (2).JPG

The spider is harmless to humans, so we threw a few moths into the web and watched the spider spring into action. It was quite incredible to watch how the spider caught, killed, and returned to the center of the web before eating its prey.

This morning we went outside and the spider was gone. We looked all over in the garden near the web, but couldn't find it. I hope we see it out again tonight so we can show it to the kids!!
_bmj_teamaustralia_1680x8400.png
upboks_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Levitating spider! Superb!

Your pictures are awesome, BMJ

But friendly spider? NEVEEEEER 😂😂😂😂

This one was cool!! Just chilling on it web minding its own business.. outside. It had good manners lol.

That is a really good shot! And it's fine if it's outside XD

goatsig

Hahaha that's a good one. Yeah these are great outdoor spiders. Being harmless and catching bugs is what a spider should be. I don't like the indoor nasty black ones... burn them with fire!!!!

I'm Not a fan of spiders, but those shots were truly amazing. They way you captured it and the close ups 😃 priceless.
It almost looked like the spider was flying in thin air ... beautiful spider.
Still wouldn't wanna meet one tho.... Lol
Have a wonderful evening. Cheers!

Aww thanks @saffisara :) I was waiting for the spider to jump onto the camera, I got pretty close to it.

You have a great evening/day as well :)

Anytime dear and this was really amazing to se 😊 I belive you, it could jump up on you I'm sure but good thing it didn't right? 😆

I know my wife would freak if she saw that

Awesoem shots of it

Thanks @tattoodjay!

My Mrs did freak out a little at the beginning, but then was quite enthralled by it catching the moths, and how quickly it moved around the web.

I doubt many me would have watched it that long
Thinking about it I can hear the screaming “get rid of it”
Happy Monday

Hahaha!! We were quite disappointed that it didn't come back last night.

Have a good week mate!

You to my friend

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 0.17 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @bmj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a beautiful creature. Beautifully terrifying :,) Looks like it would give you spider powers if it bit you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50